We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A week we will always remember thanks to Alvaro & family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Three Rivers
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A week we will always remember thanks to Alvaro & family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent the last week of our 5 week Costa Rica vacation here in mid-February. The bungalows are tucked in among the tropical flowers, plants & trees giving a feeling of privacy even though it is located on the main road to La Fortuna waterfalls. The river is only 100 yards behind the cabins and one can hear the rushing water and sometimes the howler monkeys in the forest below. The lovely back porch of the cabin complete with hammock, table & chairs was where we spent most of our time....it was incredibly peaceful!
The rooms are large, beds are great, bathrooms are spacious with lots of storage space, refrigerator, and air conditioning (if needed).
Alvaro & his daughter, Tatiana, both speak English very well and are able to arrange tours, recommend local restaurants and whatever one needs to make the stay enjoyable.
The breakfasts served on the porch of their family home, across the road, was a wonderful way to begin each day.
We will most definitely return here on our next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ForksInTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    55
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
94
258
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were so pleased with Hotel Cerro Azul. Alvaro and his family were very nice and helpful. The breakfast on the porch of their home was very good. I was surprised how nice the cabin was--spacious,clean, well equipped and very comfortable. I loved having the front and back porches. I don't want to be in Costa Rica and be inside, We were fortunate that we could see Arenal and had a great view form the front porch. I enjoyed sitting on the back porch with my computer to check email and plan a few days ahead for our trip. So private and many birds,
We were only there two nights but I would have been happy tp stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

These cabins are located just far enough away from the city to be absolutely quiet and peaceful, yet are close enough so a nice brisk walk can bring you to the resturants and super markets of town. Taxi fare back is only a couple of $. But, once you are there you really don't want to leave the cabin. We stayed there for several nights and found the bird watching and flora extravaganza to be as good from the porch of the cabin as it was on the $40 tours. We walked down to the river through the horse pasture and enjoyed the same rushing waters as the waterfall up stream, only our outing at the river didn't cost anything.
The breakfasts were outstanding. The family that owns the enterprise is just as nice and down to earth as could be.
When we go to Costa Rica again we will definately stay at Cerro Azul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Another score for Trip Advisor: we would have been most unlikely to have stumbled onto this place by chance, and Alvaro and his wfe deserve their reviews.
Be aware that the cabins are a 20min walk into La Fortuna: on the other hand they are only a 20 min walk, in the other direction, to the La Fortuna Waterfall, so you win some/ lose some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

These amazing little cabins were such a lucky find for us - we wanted something romantic, clean, safe, and above all - affordable. These little cabins are an incredible value. The gardens are beautifully kept and the location is off of a secluded little road just a couple minutes outside of the busy side of town. We've stayed there twice now, bringing friends with us the second time, and we had a 100% positive experience both times. The owners are lovely locals and Alvaro's wife makes you feel at home with a perfectly-priced home-cooked breakfast in the mornings. Alvaro has a ton of information about the local attractions as well as discounts available for many of them. We'll definitely visit again the next time we make a trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Immediately when we arrived we were greeted by the owner Alvaro. Him and his wife are incredibly friendly, helpful and passionate about making your stay the best it can be!!

The cabin we stayed in was amazing for the price. It was very private, clean and spacious. Each cabin has an awesome back deck with a hammock to admire the rich jungle behind. The panoramic views are breathtaking!!

The breakfast was prepared by Alvaro's wife and is a tico tipico meal (this is an extra cost). After trying many different variations of this Costa Rican classic we can easily say this was the best one. During breakfast remember to bring your camera because there are countless birds flying around in their front garden.

We felt very comfortable planning our adventures with Alvaro's help and would certainly go back to stay here in the future when visiting La Fortuna.

Room Tip: I think all of the cabins would be excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaiihula2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location with clean, comfortable rooms and nature all around you. Alvaro, the owner is a very nice guy and very helpful with any local information you might need. They do a great typical breakfast too. Well worth the 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,908 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Property: Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing