We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“respite from the chaos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“respite from the chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We absolutely loved our entire trip to Costa Rica but found Grecia to be bit too busy, busy for our tired psyches. However, as we drove out of town toward Hotel Mango Valley we felt the stress falling away and when we arrived we were warmly greeted by our gracious hosts, a charming young couple from Madrid. The cabins were lovely, the view gorgeous, and even the drive through the coffee farm to get there was a treat. The Mango occupies a lush hillside overlooking beautiful coffee farms and luxuriously green hills all around. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners had terrific advice about where to go for dinner without going back into town. All in all very pleasurable.

Room Tip: The cabin on the corner of the bluff overlooking the coffee farms has a magnificent view and catches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Sandra and John!
Thank you very much for your comment :)
We hope you have found your dreamed area in Costa Rica and soon you move to the happiest country in the world!
Take care! Be happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    47
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
281
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

You would need a video to showcase their beautiful BnB. The very first thing we loved about Mango Valley was the close proximity of parking and unloading luggage into our spacious and comfortable room. Jose was there to meet us when we pulled in the property. Mango Valley was picture perfect and it is located next to a beautiful coffee plantation.
Maite, Jose's better half, is warm, gracious and has a great sense of humor! They are Ex Pats from Spain and contribute to the Costa Rican culture with their "tico" like friendliness. They have an excellent breakfast and will give personal tours of the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Awesome place to stay if you are visiting the area between San Jose and the Poas Volcano! The setting is absolutely something out of a Disney movie. Vistas are simply incredible. The owners are so friendly and accommodating. They even loaned us a sweater since my partner had forgotten hers. Rooms are simple but very nice, clean, and cozy including kitchenettes and free wi-fi. There are tours available through them. We went to an amazing, secluded waterfall. After a short, beautiful walk through jungle, you have to navigate about 400 steps to get to the bottom of the waterfall but it is well worth the trip. The drive itself to get there has fabulous, cloud forest scenery but not for you if you get nervous on narrow, windy roads close to a cliff. Full breakfast that is very well done. Perfect place for small workshops if you want to do sessions outdoors in a magical setting.

Room Tip: The three more expensive cabins have a fabulous view and one is equipped with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The owners were very welcoming as we pulled into the resort . Tired from trip to Costa Rica, they ordered a delicious dinner for us and had a nice bottle of wine! Jose is a great cook as the breakfast is wonderful! Great way to start our adventure and highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and friends for 2 nights at the end of our trip. The rooms are individual bungalows that are spotlessly clean, well maintained and comfortable. The 3 end units each have a private patio with view of the coffee plantation and valley. Worth the additional cost if they are available.

Our bungalow had a main kitchenette/dining area, a good size tiled bath and separate bedroom with queen size bed. The floors are tile, and the bath has a walk-in shower with good water pressure and hot water. The kitchenette is thoughtfully equipped with microwave, fridge and the needed tools to prepare a simple meal.

As others have stated, the real highlight of this hotel are hosts Jose and Maite. They are delightful and truly make you feel at home. The location of the hotel is in a residential area at the top of a ridge so a bit tough to find. However, follow the directions on the website and you'll have no problem. The setting allows you to see and "feel" community life. If you do not feel like driving down the hill into Grecia, Maite and Jose have put together menus from several local restaurants for delivery. After a long day sightseeing, it is worth the small delivery fee to enjoy a meal in, sit on your deck with a glass of wine, or enjoy visiting with your hosts in the comfortable glassed-in communal room. The perfect relaxing evening. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Poas rooms with the balconies are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We rented a room with a back porch. Very nice setup. Clean rooms, beautiful view of the Poas Volcano over the hillside, with coffee farms in between.

Customer service was awesome. Probably the nicest hotel owners I have ever come across.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Amazing cabins on the bottom of Poas Volcano. Great service and amazing people taking care of any single detail. Ask them for any information or doubts about your trip because they will help you with anything. 10/10 experience

Room Tip: any of them are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoberRiolobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
8.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.7 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing