We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Choza Inn

Hotel La Choza Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Choza Inn to your Saves list
Hotel La Choza Inn
Avenida 331, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

La Choza Inn is a great value if you want a simple, peaceful place to stay in La Fortuna. The concierge was very helpful and friendly and made booking reservations for different activities easy. Breakfast was basic, but the dining area was like an open air cafeteria. La Choza is away from the main drag, but only a few minutes away - it´s in a quiet location. The bed was comfortable and cleaned daily with fresh linens. The bathroom was a little dark and the shower head was missing, but it really wasn´t a big deal. I´d definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for even more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at la Choza Inn and had a lovely stay. David on the front desk was so friendly and helpful and Eagle tours also can also be booked from here. Our room was a luxury room with air con, a flat screen tv, fridge, king size bed, private bathroom and breakfast. The room was cleaned every day, and also had a private balcony with views of the volcano. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missjoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I took a trip to CR, kind of "winged it", knew we were going to Fortuna but didnt knwo where we would stay. This place was about the best we could have asked for. Clean room with private bathroom, free breakfast, free computer. Walking distance to everything in the town of Fortuna, and the Eagle Tours office and pick up location on site. You could literally do everything in the area from this location... all for $30 a night. Very quiet, 9pm quiet hours, I think... but if you want to party, there are several bars within a few blocks. I've told many people about this place, hope they make the trip to Costa Rica to check it out. Can not say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: We just walked up and asked "how much"?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The staff at the onsite location of Eagle Tours are fantastic - really helpful, sorted out everything I asked of them, everything happened as agreed and with lots of smiles all round! The guide I had for the one day combination tour (Juan Carlo) was excellent. The rooms are basic and the security wasn't ideal (ground floor room with louvered windows which didn't shut properly plus the other window which was a sold pane of glass was cracked right across so would have been easy to break in). Would not recommend a ground floor room at the front as the noise and light do not lead to a peaceful night's sleep without an eye mask and ear plugs. Breakfast not particularly substantial (cold toast and some fruit). Would recommend La Choza overall though if you're just staying a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_holidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#14 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
3.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Choza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Choza Inn

Address: Avenida 331, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 63 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Choza Inn is located in downtown Fortuna. Your stay at this premier hotel & Hostel will give you the opportunity at tour desk give to you the whole information and tips of arenal area , and to enjoy the active fortuna nightlife after dark with a great view of the Arenal Volcano inviting guests to enjoy distressing and unforgettable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Choza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Choza Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing