We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taiwan
1 review
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying at Mango Valley. The work that they put into the place is very admirable. It was spotlessly clean. The tours that they offered were reasonably priced.
We really enjoyed sitting on the veranda admiring the mountain scenery and listening to the birds!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnylynn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
287
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Super-clean B&B, perfect location (on the way to Poas Volcano), away from city crime and noise, beautiful nature setting. A wonderful couple from Canada runs this friendly B&B. Our son was playing with the very affectionate black puppy for hours while we enjoyed piece and quiet inside our cottage.

The cottage was not very big, but it had everything one might need. Even wine glasses were provided! The view from our balcony was simply stunning: coffee fields dotted with bananas, jungle and mountains.
We enjoyed talking to other guests and hosts over the breakfast (it was delicious, by the way).

I can't imagine a better way to start our Costa Rica adventure than staying in Mango Valley!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneP025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

While planning our trip around the central valley of Costa Rica, we searched for a small B&B/Hotel in the Grecia area. Our search produced what sounded like the perfect location in the central valley. Our hosts, Julia and Vladimir, greeted us upon arrival and we were shown to our delightful and charming cabin with a balcony overlooking a lovely valley and mountains. Not all cabins have a balcony but ours did. Our stay included an initial 3 days, travel, and then a return for an additional 6 days. Overall our 9 day stay was excellent. Our hosts were charming, helpful with local attractions, and caring. Mango Valley Hotel is a great choice for the area around Grecia. The cabins are of a comfortable size with kitchenette. We enjoyed our breakfast selections, especially local fruit, and conversations with fellow travellers and our hosts. We also cooked light meals while there. Overall our stay was excellent and we were treated with great care and interest. Our hosts were the best and we can highly recommend this hotel to fellow Costa Rican travellers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

After reading some reviews here we decided to try Mango Valley for our first stay in Costa Rica. It was better than we could have imagined. Besides having a great clean place with awesome views, Julia and Vladamir went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. We learned alot about the area over wonderful breakfasts. We stayed there our first three nights then we went to explore other areas...returning for our final night before we left. We not only found a great place to stay for our next visit to Costa Rica, we have made some new friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were looking to stay in a hotel or a B&B outside of the town center (to avoid noise) and after considering several options decided to book a room in Mango Valley. What a great choice. The cabin has the most amazing view and we slept like babies. The B&B is set among coffee fields and overlooks the jungle and mountains. The weather was perfect as well. We went to see the Poas volcano and toured the Doka coffee plantation.

The breakfasts in Mango Valley were the best we had in Costa Rica. We didn't want to eat again till dinner time.

The knowledgeable hosts from Canada were the most helpful. They recommended places to visit around Grecia and gave us great advice about local culture.

I was also surprised how well Internet was working. In the afternoons we were both enjoying sitting on our private balcony with laptops sipping coffee and enjoying the view. They have a Wi-Fi hot spot, so Internet connection is available everywhere. The speed was faster than we have at home!

We were very impressed by this little boutique B&B.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirk_wvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Vladimir and Julia run the B&B just outside of the town of Grecia. Well traveled and
knowledgeable, they were very interesting to talk to. The cabanas are new, clean and
comfortable with a great view. Julia was an exceptional host and provided transport to
the Poas volcano where we had a spectacular morning with clear skies and a great view of the volcano and good walk on the trail. Julia also took us to the Doka coffee plantation where we took a tour of the coffee been processing area. Julia and Vladimir are both fluent in English and Spanish which is critical for directions and communicating with the locals.
This B&B is very reasonably priced and a good home base to explore this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkhamm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We were planning to stay in Mango Valley hotel for our first night, but we liked it so much that we decided to stay for 2 more nights.

From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. Spotless room, beautiful view from the balcony (that we enjoyed oh so much with our pre-breakfast and afternoon coffee), very warm and friendly hosts, perfect weather, plus lots of things to do in the area made us believe that we indeed came to paradise! What a beautiful country!

If you are looking for a small, quiet and adorable place not far from the airport, yet away from the city noise, I suggest you stay in Mango Valley.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
9.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finca Vibran Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing