We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible! Worst trip ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Canoa Aventura

Canoa Aventura
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Day Trip to Unique Caño Negro from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our specialty is combining paddling with an immersion into the natural Costa Rican environment. For more than 20 years, we have been guiding birdwatching trips throughout northern Costa Rica. And, for the past 14 years, we've also been guiding canoe trips in Costa Rica, Vermont USA, Canada, and Nicaragua. Enjoy nature while observing wildlife on the river banks of Costa Rica with our safari tours in your choice of canoe, raft or kayak in Penas Blancas River. Or you may prefer to enjoy a panoramic view of the majestic Arenal Volcano by joining our Lake Arenal by canoe tour. If you would you like explore the nature of Costa Rica by foot, we offer walks to very recognized natural destination tours like Rio Celeste Hike, Cerro Chato Hike, and the majestic Arenal Volcano.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible! Worst trip ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We went on the "cano negro canoe trip" With canoa adventura which ended up being a total waste of a day. First of all, it took twice as long to get there as it said in the trip details. After three hrs sitting on a bus with a tour guide who would not shut up for one second, a maniac behind the wheel and wondering if we were going to live to see another day we finally got to the river. However, it was the rio frio and not actually in the wildlife refuge that we were supposed to go to and instead of the canoes that we were expecting, it was an old motorized p.o.s. boat. After another couple hours of absolutely zero excitement we were fed a mediocre lunch and made our three hour trek back to the hotel. The way back was worse than the way there and we could not run off that bus any faster. If you want to waste your money and an entire day of your vacation then this tour is the trip for you. Otherwise, skip it!

Helpful?
Thank thelittlequeenie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canoa-aventura, Gerente at Canoa Aventura, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Customer
Caño Negro by canoe tour is a wonderful and easy trip to enjoy, exploring the nature combine with unique landscapes of the ¨Rio Frío¨ which is a very calm water river; it make the wildlife observation an amazing experience because you you have the chance to stir the canoe very close to the animals such as monkeys, caimans, iguanas, sloths and many others including a wide variability of residents and migratory birds. we finish with a delicious typical Costa Rican lunch in Las Heliconias restaurant at los Chile’s town. thanks, Canoa Aventura Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    56
    14
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
springfield, illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We did the 4-in-1 Arenal Combo tour with our guide Yvonne and driver Jorge, from Canoa Aventure. Yvonne is so knowledgable and friendly. Her English is excellent and she taught us so much on the Hanging Bridges part of the tour. She pointed out tarantulas, lizards, snakes, monkeys, and other creatures that we would never have spotted. The waterfall hike was hard on my knees on the way down and took me twice as long as it probably should have to get back up but the beautiful waterfall and cool swim were worth it. We had lunch at a beautiful outdoor cafe and the food was delicious. The volcano hike was interesting and we learned a great deal about the history of both the volcano and Costa Rica. Jorge was an excellent driver, who unlike others we had while visiting, drove carefully and at a reasonable speed. You will not be sorry if you book with this company.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank shiredawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canoa-aventura, Gerente at Canoa Aventura, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for sharing your journey with us . It was a
pleasure to serve you. Canoa Aventura Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great guide, not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a tricky one to rate. I will start off by saying that our guide was very good, and he did the best with what he had available to him.

We did a walking tour of the Arenal Volcano.

The tour itself was not really that great, just because of the lack of anything, we got a lot of information, but there was nothing really much to say about the tour.

We thought about this one for a while, about whether or not we had been 'ripped off' for want of a better expression; we decided that we hadn't, everything that was provided was good, transport, entry fee, guide, water, there is just not much substance to the tour itself that is all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beware of true cost of your tour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked the combo tour through Pura Vida Eh with Canoa Aventura Tour company. Our Family of 4 was quoted with $700.00 for the tour. The van picked us up at our hotel and stopped at their office on the day of the scheduled tour. In the office I was asked to pay US $700.00 cash. I told them that I did not carry that much cash around when i was traveling in a foreign country. I was told they would add 3% processing fee for credit card payment. We had been using other tour such as Desafio and Xplore tours and none of the establishments (restaurant, transportation, tour ....) charge for this processing fee. We agreed to pay $21.00 more for our tour. The lady in the office asked me to sign credit card slip in Colones (to confuse me with their rate of conversion). When other people waited outside in a van to go on with the tour, I see this as an intention to pressure. When we get back to US we got a credit bill with 5% more (total of $739.00 instead of $721.) .
To be fair, the tour guide is pleasant and the tour is a good experience. I would rank it higher without the above incident. So make sure you are aware of this add on charge.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitesandbeache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of Wildlife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We really enjoyed the Cano Negro (Rio Frio) tour. The guide was really excited about sharing Costa Rica nature. We saw tons of wildlife including: three toed sloths, howler monkeys, white faced capuchins, spider monkeys, long nosed bats, caimans, Jesus Christ lizards, black mandible toucans, kingfishers, Anhingas, white egrets, limpkins and many more birds. We were the only tour boat in our section of the Rio Frio. Lunch was also good. They provide plenty of water during the tour. Don’t forget a copy of your passport. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hulamaiden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoa Aventura also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Canoa Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing