We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly, great location”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent family run property about 5 mins drive from centre of La fortuna. It's location is perfect far enough away that you get birds and butterflies galore in the grounds but only 3 dollars in a taxi into town for meals etc. Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful
Only criticism I would have is that it would be good to have tea/coffee making facilities and maybe a small bar for drinks, juice, beer etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    76
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
115
324
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were here in November and can recommend this hotel. The bungalow is large and the staff very friendly. I could book by e-mail and Tatiana arranged all we needed. It is located near town and the waterfall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sepp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid-October. Five individual cabinas have been constructed in what was likely at one time a field or pasture, with a small parking area in front next to the road and a field behind them leading down to Rio La Fortuna. Our cabin was spacious and comfortable, with a/c, a high interior ceiling, and a mini-fridge with small freezer compartment (the fridge was a bit larger than what you'd usually find in lodging like this). A door at the far end of the room led to a back porch that was furnished with two chairs and a small table, as well as a hammock. The bathroom is large, with built-in shelf space to accommodate suitcases, hanging and folded clothes, and other items. The shower provided good pressure and plenty of hot water. During mornings, we would open doors and windows to allow fresh air to ventilate the cabin.

The setting was tranquil. Cerro Azul is on the road to the Fortuna Waterfall and the Green Lagoon Hotel, from which you can hike one of the two paths to Cerro Chato. A few cars and tourist buses come and go down the road (we also saw runners participating in a local race on Sunday morning, and kids bicycling on Friday evening), but it's much less bustling than downtown La Fortuna. The town is a moderate walk or short drive away, perhaps 1.5 kilometers. The well-maintained grounds have many types of plants, fruit trees and flowers, attracting hummingbirds, tanagers and other birds. The owner Alvaro and daughter Tatiana were friendly and helpful. We had a delightful breakfast one morning (not included in room rate) on the front porch of their house across the street, with toast, eggs, gallo pinto, watermelon, great coffee and fresh orange juice.

Cerro Azul was one of the highlights of our four week trip to CR, and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDougH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I will make this fast. My girlfriend and I absolutely loved this place. It was our favorite place out of all the places we stayed in our two-week trip to Costa Rica. It was clean, spacious, and perfectly located. Air-conditioning,TV and refrigerator were included. The patios are absolutely gorgeous too. Property was in immaculate shape and it was awesome having the river to go play in. It was only a three dollar cab ride into town which only took about five minutes too. Tatiana and her family were some of the nicest and most helpful locals we met our while trip. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you want a peaceful intimate time in fortuna! We wish we were back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannypackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was everything we read it was in previous reviews. Alvaro and his wife were super friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious (we had Typical style both mornings). Our cabin was great. It was clean, spacious, cozy, and I lived the special touches of local flowers here and there. Towels could have been thicker but for $50+ a night I made due. We geocached and had a great walk to the waterfall. The area is absolutely beautiful. We had a car so we were able to drive into town very easily for dinner. We went rappelling with Pure Trek---can't say enough great things about them too. Also hiked in the National Rainforest Park. That was an incredible experience. The only negative was the first night we flew in. We drove what should have been 2-3 hrs to find the hotel and it was a nightmare---not due to poor road conditions---due to complete lack if road signage. My husband works in the oil fields in rural NM & TX and is used to driving like that & we STILL had problems finding this hotel. No one knew where it was!!! We stopped to ask many people. I speak Spanish fluently. Finally some police knew and pointed us in the right direction. There is no signage for it at all like there is for some of the larger hotels. We arrived close to 3 am. Alvaro had gone to bed so we had to sleep in our rental car. It was awful. We got no refund for that night's stay and we're glad it was only a loss of $50 ish. We would have rated it 5 stars were it not for it's total lack of signage.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I can see now why these cabins get such wonderful reviews, yet I have to add my own. The value is outstanding. For the price, location and amenities it was a perfect stay for our first trip to La Fortuna. We had a family of 5 in a cabin for 3 nights and were comfortable - two in each bed and they gave us a mattress on the floor for another child. My kids loved the river. We had a car so drove to the waterfall and then hiked down in - one of the highlights of our trip. From this area we also drove to the Volcano area, and the hosts helped us book the Safari raft trip - perfect for young kids.

I would recommend this spot to anyone - we may have been the only one who used it but also loved having a/c in the room.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are very equal, lined up in a row. Any one is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison_Yr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your time and also for share your opinion about your stay, we are glad because you and your family had a nice stay with us, is good to know children and adults can enjoy our place.
Thank you for choosing us as one of your destination in Costa Rica, we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here in July and were impressed by the outstanding hospitality of the owner, Alvarro, and his wonderful family. Our room was clean and very comfortable, with a charming little deck overlooking a pasture (and their two pretty horses) in the back of the hotel. We were greeted by a flock of toucans perching in the trees, and a visit by an adorable agouti eating the delicious-smelling guava fruit by our cabin. The hotel is conveniently located on the edge of the town of La Fortuna. The cabins are situated near a quiet road, with nice landscaping around the property. The accommodations are simple, but very comfortable. This was one of the best values of our trip. We so enjoyed getting to know our hosts, warm people who really care about their guests' comfort and enjoyment. We hope to visit again someday!

You can take a short walk from the cabins to a river that runs behind the pasture. Keep your eyes open for red dart frogs in the woods. We enjoyed a very satisfying breakfast each morning (a small extra charge) of fresh fruit, good coffee, eggs, pinto gallo, and toast. Titiana was so gracious and helpful in giving us directions and calling to reserve tours for us. (The Rainforest Chocolate Tour just up the road was so interesting, interactive, and included tastings-yum!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danna_G4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review , we are glad to know how you and your family enjoyed the property and all the fauna, thank you for your good comments about our family, all our guest are the main razon to be here. Please, return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,850 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,844 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,815 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Property: Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing