We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hike along lava trails & breathtaking view”
Review of Arenal Adventures

Arenal Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
2-in-1 Arenal Adventure Combo Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are Aventuras Arenal, a Costa Rican family company focused on giving our traveling friends a supreme “Pura Vida” experience at the Arenal Volcano Area. We’ve being creating our clients lots of great memories through our tours for the past 27 years. It seems like yesterday when the founders started offering boat rides at Lake Arenal. Time certainly flies by when you’re hiking, kayaking, fishing, boating, canoeing, floating in safaris, relaxing at the hot springs, exploring caves... well, and so much more. This year, we take a look back in time and remember the thousands of friends we’ve made along the way, those we gave our warmest welcome and who we shared with the very best of Costa Rica in a vacation experience. We wish to help this country stay in your heart forever… Join us to live an adventure backed by 27 years of doing things with excellence!
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hike along lava trails & breathtaking view”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The guide was very informative about the volcano and how the lava trails got formed as well as the history of the surrounding flora, why certain plaints grow there and others can't. The first half of the hike is fairly flat due to the 1968 explosion causing an opening closer to the ground. The second part of the hike is much more steep, first going upstairs and then carefully navigating lava rocks, along the 1992 trails where lava came from the top of the volcano cone. It's a little tough but the view at the top makes it completely worth it. It is absolutely breathtaking and no picture could do it justice. From the lookout point you are about 2 miles from the volcano on one side andthe continental divide mountain range on the other with a beautiful view of the Arenal Lake. Then we hiked backwards down the same path and were taken to The Springs resort where we relaxed for about 3 hours in the hot springs and enjoyed a delicious dinner that was included.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AprilPLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helencitacr, Front Office Manager at Arenal Adventures, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello!! Thanks a lot for your review, we really purchased you take the time to do it. We are very happy you enjoy your time with our staff and tour. Cordially, Helen Salazar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    4
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Guide just went through the motions”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Its rainy season and the volcano hasn't been active though we still expected to see more volcano stuff during our el silencio hike.

We were picked up from our hotel and the driver was more friendly than the guide. We drove for ten or fifteen minutes in mostly silence. The guide seemed to be too busy talking to the driver. Once inside the park, we were driving up the hill when our guide spotted some toucans. This seemed that the trip might actually be exciting, but that was the only exciting thing on the whole trip.

Once at the viewpoint, he took out a book and explained about the volcano. It was quite boring the way he kind of recited from a book...

Then we started the short hike where we saw absolutely nothing. It didn't even go near the volcano. We got better views right from our hotel!

On the way back, he handed us a comment card. I felt bad filling it out right there, so my friend did and she folded it up before giving it back to him.

This was a waste of time tour, sorry to say...

Helpful?
1 Thank altermood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helencitacr, Front Office Manager at Arenal Adventures, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello! First of all thank for your comments, we are very sorry you did not enjoy this tour as spected. We will take actions to improve the tour quality as well as our guides performance during the activities. Please next time you visit Costa Rica feel free to contact us, it will be a pleasure for us to give you a complementary hike to the Arenal Volcano. Again, thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“definitely recommended”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We did the volcano, rainforest walk, dinner and Baldi hotsprings package. It is approximately six hours. Started with an informative discussion of the volcano, then a walk through the rainforest. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Next was an expansive buffet dinner, followed by 3 hours enjoying the many hotsprings pools.
Bring walking shoes, camera, raincoat and bathing suit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helencitacr, Front Office Manager at Arenal Adventures, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello Kendall!! Thanks a lot for your comments, we will transfer them to our staff and to the Baldí Springs stall. Cordially, Helen Salazar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Informative tour”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We did the Arenal Volcano hike and the Ecotermales hot spring drop off with the Aventura Arenal company. The tour was very informative and entertaining. The hike could have been a bit longer, we didn't break a sweat! The views from the lava rocks was amazing. The tour guide was good too. I reviewed ecotermales separately..was great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbeshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Arenal Volcano Hike was excellent!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family went on the Arenal Volcano Hike & Ecotermales Hot Springs Tour. Our tour guide was Carlos who was very knowledgable and entertaining. He did a great job of pointing out various plants and animals along the hike and sharing information on the area. Our daughter was on crutches and moving a little slow. Carlos made a point of stopping the group occasionally so that we could catch up and he even started a round of applause for our daughter.
After the hike we went to the Ecotermales Hot Springs for a soak. It is a very nice low-key spot that was enjoyed by all.
Then we were treated to a delicious family style dinner. The salad was my personal favorite, but it was all good.
This was a great tour to experience the volcano area, hot springs, and end with a delicious meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wyohusker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Arenal Adventures, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review, it is very important for us to listen to the opinions of our customers about our service and staff. We will transfer your words to our guide Carlos as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Adventures also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Arenal Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing