We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Los Guayabos
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Arrived after 8pm, after along drive to find office closed, knocked on door of house attached to office and we're greeted by a very friendly lady. She apologized for our long trip! Cabin was very nice, clean and roomy. Even in the dark it had great views. Big window with fab view of Arenal and a nice patio. The manager/owner was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 37 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and I want to help draw attention to this place because we were so happy with everything about it. First thing, we were traveling from Manuel Antonio to La Fortuna and experienced tortuous amounts of traffic and would be arriving close to midnight. We called and Karen, the owner of the property, was so sweet and told is it would be no problem to arrive late and she would give us the key when we arrived. We finally did and she was gracious enough to give us our key and told us we would take care of the paperwork in the morning. Our room was clean, spacious and very private. Shower was huge!!! We had a nice little patio and if there wasn't an overcast, we would have had a view of the volcano. The property is close to town, and close to the volcano and the park. It's also much cheaper than some of the other hotels in town. Probably not a great place for kids however.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27meredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel is pretty basic--but kind of cute--and a great value. The rooms are clean and simple, but we did have a view of Arenal right from our back patio--that is, we would have if the clouds had lifted! Instead, we saw a couple of horses in the neighboring pasture and a group of territorial hummingbirds feeding in the evening.

The rooms can be a bit damp, but we discovered that if we ran the dehumidifier that's part of the A/C unit, especially when we showered, we could dry it right out.

We loved the location, too--on the road between Fortuna and Arenal, so not right in the city but close enough to restaurants and other attractions. You probably would want a car here, though.

Karen, the owner/manager, is friendly and helpful. Her English isn't strong (but it certainly was better than our Spanish), but that wasn't a problem at all; if you get stuck, her very bright and personable son helps out.

A filling breakfast is also included.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights in Los Guayabos, a Inn in La Fortuna.
A good value for the price you pay. Karen, the Owner is REALLY friendly and helpful, the place is clean, the location good with an excellent view on Arenal. We came with small children and it wasn t a problem at all. We come back at our next visit. Even though located at a street it is very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colocha70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We started out our trip with our first stop near the Arenal location and found Cabinas Los Guayabos on Trip Advisor and based on the reviews we were sold on checking out this hotel.

Location, location, location...We thought that the hotel was perfectly located (especially) if you have a rental car). The hotel is pretty much located smack-dab in the middle between La Fortuna and the volcano, lake, and various other parks and Badli Hot Springs.

The room was great and the bathroom was large and had a large shower. In fact, I think that the bathroom that we had at this hotel was the biggest we had on the entire trip. The room was very clean and was cleaned very promptly once we had left for our adventures for the day.

Although, the room was very clean and rather spacious (especially for only $50/night), I will say that the bedding wasn't the best, but of course this isn't a 5 star hotel and I wasn't expecting Egyptian Cotton sheets or anything.

We especially liked that we could park our car right next to our cabin. This was definitely a plus. In addition, we had a view of the volcano, which is pretty spectacular. Unfortunately, we weren't able to see the lava during our stay because it had rained for a good majority of the time.

The service is great here and Karen did a wonderful job. She had good recommendations and and was very helpful. We were also able to buy discounted tickets for dinner and admission to the Baldi Hot Springs for only $26/pp. Definitely, take her up on the offer.

I am looking forward to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. We felt very safe here and loved our location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little1ChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was a great place with an amazing view. The owner and her son are among the nicest and most helpful people I have ever met. If you are old and fat, I would suggest renting a car or having a private driver chauffeur you around if you want to go to the town (not much to see there-unless you are after 'nightlife'). There is a soda within walking distance and if you are planning on visiting any of the hot springs in the area, they are all within walking distance or a short (albeit expensive) taxi ride away. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDarnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We have stayed at many B&Bs and picked this place due to the reviews so we were SHOCKED once we saw the room. The bedding was very low quality, the mattress bumpy and old and NO mattress pad, you could see the mattress design through the cheap sheet and the pillows were tiny. The bathtowel was so small, it didnt even fit around our waists - plus it had stains. The bathroom was disgusting, when sitting down your right shoulder touched the cheap plastic shower door and your left shoulder touched the sink counter, broken tiles, areas that looked like they never had tile. We even called in advance so it wasnt like it was the last available room, in fact, it looked like only 2 or 3 rooms were rented out. We left the next morning and stayed elsewhere. This is the worst review I have ever given.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56Stargazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
590 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
#20 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Tangara Arenal
Hotel Tangara Arenal
#7 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
127 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brisas Arenal Hotel
Brisas Arenal Hotel
#5 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
162 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#2 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Los Guayabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Guayabos

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $73 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Los Guayabos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas Los Guayabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Guayabos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cabinas Los Guayabos Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing