We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We love these cabins!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Los Guayabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Los Guayabos
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We love these cabins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

These are very basic cabins, but clean as can be. Ours had a/c and a TV with quite a lot of channels. The bathroom was large, and the shower was huge. The beds were extremely comfortable. Wi-fi is available at the reception area, and we used that several times each day. Breakfast is available in the reception building for about $3/person. It consisted of a large portion of scrambled eggs, a thick slice of cheese, a slice of ham, a slice of cucumber, fresh fruit, and a beverage (we had coffee, our son had OJ). The breakfast was a great deal as was the cabin.
This is our second time staying here. The first was by accident about 5 years ago when our car broke down at Baldi Hot Springs. When it was determined that our car couldn’t be repaired that day, a van from the Hot Springs deposited us at Cabinas los Guayabos. The setting of these cabins is beautiful. The back of the cabins have an amazing view of the volcano as well as the morning herding of a large group of cows into the pasture behind the cabins. Quite an entertaining event for us since we live in suburbia back in the U.S. and don’t regularly witness wacky cow behavior.
Again, these are basic, budget cabins, but very comfortable. If you come expecting luxury, you will be disappointed. If you come expecting a wholesome, comfortable, back-to-basics and back-to-nature experience, you will be thrilled. The owner is lovely and gracious also. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I know Karen the owner and this place is my must stop everytime I'm in Costa Rica. Not only is everything SUPER clean you also have the best view around and the breakfast is awesome. Best thing to do is get some ice and a bottle of rum and just watch the volcano at night. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignacio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

These cabins are located about 10 minutes outside of La Fortuna, which is great because it is more low key, but has easy access to anything in town. The rooms are simple, but very nice and clean. Most importantly, they each have a porch that has a great view of the Arenal volcano. Supposedly they are on the wrong side of the volcano to see most of the lava flow, but we wouldn't know because there has been no visible activity at Arenal for about 5 months. However, the best part about the place is the hospitality of the Costa Rican owners and their incredible patience with our sloppy spanish. Enjoy.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaDavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Well, first off it's a taxi ride out of LaFortuna. It was clean,nice bathroom. No telephone/internet/tv. Nice and quiet. IT HAD THE WORST MATTRESS WE'VE EVER SLEPT ON! The lady who runs it was very nice but didn't speak much English. Breakfast was simple and good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Arrived after 8pm, after along drive to find office closed, knocked on door of house attached to office and we're greeted by a very friendly lady. She apologized for our long trip! Cabin was very nice, clean and roomy. Even in the dark it had great views. Big window with fab view of Arenal and a nice patio. The manager/owner was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and I want to help draw attention to this place because we were so happy with everything about it. First thing, we were traveling from Manuel Antonio to La Fortuna and experienced tortuous amounts of traffic and would be arriving close to midnight. We called and Karen, the owner of the property, was so sweet and told is it would be no problem to arrive late and she would give us the key when we arrived. We finally did and she was gracious enough to give us our key and told us we would take care of the paperwork in the morning. Our room was clean, spacious and very private. Shower was huge!!! We had a nice little patio and if there wasn't an overcast, we would have had a view of the volcano. The property is close to town, and close to the volcano and the park. It's also much cheaper than some of the other hotels in town. Probably not a great place for kids however.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27meredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel is pretty basic--but kind of cute--and a great value. The rooms are clean and simple, but we did have a view of Arenal right from our back patio--that is, we would have if the clouds had lifted! Instead, we saw a couple of horses in the neighboring pasture and a group of territorial hummingbirds feeding in the evening.

The rooms can be a bit damp, but we discovered that if we ran the dehumidifier that's part of the A/C unit, especially when we showered, we could dry it right out.

We loved the location, too--on the road between Fortuna and Arenal, so not right in the city but close enough to restaurants and other attractions. You probably would want a car here, though.

Karen, the owner/manager, is friendly and helpful. Her English isn't strong (but it certainly was better than our Spanish), but that wasn't a problem at all; if you get stuck, her very bright and personable son helps out.

A filling breakfast is also included.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego
#21 of 67 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 67 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas la Catarata
Cabinas la Catarata
#6 of 67 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#10 of 67 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Los Guayabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Guayabos

Property: Cabinas Los Guayabos
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Los Guayabos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Los Guayabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Guayabos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cabinas Los Guayabos Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing