We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place I love to go!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terraza Guest House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place I love to go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

During the past few years I've stayed at La Terraza 4-5 times and I always return to this lovely spot. The rooms are quite amble, the sound of the running stream on the property makes for a refreshing peace. I like having a mini-frigerator, coffee maker and microwave oven in the rooms so I can have snacks and treats when I am ready. The gardens are beautiful and the owners and staff are always responsive to my needs. I particular love to be able to sit on the main house patio and enjoy breakfast, refreshments or work on my laptop. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
I don't know if the our business plan included making guest so comfortable until they decide to make Costa Rica their home. You never expect that a person is going to like visiting so much until they decided to stay. Our beautiful weather is hard to resist. Thanks for your years of patronage, we had hoped you would be a customer for life but then you decided to buy a house here. Oh well, just send us all of your visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
126
29
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paget, Bermuda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week in Jan of 2012, and for sure I will be always happy to suggest others stay at La Terazza in Grecia. Carlos was so nice, polite and helpful, Christine couldn't be kinder and Jeanetta was just a hostess with the mostest. We lingered over breakfast chatting each morning and learning about each other and the area and it was just so very enjoyable for us and from my friend that had joined us for the week. We had plenty of room in our apartment to entertain our friend for evening drinks and meals and she so enjoyed her lovely room just above us. We all enjoyed sitting on the porches in the evenings with our wine. Yes do stay in Grecia at La Terazza you will not be disappointed.
Pat & Ian Adderley, Bermuda

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
What always amazes me when I read our guest reviews is that the guest never say how great they were. We had a wonderful time, we enjoyed serving you, thanks for the opportunity. We appreciate your taking time to give us a review. We look forward to your return trip. If you think of something we could have done better, drop us a line. Someone elses observation is always very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I had corresponded with the owner, Jeanetta Owens on the net so I had an inkling of her wit and charm before I arrived. Her Inn is spotless. The guestroom I stayed in was well appointed; with 2 rocking chairs on a small balcony overlooking the jungle hillside that abuts the back of her property. Her property is lovely and groomed with many flowering plants and trees - and a small bright yellow footbridge that crosses a rushing mountain stream. Breakfast served on the porch by an attentive Christina was fresh fruit, toast and jam, good CR coffee or a full eggs and whatever else you might want breakfast. I was traveling alone and Jeanetta and I held a discourse each morning about the days travel plans. I wish I could have stayed a month or two. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time to share with others your experience here with us at La Terraza Guest House. We appreciate your review, it was a pleasure to serve you. Please come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Even though we stayed at La Terraza for only one night, the lovely owner, Jeanetta, made us immediately feel like we were family. She was always available to answer any questions and give us information on the area. Her staff, Christina and Carlos, were always friendly and smiling. The accomodations and grounds are really beautiful. Loved being able to sleep with the patio doors open listening to the rushing river in the back yard! The breakfast was wonderful, Christina was willing to fix whatever we wanted! We left wishing we could have stayed for more than one night. We will definately stay at La Terraza next time we are in the Grecia area, and look forward to visiting with our friend Jeanetta!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott and Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, we enjoyed your brief visit but you did promise us that when you return to Costa Rica you will stop by here first. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we are so happy you enjoyed our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Experiencing La Terraza B&B was even better the second time around! The owner, Jeanetta Owens, was as warm and welcoming as I remembered and, as always, served as my authority on all things Costa Rican, especially real estate. During my stay, Carlos served as my driver and guide for a weekend side trip to several beaches and proved why he's the best at what he does. He knows the roads - no small feat in Costa Rica! - and all the best out-of-the-way eateries for enjoying local delicacies. Speaking of delicacies, La Terraza’s cook, Cristina, served me the best tamale I ever ate! Her scratch-made breakfasts every morning on the relaxing terrace overlooking the lush grounds of La Terraza, made every day of my visit extra special. Can't wait for visit #3!

Room Tip: La Terraza's website features copious photos of the B&B so you can tailor your room choice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
When you first talked to me about your mission and reason for returning to Costa Rica to improve on your Spanish, I was a little apprehnsive. Not because you were not a nice person but because not everyone can adapt to the culture here in Costa Rica. Most of us don't understand what it means by third world.

Thee was something about you that made me know if I would match you up with a very special Costa Rican family to live with them for a month, you would make it and you did. In fact a strong friendship developed. It is people like you who have made being a B&B owner something very special . Thanks for your patronage and we sure hope to see you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The great reviews are deserved. Jeanetta seemed to have thought of everything: massive and tasty welcome meal, varied breakfasts, pool table, jacuzzi overlooking the garden (unavailable when we were there because it was being refitted), four fluffy towels, hair styling set, TV, rocking chairs on the balcony, strong wifi, nice shower, proper toilet roll (a rarity in Costa Rica) and a driver who'll take you anywhere for the same price as a taxi. Homely would be the best word to describe the rooms. Ours overlooked the gardens which had fruit trees - you can pick your own oranges - and a river. Jeanetta also sat with us to chat at breakfast - she was a real treat. It's a little way to town (bus or taxi needed) but there isn't a lot there anyway. I guess people stay here as a base for day trips (zoo, Poas, airport etc). We paid $95 for our room which we thought was just about right - but unbeknown to us, the quote we got over the phone did not include tax so we ended up paying $15 more per night. That would be our only criticism after a really happy stay. Can't imagine you'd find anything nearly as good in the area.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
What a compliment, thanks so very much we appreciate your comments. We will make sure to indicate to our guest that there is a 13% tourism tax. Sometimes we assume that our guest have read our rate information and they know about the tax requirement. Thanks so much for letting us know that making sure people know there is a tourism tax is very important.

Our returning customers have a lot of sepcial benefits so please come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

When I started looking at accommodations in Grecia, La Terraza sounded delightful and it was, from the beginning to the end of our week-long trip. We were first "wowed" by the rushing of the river and the palm trees outlined by moonlight when Carlos drove up from the airport, and continued to feel relaxed in the natural setting day and night. Our deck overlooked a lovely and well-tended tropical garden. We felt well taken care of by Jeanetta, Christina and Carlos. It was wonderful having them "show us the ropes" and we always felt safe and well taken care of - like visiting a friend or relative. Jeanetta is really fun and interesting to talk to. I was very grateful to Carlos for driving us around on the bumpy roads in the crazy traffic, I'm not sure I could have handled that, especially on our first visit. I really think I can easily say that it was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Our 25th anniversary arrived this year, and we decided some time ago to celebrate by going to Costa Rica. When Jeanetta heard that, she said she was going to have a party for us! And she did - she invited some Americans who had moved to Costa Rica and we really enjoyed talking to them about their expat experiences. The food at that lunch, and at breakfast every day, was fantastic - made with care by Christina. I can't promise you that you will have a party at La Terraza, but I can promise that you will enjoy your stay and you will want to return as soon as possible. Pura vida!

Room Tip: We loved the apartment, didn't see any of the other rooms but I'm sure they are nice as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks for the opportunity to serve you. I'm a romantic by nature, after many years of a wonderful marriage, it is hard for me to pass up the opportunity to celebrate with others their very special day. Keep loving each other and come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
7.6 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
7.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.0 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House B&B

Property: La Terraza Guest House B&B
Address: Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast with mini guest suites and three vacation apartments. We are located very close to the San Jose Airport. Our guest house features luxury accommodations, great views, privacy, good service. Each suite is furnished with Nicaraguan wicker and bamboo, the beds have orthopedic mattresses. Unlike other guest houses our en suite bathrooms are furnished with large fluffy towel sets, tropical scented large bars of soap. Open the sliding glass doors leading to the private balcony. Enjoy the views of the gardens and river. Upon arrival to the guest house we will prepare a meal or a snack for you upon request at a minimal fee. We are conveniently located just 2 km from Grecia Central and 30 minutes from SJO. Airport transportation is 40.00 US each way. A full hot custom breakfast is included in the price, other meals can be prepared upon at an additional cost upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Terraza Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House B&B Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing