We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time, still a charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Third time, still a charm!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We love La Terraza and Jeanetta, Cristina and Carlos. Not necessary to rent a car, taxis into town are about 3-4 dollars and for longer trips, Carlos will take us in the mini van. We got picked up at the airport this time, complimentary...just lovely. The gardens and the rushing river are so relaxing. We have a vacation home in Grecia about a mile away from La Terraza and we may never stay there, more convenient and lovely at La Terraza.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DinahMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
There are some people who come visit with us, who treat us so very special and make it impossible NOT to please them. Cristina, enoyed cooking for you, I think you may have put on a few pounds while visiting with us. You both make it impossible not to please. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return. The chocolate cake Cristina made was probably the key to our success or was the banana bread? We've enjoyed your visits with us and look forward to seeing you again and again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
133
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

La Terraza has a wonderful B & B! Each apartment has it's own exterior entrance door so you have the feeling that the entire estate is yours. The balcony is large enough for chairs and a table so you can relax over the beautiful gardens. I like that the main house was welcoming with a wonderful staff, wonderful food,free internet access on their computer in the common room of the main house. We were even offered to use Jennetta's free calling to the USA. We could not have been more pleased by the room and staff at La Terraza. We rented a car but another couple at that was staying there had one of the staff drive them into town and pick them up at the airport. The staff here is extremely helpful if you have questions about traveling in Costa Rica. The room also had a microwave small refrigerator & coffeepot. They supplied us with microwave popcorn. We enjoyed our stay! J and J San Diego California

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJsandiegoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thanks so much for your review, but you were wonderful. It amazes me how simple it is to satisfy some of our customers. Your comments encourage us, Carlos our gardener and Cris our cook /housekeeper, will be so happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we wanted to be able to see what the country looked like away from the cities. The owner, Jeanetta, made our trip very enjoyable and easy by picking us up at the airport as part of the room charge and provided a normal Costa Rican meal on our arrival at her lovely home. The apartment is very comfortable with a nice kitchen/living room and bedroom with a private veranda overlooking the grounds, bridge over a small river, and a large shower in the bathroom. The morning breakfast is what you want to eat, with locally grown tree ripened fruit prepared fresh every morning. Jeanetta's knowledge of Costa Rica is as close as asking a question and Carlos, her "can do everything guy" knows how to get everywhere if you want to be spoiled and driven to different areas. If you are more adventure minded, there are rental cars available in Grecia. (CR has solved the problem of tourist mishaps with rental cars by removing the special license plates and stickers). In a nutshell, you will find out more about CR by talking with Jeanetta and her guests over morning breakfast than all the brochures printed will. Going to sleep and waking up to the sounds of a small river is priceless!

Room Tip: Stay a little longer and bargain for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiote68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thanks so very much for your review. Our goal is to please our customers in every way possible. Your review let's us know that our hard work is appreciated. Every time we think about cutting benefits like airport transportation and the welcome meal upon your arrival, we evaluate which is more important. Is having a cheap rate as important as having a place that is truly a Bed and Breakfast. Our intention is to meet the needs of our guest. With responses like yours, to our services and our accommodations we realize that we are meeting our goal.
Customer appreciation helps us to continue giving top quality service and accommodations regardless to the competition that offers less. We want customers like you, who appreciate the best and expect it. It is because of reviews like yours that we have been known throughout the years for excellence rather than being known as the cheapest place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed overnight here after a week on the Nicoya Peninsula, wanting to see more of Costa Rica than the beach. We also wanted to be near the airport, but not too near. Jeanetta was extremely helpful and hospitable, providing with travel advice, transportation, even ordering a pizza for us when we didn't feel like going out for dinner. We stayed in the apartment, which was very comfortable and very clean. The garden view from the balcony is beautiful. The location is about a 5 or 10 minute drive from the town of Grecia. If we had more time we would have spent time in the town and the environs, which were very picturesque.

Room Tip: the apartment has kitchen, sitting & dining rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscanynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

La Terraza is a beautiful,quiet and very comfortable Band B. The Service is impeccable and personalized. The owner, Jeanetta, is an amazing lady and she really understands the importance of complete service for her guests. You will not be disappointed !
Thinking of moving to Costa Rica ? Many retirees and almost retirees come here to find out what Costa Rica has to offer. Jeanetta has lived in Costa Rica for over 10 years and she will gladly share her knowledge with you.
La Terazza is the Best !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoerneBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
One of the things I have learned being in this business is how to really BE an innkeeper. In my opinion, an innkeeper makes sure to provide quality care and accommodations and takes responsibility to consider the welfare of the client over everything. Our guests our very important to us! You have provided an example of why it is so important to respond to each customer's needs, whether it is a change in plans, health issues, or providing retirement information. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay here with us for your entire Costa Rican visit!

Perhaps more people would travel if they knew that their health and welfare would be a priority and if they experienced any problems adjustments would be made. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at La Terraza Guest House! It was a pleasure to know you and to serve you.
Jeanetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Having just spent a week in Costa Rica, I felt compelled to comment on our stay at LaTerraza............

It was our first trip to Costa Rica and upon arrival at the airport there was Carlos with a sign with our names on it to greet us.

Upon arrival at LaTerraza we were greeted by Jeanetta. It was late evening and we were shown to our 'quarters' by this charming woman. Upon our awakening in the morning I can only say our surroundings were breathtaking....................... The greetings by the staff in the morning were so very pleasant. Breakfast served on the terrace was outstanding.

Our trip to Costa Rica was certainly enhanced by our stay at LaTerraza and being hosted by Jeanetta and her entire staff.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at La Terazza for four nights, two on each end of our 14 nights vacation in Costa Rica. The setting is absolutely beautiful , quiet and relaxing and the rooms are immaculate. Jeanetta has travelled extensively and is in tune with her guests needs.
The delicious breakfast on the patio consisted of eggs, fresh fruit, biscuits, orange juice and coffee.
We enjoyed exploring the town of Grecia before heading out to Limon province and again on our last day in Costa Rica.
Carlos met us at the airport as promised- a great service when tired from the full day of travelling. He also drove us to the airport at 4:30 am!
Following our 10 day stay in Manzanillo we returned to La Terraza after a 7.5 hour drive. Christina offered to prepare a dinner of salad and pasta which saved driving back into town for a meal. It was greatly appreciated! The next day she also prepared a wonderful hot lemon/ginger/honey drink to help with our cold symptoms. We hope to return to Costa Rica again to explore other areas and will definitely return to La Terraza!
Thanks again Jeanetta, Christina and Carlos.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
It always makes me happy to see our wonderful staff recognized! We do try to always go above and beyond with our service, and it just would not be possible without our trusty staff. So thanks for recognizing their efforts. I'll make sure Carlos and Christine both see this review.
Thank you so much for taking the time!
Hope to see you again soon.
Jeanetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
7.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
822 reviews
7.6 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
641 reviews
12.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
1.8 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#1 of 9 in Grecia
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House B&B

Property: La Terraza Guest House B&B
Address: Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast with mini guest suites and three vacation apartments. We are located very close to the San Jose Airport. Our guest house features luxury accommodations, great views, privacy, good service. Each suite is furnished with Nicaraguan wicker and bamboo, the beds have orthopedic mattresses. Unlike other guest houses our en suite bathrooms are furnished with large fluffy towel sets, tropical scented large bars of soap. Open the sliding glass doors leading to the private balcony. Enjoy the views of the gardens and river. Upon arrival to the guest house we will prepare a meal or a snack for you upon request at a minimal fee. We are conveniently located just 2 km from Grecia Central and 30 minutes from SJO. Airport transportation is 40.00 US each way. A full hot custom breakfast is included in the price, other meals can be prepared upon at an additional cost upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terraza Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House B&B Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing