We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique in the best way possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Unique in the best way possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We can confirm the prior reviews: the facilities are beautiful and the people are friendly and helpful. Finca Luna Nueva is an extraordinary combination of a relaxing vacation spot and serious research center. Don't miss the night tour of the rain forest with Ishmael.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    60
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
146
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What an awesome experience! My friend and I came here during the "rainy" season in October. While it did definitely pour at times, I did not feel that the rain impeded our good time at all. In fact, most of the weather was gorgeous. One night it rained and thundered and we sat in the observation tower and listened to the storm. Long story short - do not avoid the "green" season - there is plenty to offer.

The farm itself is great. The whole area is full of birds and plants and looks well manicured. We stayed in a bungalow, which was clean and well kept. It was bigger than I thought and very comfortable. There are countless things to do on the farm during the day. We explored the trails and visited the pigs and other animals. We even saw a sloth up in a tree on our free farm tour.

The food was pretty good, nothing too special for the price. I will say, though, I usually have stomach problems and all of these were completely gone while staying at eating the food at the farm. It is fresh and much of it is actually from the farm or at least close by. Try the tumeric dressing. They grow the tumeric on the farm and I think I put that dressing on everything, even pancakes. It's awesome. If you dont want to eat at the farm, you can drive to La Fortuna for dinner, but it is also a little pricey/touristy.

The location is great. Rent a car and explore the hot springs, hanging bridges, Arenal volcano... if you are up to it hike Cerro Chatto. It is super hard (for a New Yorker at least...) but worth it. If you are not a tour person, you can do most of the "tours" they offer on your own by going on the trails or having a car and driving to the nearby attractions. It is nice to have someone pointing out things to you, but if you are on a budget or don't like groups it is good to have the option.

All in all, come here! We spent 4 days at the farm and exploring the nearby areas and it was GREAT GREAT GREAT.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my 3 night stay in Luna Nueva, in great part thanks to the people working there, both permanently and as interns. It seems that everyone connected to the farm is passionate about what they are doing, and very open about explaining about it as well.

The farm and gardens are absolutely magnificent, and the produce coming out of it even more so. This is what is served at the restaurant and you can taste how rich and fresh it is. In fact, everything from fauna, flora, food and people is fresh and beautiful. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at Luna Nueva In September and loved it. Was there for three nights and left feeling there was so much more to explore and experience. The food was fantastic, fresh and healthy, everyone was more than accommodating, and the commitment to sustainability was serious and well done. It was all simply fantastic. Oh, and I could LIVE in that pool - not only was it well designed aesthetically, it's so rare in the states to find a pool without chlorine. What a way to stay refreshed and invigorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First, Finca Luna Nueva is so beautiful and so peaceful. Accommodations are reasonable, not over the top, but a gem inside the rainforest. The mission of the farm is inspiring and their efforts will hopefully change the way we farm all over the world. Biodynamic farming is the way to go!
The food, delicious, nutritious and slow. Most of what you eat come directly for the farm. Talk about super foods!
What really makes this place special, ,however, are the people. Ismael was the best, most friendly and knowledgable tour guide I have ever had. His smile was enough to make you forget about the snakes living in the trees, until he enthusiastically points them out to you with passion and excitement. You always know you are in good hands. The drivers that took us outside tours have worked with the farm for over 15 years and are reliable, but most importantly trustworthy. They are friendly and always willing to help out, or make a random stop, at the first request. Our drivers gave us a lot of peace of mind when traveling out.
Did I mention how amazing the ozonated pool is. It's Amazing! Be prepared to take some exotic pictures and have a relaxing but busy and educational experience at the farm.
Sorts are good, but so is a rain jacket and quick drying pants. Bring binoculars to see the real cool animals that won't come up to you. And definitely bring a flashlight! While the farm is pretty safe, you are in the middle of the rainforest.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: I got a bungalow that was private. It was nice, but if rainforest noises freak you out you might wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved every minute of being in the general area, but this location especially made us very happy. We were given a wonderful little wooden cabin that overlooked the dense trees. The only down side was the noise of people going to work on their cars and motorcycles early in the morning, but it's very quite otherwise.
The food was amazing. Totally organic, and made with love. You can taste it in every bite. We especially liked the gallo pinto in the mornings, the fresh, green salad and the best cheesecake ever! The staff very attentive and very nice. Pool and hot tub were great after the long drive...and also first thing in the morning. And we highly recommend taking the farm tour. Makes you appreciate your food a bit more.
We cannot wait to come back for another visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMZarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a beautiful resort that is well situated for visits to the rainforest, Mt. Arenal and a wide range of outdoor activities. Rooms are private even in the multi-unit buildings; simple, but tasteful and well appointed; and are designed to let you experience the beauty of the rainforest. Food is wonderful using many ingredients from the's resort working, organic farm. Hosts will help you find the right activities and vendors for what you want to do. I was there for a meeting during the rainy season. Our group of about 30 people met on a large, outdoor veranda with a large overhanging roof. The experience of sitting outdoors while the rain poured down a couple of hours each day was wonderful. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello Valerie,

We really appreciate your kind words.

We do our best every day to provide our guests a home experience. Hope you feel like that.

Looking forward to see you again.

Warmest regards!

Luna Nueva Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.9 mi away
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda
7.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Luna Nueva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Property: Finca Luna Nueva Lodge
Address: San Isidro de Penas Blancas La fortuna Alajuela, Pocosol, Costa Rica | San Isidro de Penas Blancas La fortuna Alajuela, Pocosol, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica (Formerly Finca Luna Nueva Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Luna Nueva Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge is a sustainable rainforest eco-lodge hotel, offering an intimate experience of primary rainforest together with a certified organic biodynamic farm and also we have Certification for Sustainable Tourism in Costa Rica. N 2003 we decided to take our promotion of sustainable practices to the next level by building several beautiful eco-lodges using fallen timber from the farm. Since then we have added a 50 foot high observation tower, a solar heated Jacuzzi, an ozonated swimming pool, and a handicapped accessible rainforest trail. Now you can experience the Costa Rican rainforest, learn about our farm's sustainable practices and relax in our rustic yet luxurious accommodations. Walk through well-groomed rain forest trails on our guided farm tours and hikes, eat gourmet meals prepared from our fresh organic garden produce, and witness the majesty of the Arenal Volcano. For adventure activity enthusiasts, we are located only 30 minutes from La Fortuna, the adventure capital of Costa Rica, and home of world famous Arenal Volcano. La Fortuna is a must see destination for anyone seeking a thrill, and our experienced staff will be more than happy to schedule all of your activities and tours for you. With 17 rooms and 40 beds, accommodations can be made for both the traveler looking for an intimate getaway as well as housing for large groups and conferences. Cancellation Policies: High Season and Holiday Season • Within 45 days there are no charges. • Within 44 to 15 days there is 50% charge of the total amount. • Less than 15 days there is 100% charge of the total amount. • In case of no show there is 100% charge of the total amount. • In case of cancelations within 60 days, we reserve the right to require an increased deposit or modify refund provisions on future groups Low Season • Within 45 days there are no charges. • Between 44 and 15 days there is 25% charge of the total amount. • Less than 15 days there is 100% charge of the total amount. • In case of no show there is 100% charge of the total amount. • In case of cancelations within 60 days, we reserve the right to require an increased deposit or modify refund provisions on future groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Finca Luna Nueva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing