We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Arenal

Lake Arenal
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Kayaking Tour on Lake Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this lake, great place and beautiful drive. Great story behind the lake, and beautiful views. We rode horse up one of the mountains, and had amazing views of the lake from here.
Would definitely recommend at least a drive over the dam here, also saw some lovely animals in the area, if you get there early enough

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Superd0lphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    424
    123
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

First if all, not sure why this is called Jeep boat jeep. In our case we were brought from Monteverde in a tourist van and dropped in the sand at the edge of Lake Arenal. Driver was not very friendly. A boat showed up perhaps 30 minutes later. The boat ride was very scenic. I could hardly believe it when it pulled up at our stop near La Fortuna. We had to get our luggage up a hill over rocks and dirt. Eventually it was paved, but that was halfway up. I am in good shape and found this to be very difficult. There were not employees to assist that I could see. Once we got up to the top we were required to put our suitcases thru the rear window (up high, of course) to the extremely rude driver. Guys, if you have shoulder issues forget about it! Women-good luck! We were packed like sardines in the tourist bus. It was awful. Would not recommend. There has to be a better way.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I drove around the lake on our way from Fortuna to Playa Flamingo and made many stops along the way. This is a beautiful drive and should not be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Winelover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

On a clear day this is well worth the drive. The scenery is amazing and you will find yourself wanting to stop every few minutes to take pictures. definitely go to see Toad Hall. Also a good chance to see some wildlife if you don't speed through it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A nice lake with a volcano as the backdrop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you're in the Arenal area you will almost certainly drive close to Lake Arenal. Its wellw orht the trip. There are soem great scenic views from the road that circles the lake. The road quality is reasonably good. And at various points along the route the Arenal Volcano acts as a great backdrop for photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lake Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing