We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arenal Rabfer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is very nice.
It is very close, just a few blocks, from downtown La Fortuna. La Fortuna is a wonderful little town! This hotel has a nice clean pool, great staff and tasty food. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
29
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very nice little place - only about 5 mins walk to all the shops and restaurants, good sized room with balcony etc. Breakfast was included but it wasn't massively inspiring so I only had it one morning. The staff are very helpful and booked our trip to the hot springs and onward travel to our next location. I would have liked to maybe stay another night as I don't really feel I saw all La Fortuna had to offer but the weather was a tad iffy whilst we were there and the other half was keen to move on to the beach!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely hotel situated just next to but not in the town centre so you avoid noisy traffic but you're within a 5 minute walk of all the shops and restaurants. Lovely pool, friendly staff, good food, scenic views of the volcano and the rooms were very stylish. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting the La Fortuna/ Volcano Arenal area.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel as it is the back that faces the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Comnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I found the room to be very comfortable and quiet for being in town. Also, the pool is nice and the small balcony relaxing. It's just a short walk to the town square, and while La Fortuna isn't exactly a nightspot destination, it provides some a few good sodas nearby for meals. Don't take any of your meals here unless breakfast is provided, and even then, you might want to supplement their spartan and fairly tasteless fare

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a family owned and run hotel. The owners are very friendly and will help you with reservations to attractions in the Arenal area at discounted prices. The hotel is at walking distance of La Fortuna downtown. La Fortuna is a very lively town and you will find plenty of things to do around. Be aware the hotel rooms are very basic, for example, I was thirsty at night and I couldn’t find a way to drink water; they don’t put cups in the room, nor they have a water or ice machine anywhere (not even in the reception or kitchen area). The owner helped me by giving me some ice and a pair of cups which I kept for the rest of the nights we were there. The roof is made of galvanized zinc and when it rains is really loudly (this is very common in Costa Rica). The breakfast is included and is served every morning in the small “restaurant” area, they don’t serve much but is OK to start the day. The hotel has a small heated pool we couldn’t use because it was raining all the time while we were there (we went instead to the host springs, Tabacón and Baldí).

Room Tip: Check for rooms with balcony to enjoy the view of the Arenal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcialAdriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

And that starts right from the name: RABFER stands for the names of the owner's sons (and daughters?). The F stands for Felipe, who was the guy who served us mostly when we were there. I think some other reviewers mention him as well. He was an excellent help at arranging for rides and providing directions!

I love the location of this place. It was about 5 minutes away from the central square, where you have the restaurants and all the tour agents you would want. Excellent food around the area too -- check out my review for Soda Viquez!

The even have a pool, although the weather was far too dreary for us to go play in it. My only gripe with this place is that the toilets still gets clogged very easily. I know it's a common problem with Costa Rican toilets, but it still irks me.

I was impressed by the fact that they made your bed and folded your belongings every morning! So you could go out and do your adventure activities in the morning and come back to a pretty pristine-looking set-up! Excellent touch!

Breakfast is cooked by the owner, a middle-aged lady. She is very polite and provides excellent breakfast, if you are not asking for too much. I personally enjoyed her rice with beans and scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: There is a room that is on the far right of the second floor, which is where we stayed. I liked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawdon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Unfortunately we were disappointed by this hotel.. When we got there, they showed us our room, which was completely stuck in a corner. The room in itself was so small, and looked like an hospital room, we asked if they had any other available. Felipe ( I think was his name ) was really helpful and accepted to get us another room. The other room had the door facing the pool, which was nice. Unfortunately, though the room was a little bigger, the interior was as bad as before. The furniture is kind of plastic brown, there are no decoration, no paintings, nothing. The bathroom on the otherside was absolutely fine. Shower was very large! Everything was clean though and we appreciated the '' material '' under the door which kept insects from coming in!

The pool was pretty and looked clean but we didn't have the time to try it out! Breakfast was delicious, the woman who cooked for us was friendly and always asked us if we needed anything.

The hotel is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the center and anything you need, restaurants, souvenir shops, tourists centers. Usually from the hotel you don't hear any noise, but one night we had trouble falling asleep because we heard a disco or something not very far, and we heard it very clearly from our room. The 2 other nights we had absolutely no problem.

I have been told this is a family hotel, well we only met one woman and one man. The woman at the reception was not very friendly, she would not even respond to our '' hellos'' when entering the hotel. This created a bit of a weird atmosphere.. Fortunately, most of the time we were dealing with the man, Felipe I think. He was a real treasure! He helped us book every tour we needed, gave us information about restaurants and activities and gave us multiple good advice. He was always smiling and in a good mood. It was truly enjoyable. As I said before, we were disappointed by the room, but his service really saved it !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrvatska17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.0 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#36 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#46 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#39 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Rabfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Rabfer

Property: Hotel Arenal Rabfer
Address: Mts North of Banco Nacional de la Fortuna 175 | 468 Street, Between Avenues 333 and 335, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arenal Rabfer 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Rabfer born as a family project, hence its name derived from the initials of the names of the children: Randy, Brayan, Felipe and Roberto (Rabfer) _ In a familiar environment and in harmony with nature. owners and partners hope to give special treatment making it feel like casa._ We have a great location, a few meters can find banks, pharmacies, supermarkets, souvenir shops, restaurants and gas stations between otros._ invite you to visit us and who knows scenic beauty and recreation offered by the majestic La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Arenal Rabfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Hotel Arenal Rabfer Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing