We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in La Fortuna!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medellín, Magdalena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in La Fortuna!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As seasoned travellers, we arrived in Fortuna with no reservations. We have learned that "seeing is believing" when it comes to hotels...too many times we have been sold by a great web presence only to find the real thing disappointingly different. When we arrived in Fortuna, we looked at about a dozen properties before choosing this one. We stayed at Arenal Rabfer before we looked at their web site and have to say this is a place that is exactly the way it appears on the web...even better! Well designed spaces, lovely gardens, quiet location, yummy breakfasts, clean, comfy beds, and private balconies with each unit. We could see the volcano from our balcony. The hotel is located 2 short blocks from the main park in Fortuna, and the entire town is within walking distance. This family owned and operated place felt like a home away from home, and we were impressed that most of the family is bi-lingual. Best hotel in town by far!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be very clean and well run. It is a family run hotel and the sons speak very clear English. As we arrived and registered, one son offered to take us up to our room. He made sure we understood the air conditioner and answered any questions. In the mornings, we enjoyed the breakfasts that were fresh cooked in the open air breakfast rooms. This hotel is only 2 blocks from the town square so is an easy walk to dinner. The price was great, and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at Rabfer for two nights while doing the tourist thing in La Fortuna.
This family operated hotel, was the perfect place to come back to after a long day. Their breakfast was very good, home cooking.
The couple and their sons were kind, friendly and helpful.
It was close to all the stores and restaruants. The price was resonable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would request the inside rooms over looking the courtyard. The outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Friendly family staff, basic but clean rooms. Small but nice garden with pool.

Helpful?
Thank Beukenhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This family run hotel was recommended by a tour guide in La Fortuna. Two blocks from main street, lovely quiet hotel. Good clean pool and facilities. We were made extremely welcome for our one night stay. Breakfast cooked freshly for us; we were allowed to keep our room well after check out time. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you are in the La Fortuna area and looking for a great place to call home in between all your adventuring, I recommend staying at Hotel Arenal Rabfer! It's within a short walk to restaurants, shops and vendors. It's a family owned hotel with great home cooking every morning for breakfast...YUM! They are from the area, can connect you with some wonderful adventures, very accommodating and recommend wonderful local flavors for dinner (NeeNee's was our favorite). The rooms are sparse but extremely clean. They take great pride in their business and it really shows.
They welcome feedback during your visit in order to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on balcony overlooking the pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

A sewwt family hotel with very helpfull staff. Nice rooms and a very personal touch. Located very close to the center of Arenal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CillyStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Rabfer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Rabfer Hotel

Property: Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Address: 468 Street | Between Avenues 333 and 335, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Rabfer Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Rabfer born as a family project, hence its name derived from the initials of the names of the children: Randy, Brayan, Felipe and Roberto (Rabfer) _ In a familiar environment and in harmony with nature. owners and partners hope to give special treatment making it feel like casa._ We have a great location, a few meters can find banks, pharmacies, supermarkets, souvenir shops, restaurants and gas stations between otros._ invite you to visit us and who knows scenic beauty and recreation offered by the majestic La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Rabfer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Rabfer Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing