We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$125
Hotels.com$125
Travelocity$125
Priceline$125
Vio.com$125
eDreams$125
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveler rating
588
104
20
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
588
104
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch costa rica family owned beautiful cabin visiting la fortuna would definitely stay here again private balcony short drive arenal volcano howler monkeys stayed longer grounds are beautiful hot springs zip lining waterfall property tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 721 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2015

My husband and I had a great stay at this lovely hotel! Our cabana was beautiful constructed inside and out, very clean, and comfortable. The room was incredibly large with a kitchenette and tv.

The family that owns the hotel is very welcoming, sweet, and full of information. They helped booked all our activities including our shuttle transfers between San Jose, Arenal, and Santa Teresa (no extra charge was added to any bookings to do this, it was the same pricing listed online at the shuttle website). The breakfast was very filling and delicious so worth the $7!

The location is in a beautiful setting. It's about a 25 minute walk into town or of course they are able to call a taxi for you. (We saved money on taxis by having the transportation that was booked with our activities drop us off at hot springs we were planning on going to that evening instead of returning to the hotel and getting a new taxi.)

I definitely recommend this beautiful hotel!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 849beatad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 6, 2015

we have been travelling for 2 weeks in Costa Rica and stayed 2 nights.Rancho Cerro Azul was okay. Simple and on good price.I recommend to have a car because the walk to the town is quite far (around 30-40 min)..The bungalows are clean and simple, but we did not like that they are very close to each other and also too close to the reception, although from the terrace you cant see others terrace because of the plants.. The advantages were the huge number of hummingbirds we saw from our terrace and the tasty breakfast. We did not like the tour to the volcano that they booked to us. It is not their fault, but they should know that this was not worth for the price as the group was too big, the guide was hurrying all the time and we payed 45 USD/person for 1,5 hours rush and 2 hours bus trip..we have been to lots of trips with guides on our 2week trip but this one was one of the worst. So the Rancho is simply okay.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tundiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

We appreciate very much your annotations, we are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed our gardens, volcano views and breakfast.
We are very sorry for not meeting %100 your expectations, as you consider that the cabins are close to each other, how ever, we appreciate the fact that you have also considered that the price is good according to the quality and service we offer, we also have a Superior Type room, we are sorry because this rooms were not vacant while you were staying in our hotel, that's why we did no gave you that option, this rooms are more private and separated from each other.
It's such a shame that you did not enjoy the Volcano Tour, considering the season of the year you had visited us, is possible that some tours have big groups of people, we apologize for that too.
Thank you very much for your suggestions, each of them is very important for us and we take it very seriously, as they help us improve.
Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2015

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here, despite the rainy weather we had! The bungalows were clean and beautiful. I really never wanted to leave the hammock! The walk to downtown wasn't too far for dinner and wondering around for shopping, we did take a taxi back though. Breakfast in the morning was really good, I liked walking across the street and enjoying everything around us, lots of pretty plants. Roy and Tatiana were so helpful and sweet with recommendations and answering all our questions.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurenRuby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 3, 2015

This is an incredible place. The family is wonderful and Tatiana and Roy took care of booking all our tours. Breakfast each morning was delicious. The family made sure that we had an excellent 3 days. The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfortable. There were fresh flowers each day and the patio with the hammock was very relaxing. The grounds are beautiful and it is an easy walk to town or the chocolate tour. We highly recommend Cerro Azul.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

This is a fabulous place run by a very sweet family. The cabins are clean and lovely with fresh flowers and a back deck with a hammock looking out to a beautiful garden. The location was convenient and it was very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and we would recommend this highly.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews