We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B”
Review of Posada Mimosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grecia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Mimosa
Ranked #7 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed here for our first night after arriving at the airport. It was approx 30 minutes from the airport. The location is somewhat remote, which we enjoyed as you feel like you are no where near the city. The hosts Tessa and Martin were excellent hosts and nice to talk to. The rooms were clean and spacious and the grounds of were amazing. The views were beautiful. They have a covered area beside the pool that you can enjoy snacks and drinks at any time of the day even in the rain. We were travelling during the rainy season, but still enjoyed this B and B as we could spend our entire evening outside looking at the lights of the city in the distance and the other beautiful scenery. I would definitely recommend for your first or last day in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stvmicSt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My daughter and I arrived in the rain, so we did not get a chance to use the incredible pool--it is so beautiful and there is a magnificent view. There are gardens and lots of birds.

Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed reading a wide selection of magazines in the room. There are lots of dogs--four, which is kind of fun.

Breakfast was yummy--homemade cinnamon rolls, fruit, coffee and juice. The staff was pleasant and polite. The owners were away on vacation, so we did not get a chance to meet them. There is no restaurant, so we had dinner in Grecia (not the best).

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the airport--about 25 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed in this lovely property during a recent investment trip to the Grecia/San Ramon area. My friend and I both loved our spacious rooms in the B&B proper and also took time to look at the terrific rental cottages where I will probably stay on my return. The owners were absolutely lovely and had sound input on the area where they have lived for over fifteen years (Tessa wrote a great book about their early experiences.)

Breakfast at the pool was awesome - a nice assortment of cereals, fruits, eggs and bread with no "fussing". The property is amazing - serene, great views and absolute privacy. The price seemed like a bargain. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Original Big Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I've stayed twice, will soon stay and third time, and have wholeheartedly recommended Posada Mimosa to friends who have enjoyed their stays there as well. Why? Very comfortable rooms, beautiful view, great pool, tasty breakfast, super convenient location and very inexpensive.

Tessa and Martin were welcoming owners, and Tessa books are great reads. On my second trip they were away but the manager Carlos and his father were absolutely wonderful; warm welcomes and very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA ROSA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2008

By missing our turn to the town of Sarchi, we came upon the highlight of our Costa Rican vacation... Posada Mimosa. It was our good fortune that the owners of this B&B accepted our last minute call for a room. Amidst 15 acres of tropically landscaped gardens is the setting of this B&B where rooms with high ceilings and front and rear porches await guests. We were given a cabin which was private, tucked away from the main house and had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a full kitchen and a lovely large tiled patio. A garden paradise surrounded our unit and a hiking trail lead down to the river. Breakfasts prepared by the staff and served pool side deserve an A plus for quality and presentation. In addition there wasa bar available for drinks. As lovely as the place was, the highlight was getting to know the owners, Martin and Tessa, a vibrant couple with international experience in travel, business and the arts. They went out of their way to accomodate us. No other place we stayed in Costa Rica came close to this setting and gracious hospitality. Absolutely a place I'd recommend especially to birders, or those wanting a tranquil beginning or end to their Costa Rica journey as it is about an hour away from the airport

  • Liked — the grounds, the owners
  • Disliked — the remote area, too far from restauants, not a town I would spend much time in.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLorida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

The arrangements with Posada Mimosa poisoned our Costa Rica vacation experience. The owners were unkind and inflexible. They were upset because we arrived at 6 pm instead of 2 pm ... we were delayed at the airport after flying in from the U.S., but apparently that was a grave offense. They had confused our reservation, and were rather inflexible in adjusting it. Definitely weren´t friendly, and made negative comments about the places we came from. Never stopped complaining about our miscommunication. They asked for the entire payment upfront in cash, but got even more upset that we had the sum devided between both currencies ...corones and dollars. That was an insurmountable issue for them as well.

The facility is beautiful, however their rules are ridiculously stringent and idiosincratic. And if the owners don´t take a personal liking for you - look forward to an unpleasant stay. We came to Costa Rica for a relaxed stay, but this hassle made us leave the Posada Mimosa B and B prematurely.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank thecosmopolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

This B&B has it all. It is surrounded by beautiful flowers and has the most beautiful views(I can't even explain how beautiful the views are). The owners are very wonderful and will help you with anything you need. The rooms are very big and decorated very well. This B&B is a great get away to relax on the porch and do nothing. I would recommend if you travel to CR to stay at this B&B and experience these beautiful views...

  • Liked — the beautiful views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ebobbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grecia hotels
0.0 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#1 of 9 in Grecia
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Escondidas
0.0 mi away
Finca Vibran Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Mimosa

Property: Posada Mimosa
Address: Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Mimosa Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing