We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel Hotel in Grecia, Costa Rica”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Mangifera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mangifera
Ranked #5 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hostel Hotel in Grecia, Costa Rica”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were only there for one night, and it was New Year's Day. There was a very big celebration with a band in the park just across the road from our window, and it was very noisy. However, I enjoyed the band and celebration, and got to walk around at night to stores and restaurants by myself (senior lady) that were very nearby and still open. To my delight, I found a Burger King and a store to buy a large duffle bag with wheels, since my backpack seemed to be getting heavier and heavier. The beds were hard, but that is because of the type of hotel it is. Although we saw two roaches, it was amazing clean considering that they had a garden that opened up into the hotel kitchen and lobby area. We did not get to stay for breakfast, so I don't know how that was, but they let us cook ourselves some eggs in the kitchen before we had to leave early and told us where to catch the next bus.

Room Tip: This is a hostel hotel, so there are rooms with a private bath, or dorm type rooms. If you like bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
13
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grecia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights at the beginning of our Costa Rica tour and 1 night at the end and must say, one of the best hostel we´ve ever visited!!! Cacho and Hans, the owners, are very polite young guys how do everthing to make their guests feel comfortable! The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and beautiful, a really good choice for this price! The location is great, as its located in the center of grecia, directly in front of the curch with its beautiful park. Theres also a terrace, opend for everyone whis rockingchairs and hammock and view over the park! Behind the house is a really idylic garden, also with hammocks and tables to relax or enjoy the great atmosphere! Breakfast is tasty and they give you as much as you want without paying more for it. Wifi and a computre is also available. If you pass through Grecia stay at least one night in this nice quiet city in this great hostel! The people are demasiado pura vida!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 22Linn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was a nice little hostel, with a great location in Grecia (note it is right across the street from the church). The location makes it a little more difficult to get to and from Volcan Poas, as when taking the public bus we had to pass through Alejuela. ( Grecia is a FAR nicer place to stay than Alejuela, very quaint and clean little town) The downstairs common area is really nice and the back garden is great. They have original artwork on all the walls which adds a nice touch. We had a private room with a private bath, the room was right on the street - there was a lot of street noise, I had to wear earplugs to get a good nights sleep. The kitchen was small and dirty when we arrived, there were a lot of left over dishes and very few dishes to work with for cooking meals. Our room was very clean and in great condition, looks like it was recently renovated. The people working at the hostel were very kind and friendly but gave us conflicting and utlimately wrong instructions on how to get to Poas, luckily we were doubtful and ventured out early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elzhogun
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Cacho, was an excellent host. He offered to pick me up from the airport when i arrived in san jose. The hostel is well put. They have a huge communal area to hang out. The beds are comfy and showers are clean. i overall had an excellent experience. If you are passing thru grecia, stop by for a night!! Pura vida.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzhogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

It is a clean and beautiful hotel with a nice garden but it can be noisy especially if the room is on the street side and the people working there are not really helphul. Our room did not have any key.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you are in the alachuela area and you looking for a nice place to stay you shoud visit this hostel .
it's in the beautiful town grezia right next to the park and the church . Whereever you think you go on your trip take a stop at this hostel . The owners are very cool and friendly . They help you as much as they can and it's funn to hang out with these guys. I had a very good time there .
Pura Vida


Greets and save travels Andy =)=)=)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nice and clean. Right in town across from the steel church. Don't forget to go to the Marcado
( open market) 2 blocks from the Hostel. You can buy fresh fruit and other food for your meals or eat right there, which is what we did. Nice that you have your own bathroom and provided towels. Breakfast of eggs, fresh bread and fruit was yummy. Owner Marco is a very nice host for this warm and friendly place. I deducted one star for the sleep quality because it was very noisy as we were on the street side. I brought ear plugs and they worked fine. Again, very nice place to stay especially for the value. We stayed here one night, drove to the other side of Costa rica then drove back and stayed here again a few days later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
14.8 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mangifera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mangifera

Property: Hostel Mangifera
Address: costado norte del parque de Grecia, Grecia 20301, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mangifera 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangifera Hostel offers you and excelent choice to stay in Grecia, affordable rates, located in the heart of Grecia. only 25 minutes from the airport, comfortable beds, breakfast included, Kitchen, beautiful Garden where you can relax in contact with nature. PURA VIDA Atmosphere!!!.Come and visit us!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Mangifera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mangifera Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing