We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations and Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Cerro Azul for three nights over Memorial Day weekend (May 28 - 31) as the first part of our Costa Rican vacation. When we visited the Arenal area we wanted to stay at a place where we felt like we could relax and it wouldn't be a resort with a bunch of tourists. Well, Alvaro and the Hotel Cerro Azul delivered! From making arrangements before we arrived to helping us plan (and getting us discounts on) which hot spring, canopy tour, or restaurant to visit Alvaro really was amazing. In addition to the lovely hospitality he and his family showed us, the accommodations were perfect and the setting was beautiful. We truly couldn't have asked for more.

Alvaro arranged all of our transportation ahead of time, but when our flight was delayed more than 2 hours coming in from the US we were worried that no one would be at the airport to pick us up. No problem; Alvaro was waiting with a smile at the airport in San Jose himself to pick us up. And when we arrived at the hotel his wife had coffee and snacks waiting for us. Such wonderful hospitality! Every morning we had breakfast on the front porch of Alvaro's house (across the street from the cabins) and it was so delicious!

As for the accommodations, they were great too. The cabins were built from trees on Alvaro's farm and they are really well made. They provided privacy and the back porch was so relaxing as it looked onto beautiful plants and flowers and a field where horses graze. They also have air conditioning which was nice to switch on while sleeping.

Just beyond the field where the horses graze is a path that leads down to the river which was another peaceful world itself hidden in the jungle. With such a great location, just outside of town with a wonderful view of the volcano and close to the LaFortuna waterfall which we walked up the road to, the Hotel Cerro Azul really exceeded all of our expectations.

We recommend this place to everyone and if we find ourselves in Costa Rica again we will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcteejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 579 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife, 5 young boys, and retired parents stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased with the accommodations and our overall experience. In order of importance to us; we felt secure, the air conditioners were icy cold, the shower's had endless hot water, the rooms were spacious, the wi-fi internet worked well, the resort is close to attractions, and last but certainly not least, the owner Alvaro and his dear wife were so friendly, accommodating and helpful. I even booked a tour through Alvaro because he offered a better price and it was convenient to do so. Also, like the pictures on their website, you have an excellent view of the volcano from their grounds. We took a family picture one morning without a cloud in the sky. My kids loved the hammocks, roaming the grounds, and playing in the stream behind the property. Notes: My parents saw a toucan from their porch. We took 3 rooms to house all of us and it was comfortable and affordable. I would have shared breakfast with Alvaro's family more than once but my children are so loud and restless that I didn't want to drive him crazy or disrupt others.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have televisions. If this is important then ask when scheduling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here our last 2 nights in Costa Rica.The cabins are simple,super clean,and very roomy.Wifi,a small refridgerator ,and AC, along with 2 comfy beds....what more could you ask for.
The owner was very helpful and informative.
I highly reccomend their breakfast.
Location is very nice,not far from la Fortuna,and close to local activities.
We plan on staying here again when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetskrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We were very pleased with our stay and wished we could of stayed longer. We are all ready dreaming of next time!

You can tell that the owner really cares about his business and his customers. And his wife makes an amazing breakfast....probably the best breakfast we had on our whole trip!! It is $5 extra but totally worth it. The owner can also set up tours at a discount. Unfortunately, we had ours already paid for but now we know for next time.

The bungalows were perfect. We loved the back porch with the hammock and chairs. One night we ordered pizza and set outside all night; it was very peaceful. In the morning, hummingbirds where neat to watch as tons of them landed on the tropical flowers in the back yard. Before we got to this hotel I was upset the budget didn't allow for Arenal Nayara. But Cerro Azul did not disappoint and now I would choose Cerro Azul and enjoy the nice hotel and the savings even if we had the money for Arenal Nayara. The internet, air conditioning, huge shower, tv, and back porch were the things that we liked the most.

If you go say hi to Alavaro for us!
Erick and Andrea

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This place is simply perfect. You have your own little "bungalow" with your bedroom and your bathroom. You also have a little balcony at the back with a hamac !!! You can relax in the hamac and just watch the birds (we saw tucans every mornings). You also have air condionner and a little fridge in your room.

Alvaro, the manager is very nice. He speaks english and don't hesitate to ask him questions about arenal and la fortuna. We booked tours with him (cerro chato hike and hanging bridges), which was very cool. We also went to the catarata (which we really recommend).

The breakfast is only 5 $ more and really worth it. His wife cook you a really good breakfast (we took the typical one), which include scrambbled eggs, platanos, fruits, rice with beans, juice, coffee and even little bread, like pitas. MIAM ...

You can go on internet as you wish, because Alvaro let you go on his computer !

The location is very good ! Alvaro will propose you some restaurants if you want in La Fortuna and you can also bring your meal "at your home" and eat it on your patio while you watch the birds and listen .... at the silence !

This place was perfect for us ...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimietlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in hotel cerro azul and love the place. The nice gardens, simple but spotless cabins, a porch on the front side and the back of the cabin with nice view made this place , very good value. Next to that Alvaro and his family were extremely friendly and helpfull. Our car broke and Alvaro went with us to various mechanics before we had the right specialist, and helped to pay a good price for the reparation.
The location is also very convenient; it is peaceful and close to the waterfalls but also only a 5 min. drive from town. A lot of other options were much in the direction of the volcano but far from town.
You can also book tours at the hotel, with a discount vs the nromal entrance fees. Last but not least: breakfast is really worthwhile!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTervoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here for for 4 nights in late February and had a great time. Alvaro & his wife Lorena were the perfect hosts. Like in most of the reviews Alvaro was amazingly helpful and helped us arrange trips, recommended places to eat and pointed out points of interest not only in the Arenal area.
Location wise, the place can not be better, it is on a quiet road on the way to a beautiful waterfall. It is 5 minutes from La Fortuna and also near some locations to do tours and zip lining, etc.
Breakfast is well worth the $5 and was probably the tastiest we had on our entire 3 week trip. The rooms are simple but very clean, the the back porch is definitely a great place to unwind and relax in the evenings, it was quiet and with great views. There is a stream at then end of the ranch that is worth the 5 minute walk. All in all, this is a great place to stay for the money and I have no reservations about recommending the place for an Arenal adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobile_marv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,002 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,371 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing