We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a homebase”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

La Terraza was a beautiful and peaceful place to begin our visit to Costa Rica. Jeanetta is very kind and will treat you like a member of the family, along with her wonderful staff. They were very flexible with our crazy schedules, impressed us with their breakfast services and paid close attention in details making us hard to leave at the end. Check out the garden in the back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Its people like you that make living here special. We appreciate your visit and sure hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you so much for taking out the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 297 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

La Terraza was a beautiful and peaceful place to begin our visit to Costa Rica. Jeanetta is very kind and will treat you like a member of the family, along with her wonderful staff. This was our first visit to Costa Rica, so it was nice when she arranged a taxi to be waiting for our arrival at the airport. Her taxi driver is very friendly and helpful as well, which we discovered was typical of the Costa Rican people. Our room was clean and had a nice balcony that overlooked a beautiful back yard and a creek that runs through her property. The breakfasts were delicious which included the Costa Rican beans and rice and fresh fruit, a perfect way to start a busy day. If you're looking for something away from the touristy places in a quiet setting with friendly people, you will love La Terraza.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Its people like you that make living here special. We appreciate your visit and sure hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you so much for taking out the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The guest house is a wonderful place to stay.We thoroughly enjoyed staying at a home where you were treated as family.The breakfasts were the best we had in Costa Rice.Jeanetta arranged for us to connect with a travel agent who arranged the rest of our 9 day trip.Our driver also arranged by Jeanetta was a true gentleman.Grecia is a wonderful community which gives you a snapshop of life in Costa Rica.WE would strongly recommend staying at La Terraza.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Remember when you think about the greatest masage you ever had that it happened in Grecia!! Smile. Hope that you get a chance to return in the near future. If you have any pics to share please send them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Jeanetta and the staff (Cristina) couldn't be more helpful making my whole family feel welcomed. They were very flexible with our crazy schedules, impressed us with their breakfast services and paid close attention in details making us hard to leave at the end. Being a "native" from Grecia, Costa Rica, I have to admit that I was totally taken by surprise with my experience in La Terraza. Loved it every single momente that we were there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

It was exciting having you visit. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to spend time with you and your wonderful family. Please be sure to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I spent several days at the La Terraza Guest House and loved every minute of it. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Jeanetta and her staff were so warm and inviting. The food was amazing. I felt so at home here. Like I was visiting my favorite aunt. I can't say enough about how much I love this place and the people!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you so much for the comment. Its people like you that makes being in this kind of business such a treat. It was a great opportunity to serve you. We sure hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were recently on a family travel adventure to Costa Rica and Peru (We are from the UK). We initially stayed at La Terraza on our first night in Costa Rica, as a pitstop before heading to Nosara. I had read about Jeanetta years ago and said that if we ever went to Costa Rica we had to meet her. We loved Jeanetta and her amazing team so much that, after travelling around other parts of Costa Rica for a couple of months, we returned to La Terraza for a 3 week stay in the apartment. Jeanetta, Cristina, Jacqui, Gerardo and Gabriel treated us with the utmost kindness, warmth and grace. As well as feeling like we were 'home for the holidays' (complete with parental style advice from the inimitable Jeanetta) we also felt like king, queen and little prince. This feeling was especially apparant at breakfast time, when Cristina would spoil us with the most delicious food, made and served with pure love: 'el sabor del amor'. Our little boy didn't want to go home without her...and neither did we! Jeanetta is an incredible woman, full of spirit and a mischievous sense of humour. She is highly skilled in knowing what guests need for an enjoyable stay and she makes sure she provides it. We also forged a good friendship with one of the other guests.The apartment itself was spacious, beautiful, high quality, with a lovely terrace overlooking the spectacular gardens. We were able to complete a lot of work during our stay (including locating a perfect venue in the Canary Islands for running our holistic retreat centre) thanks to the free internet. The sounds of the river were relaxing and we spent a lot of time wandering round the grounds admiring the fruit trees, plants and flowers. As the many butterflies and birds fluttered, we felt completely safe, nurtured and at peace. Thank you very very much. For everything. Love and blessings from the 3 of us. Ruthy, Rod and Oscar (aka 'Terremoto') :-) xxx

Room Tip: All the rooms are great so you can't really go wrong. The apartment overlooking the garden is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Ruth, Rob and Oscar we had a great time with you. It was touching to see him get up from the breakfast table ask for more bacon and give Cristina a huge hug. We fell in love with you and your family. We really wish you guys the best. I sure hope we get the chance to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Terraza Guest House. Jeanetta, the owner, was gracious, entertaining and very helpul in assisting us in getting around. The cook, Christina, is fabulous, the meals were absolutely delicious. We also used Jeanetta's driver Geraldo, he was friendly and an excellent and safe driver. The rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean. This bed and breakfast is probably one the cleanest places I have ever stayed. The grounds are beautiful and the river that runs behind the property will lull you to sleep at night. You must go for a walk over the brand new bridge to look at the river up close and to enjoy the beautiful scenery which also includes fruit trees. I highly recommend La Terraza Guest House, you will not be disappointed. We are already arranging our next trip for 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittygirlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coelectronic, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hi Julie. It was so exciting meeting you both and we are looking forward to your return this year. Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. Love ya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Finca Vibran Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#2 of 9 in Grecia
456 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villas Escondidas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House B&B

Address: Calle Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range: $86 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful La Terraza Guest House, located in San Roque de Grecia, Costa Rica, just a 35-minute drive from the Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). Located in the agriculturally-rich province of Alajuela, Grecia is known as the cleanest city in Central America. Nestled along the picturesque Vigia River, La Terraza Guest House offers upscale amenities and attention you would expect to find at an excellent hotel, but at a budget-friendly price. At La Terraza Guest House we believe our guests want to get more, not pay more. Over 300, TripAdvisor reviewers agree on the superior quality of La Terraza Guest House, from your host to the experienced and specially-trained staff of trusted employees. Boasting splendid surroundings and awesome accommodations, La Terraza Guest House, has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Terraza Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House B&B Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing