We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Arenal

Lake Arenal
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Kayaking Tour on Lake Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I wouldn't go out of my way to see this lake as it really is just a lake, but beautiful with the backdrop of the volcano. I was on a biking trip and we took a boat across and the scenery was lovely.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    434
    125
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a very nice place to drive up !”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

It's a something 20-30 miles and the view you are going to get is like nothing you have seen! l OHHH try the German bakery it was very good stop! they had food and Oh yes Free internet !!!
BTW drive slow and take your time to see everything!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice pictures...”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Drove around the lake on my way to Monteverde cloud forest from La Fortuna. The dam is a good spot for good pictures of the lake & Mt. Arenal. Boats are there for renting trips on lake. It's such a pretty drive. There are wind farms on the west end of the lake.

Helpful?
Thank butterscotch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very scenic mountain lake.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

To view the lake we drove from La Fontuna to Nuevo Arenal and got a variety of views as we traveled. There was on 2 opportunities to view up close on this route but what we saw left us wanting to see more. Maybe we'll come back next year and srnd more time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bestdad777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It is a beautiful lake with many types of activities. The views are lovely too as the Arenal volcano looms in the background.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lake Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing