We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful location and charming family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and charming family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I really enjoyed Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal. The family is charming and very helpful, the breakfast delicious, and the cabins clean, spacious and comfortable with good showers and air conditioning. I really liked that there was a front and back porch. The back porch had two chairs, a small table and a hammock and had a beautiful garden view.
As some have said, it's a short distance out of town (about 1 mile) but a cab ride is only $3 or it is a pleasant 15 minute walk which we felt comfortable doing even late at night. Also, the host Alvaro had a menu for the best soda (Costa Rican term for restaurant) in town and would happily order for us when we didn't want to go into town and the delivery fee was $2.
It is on the road to the waterfall and the Cerro Chato hike, two of the best attractions in the La Fortuna/Arenal area.
What I liked about Cerro Azul was that it was close to town but a little out of town so that I felt that I was in the countryside where there was peace and quiet.
There is access to the river at the back of the property which I enjoyed swimming in.
It would have been perfect if there was a TV to watch at night!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwigLeichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    57
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
95
263
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The roomy cabañas (a HUGE cut above the typically small and very sparse cabinas of Costa Rica) served our needs perfectly. My wife and I took one, our 3 young-adult sons slept in the neighboring one, where rather than share the queen-sized beds they took turns (and loved) sleeping on the hammock on the back porch.

Dorm-sized refrigerators and cutlery borrowed from the owners helped us save time and money as we ate in an exquisite setting on the back porch with only the sounds of birds and the river. Roomy bathrooms with plenty of hot water, air conditioning, and comfortable queen-sized beds were obvious plusses. We didn't try out the TVs (why would we?), but the wireless and cable internet were both fast and welcome.

We opted for the breakfast at $5 p.p., típico and very tasty.

Surrounded by numerous flowers (including orchids) and blossoming and fruiting trees which attract hummingbirds and other delightful avians, the cabañas have a perfect view of Cerro Chato and the green side of Arenal.

While no glowing lava is visible from this side, you can hear eruptions and see plumes of smoke from the volcano. I wouldn't trade the relaxing atmosphere of Cerro Azul for a direct view of the lava side -- and the congestion it entails. To spend time there take a walk on the Toucan Trail near the Arenal Observatory Lodge (a bit strenuous hike for the less fit -- lots of stairs) or eat else a late afternoon / early evening meal at Linda Vista in El Castillo (lake plus volcano view).

A few minutes' walk behind the cabañas there's a peaceful river with a modest swimming hole. Resident pooch Cookie will guide you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillF20639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

all you hear is the volcano, not the traffic. It worth staying here because you are away from the main road in town. Also the owner of the hotel is a great guy, very helpful and friendly. Each bungalow has a hammock on the back porch so one can sleep outside and there are very few bugs to bother you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningsquire227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We love this hotel! The cabins are roomy, clean, comfortable, and made of beautiful local wood. Each cabin has a deck that it's surrounded by tropical plants and Guava trees. The views of the Volcano are amazing. This place is near the city of La Fortuna, La Fortuna Waterfall, and the entrance to the El Cero del Chato Park. This is a Family owned hotel and they are wonderful hosts. You can choose to have breakfast specially made for you! Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelybelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This quiet hotel (4 cabins) is a couple of kilometers from La Fortuna. It's close enough that you can take taxis into town, but it is much easier to get around if you have a car. They were "upgrading" the road while we stayed there, so the owner let us park in his yard across the street. His wife also made us coffee in the mornings, and they were both wonderful to deal with and told us about all of the great things to see in the area. The hotel is on the road to the La Fortuna waterfall, which is definitely worth the entry fee (it goes to a non-profit that protects the area). The cabins had A/C, plenty of hot water, and good beds. Overall, the rooms were nice, the view was beautiful, and the owner was awesome. Ask him about the path to the river- a quarter of a mile to a secluded spot where you can relax in the river in peace.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joebratwurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

This is a small family-run place located a few minutes outside of La Fortuna (taxi ride is a little over $2). The owner was very friendly and gracious, and our cabina was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The back patios are pleasant and private and the landscaping is lovely with flowers everywhere. You can walk down a little path through the woods to get to a beautiful little river. We sat on rocks in the river and enjoyed the cool refreshing water washing over us. It was totally private, romantic and a really special part of our trip. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn_Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private cabin while four of his friends stayed next door in another cabin, and all of us agreed it was an excellent choice. For us it was romantic, with enough privacy from the other cabins to enjoy the hammock on our back patio in peace. The landscape is beautiful and the property is very well manicured. The owner was super helpful, giving us tips on what to do and where to eat (Soda el Rio was cheap and good, as well as the soda up the road on the way to the waterfall). The rooms were clean, the showers hot, and the service friendly. We joined his friends last minute on the trip and were able to book our room literally a day before arriving, with the staff returning our email within an hour and calling us to confirm. Five stars! *****

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystalRose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Property: Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing