We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent..Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miradas Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miradas Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent..Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

There are no words to express the gratitude we feel towards the two great people that own Miradas Arenal Hotel. Estrella and Robert welcomed us to this beautiful home-like environment that allowed us to enjoy our 10 days vacation to the fullest. Both were welcoming from day 1 and guided us to assure we spent our money wisely (by choosing the best, but must affordable experiences we wanted to accomplish in 10 days). But before I get to that point, let me start by describing the beautiful Boungalows Miradas Arenal provide tourist with. If you are a couple and you are trying to get away from your busy, hectic everyday life and therefore crave some time alone with the one you love, this is the place you have been looking for!!!! The Boungalows are beautiful well-equipped small cabins that will provide you with maximum comfort through your vacation. First of all, the view from your cabin to the Arenal Volcano is priceless. Just thinking of waking every morning and seeing this enormous Volcano from your small deck its just beautiful. Second, one of the most important things for any tourist is cleanliness where you are staying. We have absolutely no complaints when it comes down to that. Boungalows were always impeccably clean, which is a big +++++++ for us. We personally loved the huge, huge, huge, huge bed we slept in. When coming back home, we decided that we must buy something as big and as confortable. Like my partner will always say, YOU CAN SWIN ON THIS BED!!!

Breakfast was always exquisite homemade meals and the variety that was provided was really good (from typical Costa Rican breakfast to pancakes). There are no words to express the beauty of the surroundings. Everywhere you turn, banana trees, lemon trees, yucca trees, beautiful flowers, plants and palm trees which are adding touches for a perfect relaxing get away anyone. But the true +++++ of Miradas Arenal, is that the two owners Estrella and Robert are the sweetest most helpful individuals we meet in Costa Rica. They are definitely not there to try to take advantage of a tourist, try to sell you the most expensive tours in Costa Rica! To the contrary, they guide you to the most exciting and affordable but yet reliable (as far as where and what tour company) to use. Examples: Zip Lining, Horseback Riding, Volcano Walks, Hanging Bridges, Thermal Waters, White Water Rafting etc.

Again, We know this because before coming to Costa Rica, my partner and I did an intensive research about all the activities. Estrella guided us to the things that were more confortable, which fit our budget. Most importantly they told my partner and I when and where not to pay for a guide (trust me that saved us a lot a lot a lot of money) A LOT!!!!! If we were to rate our experience from a 1-10 scale, we would have to give it a 20. If you have a chance to visit Costa Rica, trust me, do it you would not regret it!!!!!!

P.S. Rent a car and a GPS, it will save you money and time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Miradas Arenal for 2 nights and we really hated to leave. Each cabana has a wall of windows that looks out to a magnificent view of Arenal. The grounds were beautiful and full of birds. We went hiking at Arenal but I definitely saw more birds sitting at the pool at the hotel (including tucans and parrots). The breakfast was great and Estrella was very friendly. We had such a relaxing and peaceful stay. I would love to stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel is actually individual little cabanas, several of them are newer. Bathroom/showers are spacious, room was clean. The owner, Estrella, is extremely friendly and accomodating.

We'll be going back someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBarger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We spent just one evening at this wonderful hotel. Very close to Tabacon Hotsprings. Beautiful location with excellent view of the volcano. The grounds were lovely with incredible foliage. Owners allowed us to check in early (prior to 10am) so that we could enjoy an entire day at Tabacon Hotsprings. An awesome free breakfast was included with our stay. Owner were very polite and room was very clean. Our only regret was that we spent just one night and did not have enough time to enjoy the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersE_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Located west of the town of La Fortuna, this little spot is set back from the main road (other hotels not always) in beautiful gardens. The owners are very friendly and helpful, giving us tips of what to do, where to go. The gardens are beautiful, and we did lots of bird watching just wandering around the garden, and particularly at the swimming pool.

The rooms are lovely, and we had an unobstructed view of the volcano from our bed - magic. The bathroom is very clean, with a large shower but no bathtub. The rooms are set far enough apart that you are never disturbed by other guests.

The breakfast was served next to the pool, and freshly made - very tasty.

Very good value for money!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VikingNZaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I have just returned from Costa Rica. This marks my 13th time there. Years ago I would stay for three weeks and travel the entire country with a friend in a rented Helix, but now i am married to my wife and my work. We still go to Costa Rica at least once a year. This year we went with another couple for five days. I used Tripadvisor for some added advice. This site was great. There were several positive reviews for Miradas Arenal its owners. When we arrived after the 4 hour trip from Jaco the owner met us at the drive way and stated he had not received our payment with enough advance. Our driver contact his company and they informed us payment was made over 1 month ago. The owner went into his office and that was the last we saw of him. Miradas Arenal has several independent cottages that face the volcano and the location is good, but the owner did not want our money or us.Funny thing was there wasn't a sole on the property. He just didn't want to work that week for 4 of us. Anyway our travel company Anywhere Costa Rica was great and we made a seperate reservation at Los Lagos down the road. Great hotel with its own hot springs, waterslides, crock farm, and free breakfast. Slight inconvenience but things always seem to work out. As for Hotel Mirades Arenal never go! Please use caution when reading reviews because all of them speak about how great the owner was and that is what sold us. I do recommend this website for research - Anywhere Costa Rica for transportation - and Hotel Los Lagos for a great time. Miradas Arenal es MUY MALO

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank costarica13times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Four of us travelled for two weeks in beautiful Costa Rica. My husband, two 17 yr. old guys and myself. We had a fantastic experience.

We stayed at Miradas Arenal for 6 nights, renting two bungalows. The bungalows are very clean with large beds, great covered decks with a spectacular view of Arenal. There is a nice clean pool to take a dip in and we were surrounded by beautiful well kept grounds.

Our family does not do the resort holiday, preferring to stay in smaller, privately owned and operated accommodations. Miradas is another reason why we'll continue to travel this way. The family that owns the property are laid back, helpful, we enjoyed sharing stories and they really helped us see parts of Costa Rica that we may not have by joining the commercial tours.

Estrella, our hostess, always prepared us a wonderful breakfast, based on a few choices from a small menu. Breakfast is served outside under a covered shelter, close to the pool. The family is very accommodating and help was always just a few steps away if needed.

We did day trips to local places like La Fortuna waterfalls, drive around the mountain to the bridge to view the lava flow in the evenings, visited various parks, including walking the hanging bridges. Toured the town of La Fortuna, hot springs...we tried Baldi because its more geared to the younger crowd. The teenagers LOVED it...so much that they returned for a second day while my husband and I drove to Tilaran. There are a number of hot springs in the area and had it been just my husband and I traveling we would have taken in Eco Thermals across from Baldi.

Tilaran is a quaint town and the drive from La Fortuna to Tilaran entertaining and challenging. We stopped at the Gingerbread Hotel for dinner on the way home. If you get the opportunity to try this restuarant it is wonderful food and drink! Although not exactly authentic Costa Ricans fare.

We relaxed, took our time getting to know the place a bit and would love to return again. We generally got caught in rain at some point in the day, but the rain is very warm and refreshing, so we just continued doing whatever we were doing in the rain.

Great place to stay....highly recommended for the traveller that prefers to avoid resorts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,341 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
9.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miradas Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miradas Arenal

Property: Hotel Miradas Arenal
Address: La Palma, de la Fortuna. | 7 km al Oeste de de la Fortuna., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miradas Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel ... You can enjoy tranquility and absolute privacy. We are located in a extrategica area near all the activities that you will want to make sure. Large windows with glamorous views. If you are looking for relaxation break and we have used by the Indians of our region and grandparents therapeutic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Miradas Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miradas Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing