We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for one night”

Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good enough for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We were placed here for one night as our original hotel was fully booked. as we had been travelling all day the bed was much welcomed. the shower is hot and quite powerful, and the bed was comfortable enough. we ate at the restaurant below and the portion sizes are very generous and good value for money. only downside is it is located on the side of a busy road so there is quite loud traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haychcee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel seems to be renovated not long ago. Our room was spotless with big bathroom and hot shower, wifi, tv, ac. Very good price, breakfast not included. We have pay 35 $ for double room. We had a dinner here, it was huge porcion of chinese vegetarian food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed a really comfy and clean room. The shower was just perfect! and for a correct price. The only thing is that the reception is not opened all the time... so you have to be lucky to be able to ask something special to the owner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed two nights at end Oct here. Room was clean, with TV, AC, free Wifi, private bathroom and reasonably priced. Got a room for just paying a bit more of a dorm bed.

Some tour price was really competitive when compare with others agencies in downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGHola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Can't comment on their rooms, but I had lunch there, as the restaurant was situated right opposite from where I stayed. It was possibly the worst Chinese food I've ever had anywhere (the best thing I could say about it is that it took them about three minutes to "prepare" it). When in addition to what was already way overpriced they applied a 10 % service charge, I couldn't help but to tell the lady who had apparently prepared it that it hadn't been to my liking. She shrugged it off - as long as I paid she clearly didn't give a sh** whether a customer was satisfied or not. This place is a tourist trap.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotrash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We chose this place for one night (no reservations, just walked in off the street) because we got into La Fortuna late and needed a place to stay quickly. We were traveling with our 19-month-old daughter and needed to get her to bed after a long day. The staff were friendly, and the price was reasonable. However, the room seemed a bit stale and old, and the bedding looked like it needed replacing. While the beds were comfortable, the room was sparse on features (like a chair), and the window coverings needed updating. All in all, it served our purposes as a place to crash for the night, but if you are going to base yourself in La Fortuna for a while, I wouldn't stay here for long.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globeteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

This place was terrible. The people that own it are should not be in the hotel or service industry. We needed to have our bags held for the morning until our bus came for us to leave and they wanted to charge us the rpice of the room for the day! Then the rooms smelt, the walls were paper thin so sleeping was not an option and there were spider webs and spiders in all corners. Not very friendly or clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_n_chris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
#45 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tifakara Lodge
Tifakara Lodge
#4 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central Loft
Hotel Central Loft
#14 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad Hotel
#36 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
Address: | 300 Meters West of the Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing