We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Los Guayabos
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We rented two cabins for two nights. The service was very friendly, and the breakfast ($3 per person) was wonderful too. The rooms are basic but very clean and we had a great view of Arenal volcano from the back porch! The staff speak limited English so a knowledge of Spanish could be helpful, but we spoke hardly any Spanish and we got by just fine. Highly recommended if you're on a budget and want a clean, comfortable place to stay - and the great views and convenient location are a definite plus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samir79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cabinas Los Guayabos was much simpler than other places we stayed at in Costa Rica but was clean and pleasant. It is right on the highway but the noise didn't penetrate at night. Breakfast was included and was a good basic meal. There was wifi service in the main building but not in the rooms.

The volcano loomed over us. It was wreathed in clouds for part of the time but we had a great view of it from our back porch. Its rocky half of the way down then the greenery takes over and it has a lush cover of trees, grass and bush.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

this is a less expensive place and one without a many frills. The bathrooms aren't too beautiful, and the rooms could use a little spiffing up- but the owners are incredibly nice, the place is immaculate, the beds are very comfortable (but they could use mattress pads and screens on the windows)

there is a little patio with a view of the volcano and you are five minutes to everywhere in the perfect location .... We loved it.. and were very happy with our "find" ! If you are the type who likes a little "cabin", you will love the location and tranquility and view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KdTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

These are very basic cabins, but clean as can be. Ours had a/c and a TV with quite a lot of channels. The bathroom was large, and the shower was huge. The beds were extremely comfortable. Wi-fi is available at the reception area, and we used that several times each day. Breakfast is available in the reception building for about $3/person. It consisted of a large portion of scrambled eggs, a thick slice of cheese, a slice of ham, a slice of cucumber, fresh fruit, and a beverage (we had coffee, our son had OJ). The breakfast was a great deal as was the cabin.
This is our second time staying here. The first was by accident about 5 years ago when our car broke down at Baldi Hot Springs. When it was determined that our car couldn’t be repaired that day, a van from the Hot Springs deposited us at Cabinas los Guayabos. The setting of these cabins is beautiful. The back of the cabins have an amazing view of the volcano as well as the morning herding of a large group of cows into the pasture behind the cabins. Quite an entertaining event for us since we live in suburbia back in the U.S. and don’t regularly witness wacky cow behavior.
Again, these are basic, budget cabins, but very comfortable. If you come expecting luxury, you will be disappointed. If you come expecting a wholesome, comfortable, back-to-basics and back-to-nature experience, you will be thrilled. The owner is lovely and gracious also. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I know Karen the owner and this place is my must stop everytime I'm in Costa Rica. Not only is everything SUPER clean you also have the best view around and the breakfast is awesome. Best thing to do is get some ice and a bottle of rum and just watch the volcano at night. :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ignacio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

These cabins are located about 10 minutes outside of La Fortuna, which is great because it is more low key, but has easy access to anything in town. The rooms are simple, but very nice and clean. Most importantly, they each have a porch that has a great view of the Arenal volcano. Supposedly they are on the wrong side of the volcano to see most of the lava flow, but we wouldn't know because there has been no visible activity at Arenal for about 5 months. However, the best part about the place is the hospitality of the Costa Rican owners and their incredible patience with our sloppy spanish. Enjoy.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank JoshuaDavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Well, first off it's a taxi ride out of LaFortuna. It was clean,nice bathroom. No telephone/internet/tv. Nice and quiet. IT HAD THE WORST MATTRESS WE'VE EVER SLEPT ON! The lady who runs it was very nice but didn't speak much English. Breakfast was simple and good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,616 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
593 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Tangara Arenal
Hotel Tangara Arenal
#7 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Brisas Arenal Hotel
Brisas Arenal Hotel
#4 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
163 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#2 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
#20 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Los Guayabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Guayabos

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Los Guayabos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas Los Guayabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Guayabos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cabinas Los Guayabos Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing