We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$128
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$247
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$200
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$465
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
506
87
16
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
87
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchfront porchchocolate tourcosta ricafamily that ownsthese cabinsclose to townmini fridgeamerican breakfastair conditioningmaintained groundseach morningvisiting la fortunabreakfast was deliciousthree nightsnice bathrooma great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 616 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location with clean, comfortable rooms and nature all around you. Alvaro, the owner is a very nice guy and very helpful with any local information you might need. They do a great typical breakfast too. Well worth the 5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Cerro Azul has four cottages kept by a friendly family living across the street. The cottages are fairly small but very well kept. Each has a terrace on both sides and garden surroundings. Cerro Azul is situated in a nice residential area which is very close to nature. Horses were grazing a few meters away and all kinds of exotic birds were flying around. There was a half an hour walk to the center.

Breakfast was served on the porch of the family's home. It was built in a traditional Costa Rican way around gallo pinto. It was a fresh and tasty start for the day.

During our visit the weather was very foggy and humid. It seemed that wet clothes never got dry and even the dry ones got gradually wet. On a longer visit it would have been a problem.

The owners were happy to help with tours, hot springs spa visits etc. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank znkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It's affordable, the cabins are pretty, clean, and spacious, and you have two porches where you can sit and enjoy the many beautiful birds. Best of all is the familial feel to the place. Alvaro, the owner, takes great care of you. He'll book you tours, give you advice about where to eat, whatever you need. He was constantly checking in with us, making sure we were doing okay, without ever being intrusive. We met his nephew, his wife, and two of his three children during our three-night stay - he obviously has family all over La Fortuna and makes you feel like you're a part of it while you stay at the hotel. You even eat breakfast on the front porch of his house every morning! Stay here if you want a relaxing, comfortable place to come home to after all of your adventures around Arenal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Perfect little place for my husband and I and our two friends for our two night stay. Peaceful, beautiful, clean, comfortable .. what more can you ask for? A couple of minutes out of town by car, so more relaxing and quiet. The view of the greenery off the back porch is wonderful and you can hear the river in the background. We've been on the coast for so long we forgot how beautiful the jungle sounds are to wake up to and go to sleep to. This place is a great value. We would hghly recommend it to anyone wanting quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon and it was perfect for us. The cabin and grounds were beautiful and great to be out of the main area with a short drive into town for dinner, etc. The rooms were comfortable and Alvaro was very helpful. We had breakfast each morning at their home and it was delicious. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a more rustic and very nice place to stay. The views for the back porch are lovely and we saw the horses and many birds daily.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews