We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
La Mirada, California
2 reviews
“Amazing views”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was a pleasure staying at Hotel Mango Valley. Maite and Jose were the perfect hosts.
The weather at Mango Valley is closed to perfect and the views were amazing.
The cabin was spotless and well equipped.
The only reason why I gave 4 stars is because even though breakfast was very good I would have preferred a Costa Rican breakfast.

Room Tip: The Poas cabin had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Rocio!

Thank you very much for the days you stayed with us. Actually your comment about breakfast made ​​us think about it and did the test: we serve "gallo pinto" cooked by Nuria.

Unfortunately we have discovered that only Costa Ricans like the "gallo pinto" and we decided to keep the breakfast as it was (all nationalities like it).

Anyway if you return to Mango Valley I promise we will serve you typical Costa Rican breakfast. We want happy guests!

A hug for Carlos, Fale, Lupita and you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
284
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaghticoke, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here one night after our arrival from the airport. When we realized how wonderful it was we wished we had planned more time here. The room was great with a kitchenette and fresh local coffee for us. The grounds are beautiful and the cabins are quaint, roomy, clean and comfy. The greeting that Jose gave us made us feel like we were home. Jose and Maite are a wonderful couple who made our stay feel like we were with family rather than just a B & B. We sat outside at night and listened to the night sounds overlooking the city lights in the distance. The night sky was incredible and we walked the grounds and up the road to see the sun come up. There was a beautiful rainbow to greet us too. I cannot say enough good things about this little gem outside of Grecia. We were very happy to have found it and are grateful to Jose and Maite.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the pool have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Paula and Terry!

Curiously, we have talked more before and after your stay than during your night with us :) Too bad it was only one night...

You never know what the future holds but maybe you return to Costa Rica and, if so, come and see us! We take a "cafelito" (cup of coffee) while enjoying the gardens. And this time no rush!

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, your words are that injection of energy we need to keep improving every day!

A big hug for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for a 2 week vacation in Costa Rica. Located a few minutes outside of Grecia, this fantastic B&B provided so much more than just a great central location to see Costa Rica from. The beautiful one bedroom cabin had everything we needed to live in if we wanted to just retire there :) the view from the private patio watching humming birds while we were sitting in the rocking chairs almost turned us into whinos :) the location is just far enough up the hill from Grecia to provide serenity and incredible views of the stars.
Taking day trips from our cabin allowed us to see volcano to beach attractions across the country while enjoying their fantastic hospitality. The plates of fruit as a pre breakfast snack are enough to fill some people but forge on because you still have bacon and eggs and toast and hash brown afterwards. Don't forget the excellent coffee from this volcanic coffee paradise. Overall value for this B&B is outstanding although if you lounge around the pool without sunscreen you'll get a sunburn so they need to do something about that :) Maite thinks Jose should get a donkey for kids like me who visit and we agree :) thank you for the fantastic care you took of us :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Warren!
Before I say anything else: we miss you!!! I've been slow to write to tell you two news:
- We have no donkey and we will not have LOL As much as Jose has a campaign with our guests he is not going to convince me
- We have shade at the pool! Your comments helped us decide and we built a covered pergola so that no one else get burn. For now it is covered with fabric, the creeper with flowers will cover completely and it is going to be very beautiful. Remember that plants grow here at full speed...

We hope that Nathalie and you come back to visit you one day, we had a great time with you. To be Nordic you have the heart of a Latino: passionate!

A big hug with love
Maite and Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen Guy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Small but comfortable guest houses are located in a wonderful location high in the hills. Owners are English speaking (from Spain) and are extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is fabulous! The only downside is that it is way up high and a bit hard to find at first. If you have a GPS you can use the coordinates they supply - the easiest way to locate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Al!

Thank you very much for your comments and for your visit. Sidney and you are a couple very happy and fun. We laugh a lot wiith Sidney explaining the Costa Rican football game at the bar!

Hope all went well in San Jose when you left.

A hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First, let me just say what great people Maite and her husband Jose are. The two of them are so welcoming, pleasant and genuine. Mango Valley is so relaxing and beautiful. The staff working at Mango Valley - Nuriya and Javier as well as the gardeners are very polite and pleasant as well. Mango Valley is definitely going to continue to thrive and prosper for many years to come with Maite and Jose at the helm. Maite and Jose are truly very dedicated hard workers and ensure that their guests at Mango Valley are most welcomed and enjoy their stay while at Mango Valley. The cabins were clean and equipped with all that was necessary and if anything was needed, it was promply supplied. I wish Maite and Jose all the sucess with Mango Valley and their new life in Costa Rica. I miss their friendly talks and smiles, I miss them both, and hope to go back some time in the near future to see them again, all the best Maite and Jose sincerely, Joanne Anderson

Room Tip: I recommend the Poas cabin on the end with a deck , facing Poas Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1953jojocory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Joanne!
You know that we hope you come back to visit us.You still have plenty to see here! Do not know how many gave us encouragement to know that you liked our progress with the ranch, the best reward for work is the smile of the guests :)
Thanks for encouraging us in business, we are happy but sometimes it's hard being away from our family. Our guests are our family now, and we have the best family in the world! lol
A big hug for Debbie and for you, be happy girls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Marete, the owner and hostess, waited for us till we arrived after dark. Our cabin was spotless the beds comfortable and the sheets and towels perfect. But it was the morning that held the big surprise. We woke to bird songs, grounds that were brightly flowered, a cool but spotlessly clean swimming pool and a few trails that lead to the coffee plantation surrounding everything. Hint: you can order a home cooked meal for $12 (US), served in your room or in the dining area. It was the best food I have had in Costa Rica. The meal included a salad, a main course and coffee or a soft drink. And for 7 bucks they will provide same day service for a huge bag of laundry. Go there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeLoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Day by day, Jose and I feel like in paradise when the sun comes and we love you could enjoy it too. I regret that you could not stay more days with us...
We always take care that our guests feel at home so dinner could not be less! Thank you so much for your compliments, there's no greater joy for a chef to know that their food is appreciated!
A big hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Firstly, the setting of the hotel right in the center of a coffee plantation is perfect! As a result it is very private and quiet being well away from the road. Jose & Maite have done an excellent job presenting the cabins in a very clean and practical manner which included refrigerator and hot plates if needed. The gardens and pool set as they are below the cabin level are a treat, birds abound in the gardens and hills around the property. Breakfast made to order each morning was a treat.

If you decide to visit them please insure you download the written direction that take you from the nearby town of Grecia, it will save you time and GPS misdirection! My wife and I highly recommend a stay at this lovely spot with a great pair of owners who gave us that 'personal touch' which really topped off the whole experience! Ray & Trudy Norsworthy

Room Tip: There are two types of cabin the normal one (which we had) was perfect for our shorter stay, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Ray and Trudy!
Are you already both at home? Surely Trudy has many adventures to tell you Ray!
Few guests are as loving as you.Trudy's hugs are amazing! She made us feel at home (although our house is in Europe lol).
Thank you very much for sharing your happiness, it was a pleasure to share with you our favorite spots in Costa Rica.
We'll be waiting when you come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
821 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
1,220 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
15.1 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing