We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-owned, clean and great value, in the country with view of the volcano when it is not covered in clouds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family-owned, clean and great value, in the country with view of the volcano when it is not covered in clouds”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I can't imagine anybody could complain about this place, specially if you stay in cabin #5. It's clean and new. I am one of those people who will not even sit on a bed without removing the bedspread, much less lie on it or sleep with it. This place had a nice quilted cover and I did not find the need to remove it. Cleanliness is huge for me and this place cannot be better. And there is AC. It's a great value! We did see one of the other cabins and it was a little older with a less modern bathroom but it is still a great deal. Pay in cash and it's cheaper. I also really like that the place is family-owned and that it is located just outside of town - not off the main highway where all of the other hotels are. You have your own little cabin in the countryside with a front and back porch. Horses are in the property next door and forest in the back. If you are lucky, and the volcano is not covered in clouds, you can see the volcano from the front porch. What a wonderful way to start the day with a walk across the street to the owner's front patio to get breakfast. Get the tico breakfast. The gallo pinto, the black beans and rice that comes with your scrambled eggs, toast and fried plantain is the best I have had. I liked the place so much that we extended our stay.

Don Alvaro (the owner) and his daughter (Tatiana) will arrange for any tours/activities you want. They are extremely helpful and I like that most of the activities can be made in one payment to them rather than separately to each tour operator. We had a car but we noticed that many of the guests did not. Many tours are set up to pick up guests at the hotels and they do come to Cerro Azul.

If this is your first stay in Costa Rica then note that it is common that wifi is spotty and that the TV only has two channels in English.

Room Tip: Cabin #5 is the newest and I think the only one with one Queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eks_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    75
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
109
311
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After being stuck on traffic in San Jose, we arrived to the hotel exhausted. The owner served us cold natural juice without asking us, took our luggage to the room and asked us about our activities. He was able to book us a tour for the afternoon, for Cerro Chato and water rafting. The tour agencies he recommended where 5 stars, top notch and super helpful!

The location is just great, 20 minutes walking distance to the main town. You can walk to a near by river, although he doesn't recommend it, its just fascinating.

Oh, and DO NOT miss his wife's eggs in the morning! Breakfast was to die for!!!

If we ever go back to La fortuna, we will def stay here again. There's no better feeling than to feel like home abroad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Beautiful property among lush green of rainforest, with a tranquil sound of the La Fortuna river in the background. And very conveniently located from the town of La Fortuna, and the local activities. We spent four great days here, and would love to be back.

The best experience is the family who runs the place, who makes you feel completely at home and goes out of their way to make sure you have a smooth and comfortable time. Do not even think about missing the breakfasts, and go for the traditional breakfast platters. The rice and beans there are the yummiest that we have ever tasted and we always ended up asking for the second serving.

We made new friends, and would love to be back when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great, we stayed in the cabin # 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abhijit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Tatiana and her father are great hosts, we drove in very late at night and they were waiting for us in the road side. The cabanas are clean and with a/c, very quiet area. we chose this place since it is very close to Catarata de La Fortura, the Arenal Volcano, and to the zip lines at Mundo Aventura and we were going to be in the area for one day. The best typical Costarican breakfast we had with the gallo pinto was at their home in front of the cabanas. This is not a luxury place but, it is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed in one of the charming cabins for three nights while exploring the la Fortuna area. Tatiana and family were very welcoming to our family ; Tatiana booked a tour of Cano Negro and also a combination tour of the LA Fortuna area for us, really enjoyed the tours! Would definitely recommend both! Started the day off with a typical breakfast at Tatiana's families home which was very tasty and enjoyable! Would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to the LA Fortuna area!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had originally planned to stay 2 nights here and 2 nights closer to Lake Arenal. But we decided to spend all 4 nights at the Hotel Cerro Azul and we are so incredibly happy we did. The family is wonderful. Tatiana helped us plan a lot of things to do around La Fortuna and Volcan Arenal. Alvaro was super patient with us (La Fortuna was our first stop in Costa Rica and we hadn't had a chance to practice any Spanish yet) and his wife was very warm and friendly as well. The breakfast is definitely worth the extra $7 - very yummy and filling before a hike to the gorgeous waterfall!!!! It's about 30-45 minutes walk up the road towards Cerro Chato but worth it! The bungalow is a perfect retreat after a long day of hiking/ zip lining/ hot springs. The front porch (we were in cabin 5) faces the volcano and the back porch is a great place to relax in the hammock(!!) overlooking the beautiful landscape or sit and listen to the river and the jungle as you sip some wine or Imperial beer (which you can buy from Tatiana or Alvaro). This place is the best to stay in La Fortuna, and the price is a no brainer. Also, we liked that it was in a quieter part of the area but still only 15 minute walk to town. We loved it so much we wished we could have taken our bungalow with us to the other places we traveled to in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 appears to be the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We came back from Costa Rica last Tuesday. When we arrived to La Fortuna I was a bit disappointed because it seemed to be so busy. Once we drove up to the cabins, I was in complete amazement. My family and I had never seen such a cute and beautiful place. Yes, they don't have all the amenities of a hotel, but it is more than I expected. You are staying in a family owned property so don't expect a 24 hour shuttle. Tatiana and her father are awesome. They are so helpful. Tatiana helped us look for activities for our girls and called around for prices and times of operation. The girl that does the housekeeping is also wonderful. She does a great job at cleaning.
My daughters ate something in the town of La Fortuna which caused them an upset stomach with vomiting. Tatiana's father offered to make them a tea and constantly asked how they were doing.
The surroundings are beautiful. This is the kind of place we were looking for. After staying two nights and going back to Alajuela, we wished we had stayed here one more night. Some people have commented that they should build more cabins. I think this would take away from the service they provide. Less is more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,736 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,246 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,174 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Property: Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing