We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I'd stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Carmela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Arenal Carmela
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Carmela to your Saves list
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I spent the night of Dec 15 in a room on the second floor and think it was great for what it is- a basic, budget hotel room in a convenient location. My room was clean, the a/c worked great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was tasty and served very quickly. The bathroom appeared to have been very recently and nicely renovated. I didn't use the pool but it looked clean and maintained.

It is just around the corner from the bus station so is great for people travelling by bus. The location is a bit noisy as would be any "convenient" location but it didn't keep me awake.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of the hall on the second floor and I would stay in it again. I don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PluffMudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is centrally located. The lady at the reception is very friendly.
Travelling with a group as only single traveller I was assigned room 11 directly at the restaurant. A very depressing, dark and smelly room. Then they showed the other single room, 1, equally depressing. Now I have room 23 which was originally for the travel guide. The room is directly at the parking lot and somewhat lighter than the other forementioned rooms. However, the light is blocked by the bus parked directly in front of the window. There is no closet for clothes. There is only very bright light at the ceiling, no light near the beds. The room is smelly. The old airco without remote makes a lot of noise. The shower is dirty: mould at the wall. The shower itself is ok although you can not regulate the temperature. Free wifi, which is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Three nights in a room, where the smell of mold is the least problem. The electric heating of the shower resembles the switch of an electric chair and is probably equally dangerous.
There may be rooms in higher floors that are more recent, but the two rooms we and our children occupied on the ground level are not recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvnieuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed on April in the Carmela and was a terrific experience!!! Clean rooms with A/C, nice pool, wi fi, a computer for guest use, great security, parking and also breakfast included!!

Staff was so kind and nice, pending of our needs, location is great, just cross of the park and meters away of excelent restaurants such La parada.

If you are looking where to stay for a reasonable price then this is your place!!!
Fully recommended!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here with friends for a few nights checking out the area. The family that runs this place is great! So kind and willing to help with everything. One of the best experiences I had during my visit to Costa Rica. Great for travelers using "public" transport - like the bus. Right in the middle of Fortuna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great crash pad for adventures near Arenal. Central location that allows you to get anywhere in town on foot. Friendly staff, nice little pool for cooling down after a hot, humid day of hikes. I had some trouble as my neighborhood at home is quiet and the room didn't block sound very well, had to get earplugs to block out the cars, people talking, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My mom and I stayed here during our time doing tourist things around the Arenal Volcano. The location was perfect--a block away from the bus stop to/from San Jose (a $4 & 4 hr bus trip), across the street from the town square and taxi stop, surrounded by restaurants, helpful tourist booths, and souvenir shops. In the US my family is accustomed to staying in Best Westerns and Microtels, and this was comprable to that. The rooms were on the small side but plenty of space for two adults, plus we were only there at night watching movies (they have HBO in English on the cable tv) after being out almost all day. The breakfast in the morning was great and the staff was helpful (we didn't intend for it, but we ended up having to check in a little early and leave a little late) and they were very flexible with us. Plus, they have a tourist info office attached to the hotel office with very helpful staff. Our balcony (room 6) had a lovely view of the pool and bridge and was surrounded with vines and flowers (and, in the mornings, hummingbirds!). The rooms were clean, they really did leave our towels in cute shapes, the hot water was so nice, and the beds were a little stiff, but better than other hotels I've stayed at in CR, and had bars of soap, towels, bedding, and AC. No noise issues (other than the occasional AC rattling that a good smack fixed). On top of it all, the price was great.
Needless to say, I really recommend this hotel, especially if you're used to your average Best Western/Microtel type hotels in the US.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6. It was great. There were definitely some rooms stuck in the corner with the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#38 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Carmela

Property: Hotel Arenal Carmela
Address: Costado Sur de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel arenal carmela is located in the center of la fortuna town,arenal volcano area,we have 25 standar rooms all with private bath,hot water,a/c,mini bar,safety box,cable tv,coffee maker and also private balcony,also we have swimming pool,lobby area,breakfast area,parking,tour desk,souvenir shop,internet and also we have wifi in all hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Carmela Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing