We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$47
Travelocity$47
Orbitz.com$47
CheapTickets$47
Trip.com$61
Hurb$63
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
573
102
20
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
573
102
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch front porch costa rica chocolate tour deluxe cabin american breakfast visiting la fortuna a wonderful stay small fridge san jose grounds are beautiful roy waterfall tiquicia birds property tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 704 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Great location, beautiful gardens and comfortable cabins (with deck and hammock!). The food was very nice. Everything was very reasonably priced. Quiet and peaceful. Very friendly and helpful staff. A guaranteed pleasant stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Passport51799294722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Cerro Azul is a beautiful property. The casssitas are not luxurious, but they are charming, with both a front porch and a back porch. The dining experience was an unexpected pleasure. We had dinner there one night, so we didn't have to go into town. It was wonderful! And a bargain. We ended up there on our last night also, because we so enjoyed. A hidden treasure.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here a few days ago. We had one of the smaller cabins. It was very cozy and big enough for a family of 4. Our teenage son loved the hammock on the back porch. This was a great location. It was just out of the heart of the town but there was a restaurant on site and another a couple minutes walk away. The tours from the Eco Lodge were able to pick us without problems, only about a 5-minute drive. The gardens were beautiful and the river was maybe a 5 minute hike down a trail at the back of the property. We saw tons of blue jean dart frogs on leaves and tree trunks and loved the sound of the birds (except the rooster maybe) waking us up in the morning.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Tera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

family run resort, so felt good to support. greeted by lovely staff with welcome drink. the room (cabin 8) was large, comfortable, not buggy. fridge in room. lovely back porch with hammock, table and chairs overlooking beautiful field. the location is like staying in a botanical garden. the flowers and vegetation are amazing. the staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. can walk down to the river. restaurant on site. massage center available. loved this place. private, quiet, beautiful.

Room tip: cabin 8 was lovely
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flo1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

This is a great hotel located on lovely grounds. We felt like we were staying inside the botanical gardens. The landscaping is so well kept and attracts many birds. You can hear the birds singing in the morning. We were really impressed with the Wi-Fi and water pressure/temperature throughout our stay. The new restaurant is great, excellent food and service and very reasonably priced.

The cabins are all very private. We were in room 8 which had a great view of the large backyard, and flower bushes all around creating a really private experience. The back veranda is wonderful with a hammock, two chairs and a table, as well as stairs to the backyard.

The room itself is a good size with candles all around. The bed was comfortable, there is a ceiling fan and A/C. The bathroom was good and to reiterate, excellent shower.

It is nice to walk the paths and see all the garden areas, and there is also a river walk onsite. There is a friendly dog who may accompany you to the river.

The new restaurant is great, and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. Very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. The spa closes at 5, but we were able to reserve reasonably prices spa services up until 8 pm. This hotel is run by a local family, with the parents, grandparents, adult kids all working together to make it an enjoyable experience. They helped us to arrange taxis and check on pre-arranged rides as well.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and would love to go back another time.

Room tip: Room 9 is right by the river. Room 8 is close to reception but still very private.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714megans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews