We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, nice and centrally located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Carmela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Arenal Carmela
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Carmela to your Saves list
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, nice and centrally located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms were clean, the bedding in our room was good, refrigerator for keying drinks cold, the breakfast buffet was awesome with unlimited coffee and juice although I only had one glass of juice and two cups of coffee. There a no elevators so be prepare to muscle your luggage. They have a tour reservation center in the lobby and Chantel will help you with all your needs.

Room Tip: A stayed n room 14, it was above the restaurant so I was a little noisy in the morning, but that did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has a good location, good building, very good breakfast, nice spacious bathroom, it has a fridge and a small but interesting pool. But it has a couple of things that I think can be improve. For example, the sheets on the beds were not very good, the cable tv wasnt the best (did not have channels like discovery or warner), and costumer service can be a little improve as well. If manager of the hotel took care of this things the hotel could be improved a lot more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We went with our kids and enjoyed it. The pool is small and shaded. The room was clean and the service good. The tour operator in the lobby is friendly. The breakfast was solid if not exceptional. It's conveniently located right by the central park and a supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I spent the night of Dec 15 in a room on the second floor and think it was great for what it is- a basic, budget hotel room in a convenient location. My room was clean, the a/c worked great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was tasty and served very quickly. The bathroom appeared to have been very recently and nicely renovated. I didn't use the pool but it looked clean and maintained.

It is just around the corner from the bus station so is great for people travelling by bus. The location is a bit noisy as would be any "convenient" location but it didn't keep me awake.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of the hall on the second floor and I would stay in it again. I don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PluffMudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is centrally located. The lady at the reception is very friendly.
Travelling with a group as only single traveller I was assigned room 11 directly at the restaurant. A very depressing, dark and smelly room. Then they showed the other single room, 1, equally depressing. Now I have room 23 which was originally for the travel guide. The room is directly at the parking lot and somewhat lighter than the other forementioned rooms. However, the light is blocked by the bus parked directly in front of the window. There is no closet for clothes. There is only very bright light at the ceiling, no light near the beds. The room is smelly. The old airco without remote makes a lot of noise. The shower is dirty: mould at the wall. The shower itself is ok although you can not regulate the temperature. Free wifi, which is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Three nights in a room, where the smell of mold is the least problem. The electric heating of the shower resembles the switch of an electric chair and is probably equally dangerous.
There may be rooms in higher floors that are more recent, but the two rooms we and our children occupied on the ground level are not recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvnieuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed on April in the Carmela and was a terrific experience!!! Clean rooms with A/C, nice pool, wi fi, a computer for guest use, great security, parking and also breakfast included!!

Staff was so kind and nice, pending of our needs, location is great, just cross of the park and meters away of excelent restaurants such La parada.

If you are looking where to stay for a reasonable price then this is your place!!!
Fully recommended!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#54 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Carmela

Property: Hotel Arenal Carmela
Address: Costado Sur de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel arenal carmela is located in the center of la fortuna town,arenal volcano area,we have 25 standar rooms all with private bath,hot water,a/c,mini bar,safety box,cable tv,coffee maker and also private balcony,also we have swimming pool,lobby area,breakfast area,parking,tour desk,souvenir shop,internet and also we have wifi in all hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Carmela Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing