We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extraordinary home with outstanding concierge...”
Your own private oasis just 4 blocks from town. Welcome to the Hideaway!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private oasis just 4 blocks from town. Welcome to the Hideaway!
Larger swimming pool and smaller kiddie pool. Beautiful murals by a local artist on the wall behind the pools.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Your own private oasis just 4 blocks from town. Welcome to the Hideaway!
Larger swimming pool and smaller kiddie pool.
Beautiful murals by a local artist on the wall behind the pools.
Purple bamboo orchid.
Barbecue and bar area next to the pool. The perfect spot to relax after a day of adventures.
BBQ area at back with counter for cooking and sink. Dining area to the left.
Dining area with bar island to the left and view of the pool.
Lounge area under cover for shade with pool behind.
The ideal shaded area to sit outside, sip on a beverage and take in the warm weather.
Walk through the sliding glass doors to the living room. Bedrooms to the left.
First bedroom with queen bed and single top bunk. Flat screen tv on wall.
Second bathroom with unique mirror.
Second bedroom with queen bed and single top bunk.
Shelving unit and flat screen tv.
Master suite with king; large wall closet for your belongings during your stay.
Enjoy a nice glass of wine and flat screen tv from the comfort of your king bed.
Master ensuite bathroom.
Large living room with comfy sofas that seat 10 people and cable tv.
Beautiful tile work on the breakfast bar and dark wood ceiling.
Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, stove, fridge, toaster, pots and pans.
Hand crafted dining table for 12. Living room on the left, kitchen behind.
Front of the house. Located in a typical, local Costa Rican neighbourhood.
Purple orchid.
Flower bed with colourful plants at the front of the house.
Lounge chairs and pool in the evening glow. Come stay at your Hideaway in La Fortuna!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
David P
1 review
“Extraordinary home with outstanding concierge services”
Reviewed January 28, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

There is no better place to stay than the Hideaway in LaFortuna!

The pictures do NOT lie. This is an amazing property in an unassuming neighborhood that is a very safe walk to every restaurant in LaFortuna. For that matter, we felt very safe wherever we walked throughout LaFortuna. It is filled with some of the friendliest people in the world.

But our experience started way before we set foot on the property. The concierge services that are offered without cost were amazing. Nohelia shared in-depth knowledge of every inch of the area and only recommended the most reliable service providers for every excursion we partook in. Her thoughtfulness was felt with every e-mail that was exchanged, even when we sent repetitive questions to doubly ensure that we understood what we were signing up for. We have never experienced the promptness of service in any other location in the world.

From the moment we left San Jose (the driver arranged by Nohelia was 10 minutes early) we experienced outstanding service. The driver even took the time to stop at a grocery store about 30-minutes before we arrived in LaFortuna to make sure that we had everything we needed as we walked into the Hideaway. Every excursion departed on time...really, not a minute late. The advice we received from the extensive "book" at the house about restaurants to visit and ones to stay away from was indispensable and spot on. While it is a bit outside of town, you will not want to miss dinner at Rancho Perla. We ate there twice! But there are other recommendations that were also great.

The home was more than "perfecto" for our family of 4. Each of our kids had their own room, which allowed them private space to stay up late or wake up early without impacting anyone else's vacation experience. The kitchen, dining area, and living room were sized perfectly. The outdoor space is hard to do justice in a written form. It is spectacular!

There are 4 different outdoor sitting areas with one under a very large covered veranda. The outdoor gas grill and kitchen were fantastic and allowed us to cook a fabulous meal with locally procured ingredients. The pool was not huge, but was just fine for cooling off and having fun with the "surprise" awaiting us in the smaller kiddie pool. It was a very good surprise, but we aren't going to ruin it for you! The greenery almost everywhere was beautiful.

There is no other place we would consider staying in Costa Rica, unless we bought our own home.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christigp...
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great home in La Fortuna, perfect for our multi-generational family”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This house fit our family (and my mother in law) perfectly for our three nights in La Fortuna. William was great to work with in booking our reservation (book early, this is a great house and goes fast!). Carlos was onsite with us for check in and when the back patio door latch was being tricky. Carlos also made sure to set up coffee/filters/TP/paper towels/kitchen sponge/dish and hand soap plus milk for our check in. Was super helpful! Nohelia was kind enough to schedule a doctor's appt for our youngest who had a double ear infection as we concerned about his ability to fly home to the States after La Fortuna. In all, this was a lovely rental in a quiet area. If we return to La Fortuna, hands down this is the only home rental we'd consider!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton5...
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation House”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The home is located in town - a very short, safe walk to restaurants, shopping, etc. It is clean and spacious. The covered outdoor space is great! So many excursions to choose from in the area. We found the locals friendly and welcoming. The owner, manager and Nohelia, the customer service agent, were super helpful - went above and beyond. Nohelia was a dream to work with and helped plan and book every aspect of our stay. We are already planning our next Costa Rica trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelotr
Trinity, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful pool home located 2 blocks from everything”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was beautiful. We are a family of 7 and it fit our family perfect. When I booked the house, William suggested that I get a car service to drive us from San Jose to La Fortuna. I declined. BIG MISTAKE. The drive for us was not fabulous. We had a small car for 7 passengers, the roads are not like USA roads. The GPS system doesn't use street addresses. It was a nightmare. I should have listened to William. Next time : ) Anyway, we got lost, car sick, etc. When we finally arrived at our beautiful home, Alicia met us there. She showed us around the house, answered all of our questions, etc. She was kind enough to order us pizza (her Spanish is perfecto), and Aaron picked up our food and drink for us. It was awesome and so kind after a terrible 4 hour drive. Since we had a such a day from h*ll, Aaron and Alicia listened to what we wanted to do while we were in LaFortuna (horseback ride, see the beautiful waterfall, visit the hot springs, and go to the chocolate tour) and put together an itinerary for us, and we chose days/times for all. They also helped me return my small rental car, and booked us a driver and van to take us to our next destination (montezuma), and then another trip from Montezuma back to San Jose. WONDERFUL idea William. The house had a nice kitchen, living room, bedrooms, washer. Town is 2 blocks away, so we walked for breakfast/lunch/dinner, etc. The neighborhood was safe. It was an enjoyable vacation and I would definitely stay at this property again. William, Alicia and Aaron were wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3307dyk
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best location in La Fortuna town center”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The house is 2 blocks from the town center. We walk to supermarkets and resturants in less than 5 min. You don't need a car at all.

We have five adults in our group and we were very comfortable in the house. The outdoor bar and pools are great after a long day of tour in the rainforest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing escape”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled to La Fortuna, with my wife, two children, and my brother.-in-law The home was very comfortable and nicely built. The pool was great and I loved that they had a laundry room with a washer. The neighborhood where the home is located, is not exactly the nicest; however, it is very safe and the neighbors are very friendly. In fact, Jiovanni the maintenance guy gave us a short tour of the town; and was very helpful with any questions. The home is within walking distance from the center of town. Which was great because we did not have to drive to any restaurants or coffee shops. William from Casa de Costa Rica sent us a lot of information on the area including a packing list. His employee Nohelia was wonderful, she helped us arrange several tours. I would definitely recommend this home and we plan on going back. If you drive there make sure to also rent a GPS and enter the coordinates. Also don't worry about paying the security deposit, it was returned to us right after we check out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and backyard area.
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem!”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I visited this house with my wife, another couple and their children and we were all in awe at how amazing it is! We loved that the house was in a Costa Rican neighbourhood and that it was so elegant. Nohelia, customer service, welcomed us with drinks and explained all we needed to know about the house, even gave us some tips on Costa Rica living, now we're all about the Pura Vida! My friend's kids would not leave the pool, it was nice that we had the BBQ by the pool to keep an eye on the kids, we also had comfortable sitting places in the covered patio outside while still enjoying our privacy. We had the most amazing vacation ever and already booked our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing