We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Country Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cerro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regina Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luigi's Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Jireh(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fortuna(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monte Real(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
San Bosco Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
506
87
16
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
87
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchfront porchchocolate tourcosta ricafamily that ownsthese cabinsclose to townmini fridgeamerican breakfastair conditioningmaintained groundseach morningvisiting la fortunabreakfast was deliciousthree nightsnice bathrooma great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 616 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It's affordable, the cabins are pretty, clean, and spacious, and you have two porches where you can sit and enjoy the many beautiful birds. Best of all is the familial feel to the place. Alvaro, the owner, takes great care of you. He'll book you tours, give you advice about where to eat, whatever you need. He was constantly checking in with us, making sure we were doing okay, without ever being intrusive. We met his nephew, his wife, and two of his three children during our three-night stay - he obviously has family all over La Fortuna and makes you feel like you're a part of it while you stay at the hotel. You even eat breakfast on the front porch of his house every morning! Stay here if you want a relaxing, comfortable place to come home to after all of your adventures around Arenal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Perfect little place for my husband and I and our two friends for our two night stay. Peaceful, beautiful, clean, comfortable .. what more can you ask for? A couple of minutes out of town by car, so more relaxing and quiet. The view of the greenery off the back porch is wonderful and you can hear the river in the background. We've been on the coast for so long we forgot how beautiful the jungle sounds are to wake up to and go to sleep to. This place is a great value. We would hghly recommend it to anyone wanting quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon and it was perfect for us. The cabin and grounds were beautiful and great to be out of the main area with a short drive into town for dinner, etc. The rooms were comfortable and Alvaro was very helpful. We had breakfast each morning at their home and it was delicious. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a more rustic and very nice place to stay. The views for the back porch are lovely and we saw the horses and many birds daily.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

How can you beat $50 per night for your own cabina, complete with front and back porch with hammock and chairs. This charming family run business has only 4 cabinas, perfect size. The grounds are lovely. Some of the best bird watching on our two week trip right from the back porch. A gentle walk to the river right out the back gate. Approx a mile from Fortuna town. Best for those with a car, but still doable with a taxi. Loved being outside the town centre with a more natural setting.
The owners wife will cook breakfast and serve on their outdoor patio(family home is right across the street). $7 per person.
Nice restaurant, decent pricing at Casa Luna hotel, walking distance (5 minutes) right up the road. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for end cabina for more privacy. I think it's number 4, best to double check.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose Hotel Cerro Azul for our La Fortuna accommodation based on their Trip Advisor reviews and were SO glad we did! Everything about this beautiful little place was excellent-- the setting, the cabins, the amenities, and definitely the owner/manager Alvaro-- and we'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay that's a little out of town and right in the middle of the Costa Rican wildlife!

First, the setting. Hotel Cerro Azul is located about 1.5km out of the town of La Fortuna, on the road to the Rio Fortuna waterfall. We didn't hire a car during our stay, and while we were initially a bit put off by the distance into town, we found it to be an easy 20 minute walk with stunning views of the volcano. I'm sure we would have been able to get taxis easily enough, had we wanted to, but we didn't even bother, it was that easy a walk. As mentioned, the hotel lies on the road to the Rio Fortuna waterfall, a road which also takes you to the start of the challenging (though rewarding) Cerro Chato hike. We never made it to the waterfall (we were too exhausted after the Cerro Chato hike to handle the thought of the stairs down!), but we heard many great things about it and I'm sure we would have appreciated its proximity to our hotel.

Being just that little bit out of town also meant that we were able to right in the middle of the Costa Rican countryside. The grounds of the small hotel (with only 4 cabins and a reception desk) are green and lush, decorated with many native plants. Next door/behind the cabins is a huge paddock with a beautiful horse, and we spent many hours lying in the hammock of our balcony, watching the many birds and squirrels go about their day. The small number of cabins meant that the place was always extremely quiet and peaceful, which is what you want to truly enjoy Costa Rica!

The rooms themselves are great. The beds were comfortable, TV had lots of cable stations, the fridge was nice and roomy, showers were clean and strong; everything was perfect!
And then there was Alvaro. The man is brilliant! So sweet and helpful, he was always happy to accommodate our every desire. He can arrange any excursion or activity you want, and gave excellent recommendations as to the best things to do during your trip. He was sweet enough to let us leave our things in our cabin for almost a full day after we checked out, and then organised for his son to drive us to our next hotel, just outside of town! He really is such a sweetheart.
Overall, a fantastic place to stay, if you want to get a true taste of Costa Rica (instead of being caught up in the mini-America that is La Fortuna), and highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews