We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed overnight here after a week on the Nicoya Peninsula, wanting to see more of Costa Rica than the beach. We also wanted to be near the airport, but not too near. Jeanetta was extremely helpful and hospitable, providing with travel advice, transportation, even ordering a pizza for us when we didn't feel like going out for dinner. We stayed in the apartment, which was very comfortable and very clean. The garden view from the balcony is beautiful. The location is about a 5 or 10 minute drive from the town of Grecia. If we had more time we would have spent time in the town and the environs, which were very picturesque.

Room Tip: the apartment has kitchen, sitting & dining rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuscanynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

La Terraza is a beautiful,quiet and very comfortable Band B. The Service is impeccable and personalized. The owner, Jeanetta, is an amazing lady and she really understands the importance of complete service for her guests. You will not be disappointed !
Thinking of moving to Costa Rica ? Many retirees and almost retirees come here to find out what Costa Rica has to offer. Jeanetta has lived in Costa Rica for over 10 years and she will gladly share her knowledge with you.
La Terazza is the Best !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoerneBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

One of the things I have learned being in this business is how to really BE an innkeeper. In my opinion, an innkeeper makes sure to provide quality care and accommodations and takes responsibility to consider the welfare of the client over everything. Our guests our very important to us! You have provided an example of why it is so important to respond to each customer's needs, whether it is a change in plans, health issues, or providing retirement information. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay here with us for your entire Costa Rican visit!

Perhaps more people would travel if they knew that their health and welfare would be a priority and if they experienced any problems adjustments would be made. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at La Terraza Guest House! It was a pleasure to know you and to serve you.
Jeanetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Having just spent a week in Costa Rica, I felt compelled to comment on our stay at LaTerraza............

It was our first trip to Costa Rica and upon arrival at the airport there was Carlos with a sign with our names on it to greet us.

Upon arrival at LaTerraza we were greeted by Jeanetta. It was late evening and we were shown to our 'quarters' by this charming woman. Upon our awakening in the morning I can only say our surroundings were breathtaking....................... The greetings by the staff in the morning were so very pleasant. Breakfast served on the terrace was outstanding.

Our trip to Costa Rica was certainly enhanced by our stay at LaTerraza and being hosted by Jeanetta and her entire staff.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at La Terazza for four nights, two on each end of our 14 nights vacation in Costa Rica. The setting is absolutely beautiful , quiet and relaxing and the rooms are immaculate. Jeanetta has travelled extensively and is in tune with her guests needs.
The delicious breakfast on the patio consisted of eggs, fresh fruit, biscuits, orange juice and coffee.
We enjoyed exploring the town of Grecia before heading out to Limon province and again on our last day in Costa Rica.
Carlos met us at the airport as promised- a great service when tired from the full day of travelling. He also drove us to the airport at 4:30 am!
Following our 10 day stay in Manzanillo we returned to La Terraza after a 7.5 hour drive. Christina offered to prepare a dinner of salad and pasta which saved driving back into town for a meal. It was greatly appreciated! The next day she also prepared a wonderful hot lemon/ginger/honey drink to help with our cold symptoms. We hope to return to Costa Rica again to explore other areas and will definitely return to La Terraza!
Thanks again Jeanetta, Christina and Carlos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

It always makes me happy to see our wonderful staff recognized! We do try to always go above and beyond with our service, and it just would not be possible without our trusty staff. So thanks for recognizing their efforts. I'll make sure Carlos and Christine both see this review.
Thank you so much for taking the time!
Hope to see you again soon.
Jeanetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The Terraza is a private own facility that has everything you need during your vacation. The room is comfortable and it has hair dryer, iron, iron board, microwave, refrigerator and more. The Terraza Bed and breakfast not only has the comforts of home but it located in a nice area. In the Terraza you will have the most wonderful breakfast in the mornings and the owner and her staff are great. I would definitively stay here again and I will recommend to my friends...thanks Ms. Owens and Cris.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Thank you for the lovely review. Feedback keeps us on our toes! When we started, one of our major goals was to make sure we provided everything we had always wanted when traveling. Thanks for letting us know we succeed at least in some areas!
Best,
Jeanetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was my second trip to CR and staying at the La Terraza Guest House.The accommodations were great, beautiful views from our balcony, breakfast was made to order and fantastic. Could have sat at the breakfast table til noon, just to enjoy the surroundings and the food. Jeanetta set up a trip to a coffee plantation with Carlos doing the driving. Best way to see the country. The staff was great in handling all of our requests. We have traveled extensively, and we would rate La Terraza with a 10+. Great job, Jeanetta! See you in December.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookedonCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2010

It's always especially nice to get great reviews from our returning guests. I can't wait to see you again. I do agree about the lovely feeling of relaxation here in Grecia. I spend a lot of time enjoying coffee on my terraza. Thanks for sharing some of that time with me.
Thanks again, and we look forward to the challenge of meeting or exceeding your expectations on your next visit!
Jeanetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We had never been to Grecia, so I spent some time emailing Jeanetta, the delightful proprietress of La Terraza. She responded promptly to even general questions in a frank & open manner, which helped in planning other aspects of our trip. Arriving after dark, we didn't see the stunning grounds at night, but still enjoyed the charming room with balcony from which we could hear the intriguing sound of a river close by. At dawn we made coffee in the room & spent an hour ogling the scenery & flights of parrots before reluctantly going for breakfast. We feasted on fresh fruit, eggs to order & the local delicacy of a smoked pork chop. Then we waddled through the gardens & over the river on the property for another hour, finding a new delight every few steps. Jeanetta's right-hand man, Carlos, could not have been more accomodating either, & is often available for a lift into town. It was well worth the extra dollars for such a terrific introduction to the Central Valley!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah1598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We do take pride in our lovely gardens and are so glad you enjoyed them. Thanks for noting what a great asset Carlos is, too. He is indeed my right hand man, and I'll make sure he sees the review! Besides driving, he's also largely responsible for the lovely appearance of our gardens.
Hope to see you again soon!
Jeanetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
7.4 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
367 reviews
7.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
877 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#2 of 9 in Grecia
454 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Escondidas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House B&B

Address: Calle Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range: $76 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful La Terraza Guest House, located in San Roque de Grecia, Costa Rica, just a 35-minute drive from the Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). Located in the agriculturally-rich province of Alajuela, Grecia is known as the cleanest city in Central America. Nestled along the picturesque Vigia River, La Terraza Guest House offers upscale amenities and attention you would expect to find at an excellent hotel, but at a budget-friendly price. At La Terraza Guest House we believe our guests want to get more, not pay more. Over 300, TripAdvisor reviewers agree on the superior quality of La Terraza Guest House, from your host to the experienced and specially-trained staff of trusted employees. Boasting splendid surroundings and awesome accommodations, La Terraza Guest House, has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Terraza Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House B&B Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing