We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of peace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gorizia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Mango Valley Hotel is a charming place to stay at. The owners, Maite and José, are from Spain but they'll be happy to help you organize your day. They do offer tours for a reasonable price, but they can also give you some great advice about where to eat, where to go and what to do. Or you could just chill out by the pool area, which is bigger than what it looks like in the pictures. At night (after 6 PM) you can enjoy the stars. And the only thing you can ear it's the birds singing. This place is really an oasis of peace: no loud sounds, just a few rooms and visitors from all around the world (Canada, Australia, Europe). The perfect place to relax. And it's easily reachable from the Juan Santamaria San Jose airport (they do offer a comp lemenary pick up for 5+ nights stay). Breakfast is really good and it does include loads of fruits (pineapple, mango, banana), eggs and toasts plus juice and coffee. It's really good and tasty, cooked on the moment. At the end of your stay you'll feel like you've become part of this family. Prices are really resonable and the place is perfect, either if you're looking for some adventurous or quiet time. I'd stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: The colibrì cottage is really clean. It's got a huge bathroom with a huge shower. There's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrica1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us! It has been a pleasure the long talks in the garden (while my cake burned lol), those laughs for your long hours of sleep and share knowledge from other countries. I wish you the best of luck with your new project back home and hope you can visit the antipodes as soon as possible!
You know that if you go back to Costa Rica we will be waiting with a big smile. A hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    47
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
281
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent only 1 night in this hotel, but we would have loved to stay longer. Nice bungalow with a kitchenette, big bathroom, stunning view, hummingbirds in the garden, nice pool, good breakfast. The owner couple was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Charming place run by a very friendly couple from Spain. Rooms are nice but would have like a mattress pad on the bed and wash cloths in the bathroom. A nice breakfast is included every morning. The pool was not yet ready to be used and the jacuzzi was empty. Television was sporadic but we were not there to watch TV. A little difficult to find but worth it. Very reasonably priced. The new owners seem to be working constantly to improve the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel, all comments will help us improve.
We have mattress pads and wash cloths available for our guests but we never knew you wanted some. Please, next time you visit us feel free to communicate us your needs.
The pool is perfectly clean and available to all our guests, we don't really know what you mean when you say that "was not yet ready to be used". Regarding the jacuzzi you could certainly see the technician who came to check it during your stay. Unfortunately things in Costa Rica take longer than in the U.S..
The TV worked without problems. As I mentioned you at breakfast we were burying cables for safety and it was necessary to cut the broadcast for an hour.
We continue to improve the hotel for your comfort, we hope to see you again.
Best regards.
Hotel Mango Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Located just outside of a cute town called Grecia, on the top of a hill overlooking a gorgeous valley. Individual cottages with private bathrooms and kitchenettes. Some cottages do have better views than others, though. Wonderful pool, though a little cold. The couple that own the place are the sweetest people that really make sure that you have the best time of your life while there. Wonderful breakfasts included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuesday C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I've never been called "sweet" but there's a first time for everything, thanks! LOL (in Spanish "sweet" is the same word as "candy"). We had fun with you, every moment was a new surprise, how much energy in two people! It seemed impossible to see Costa Rica whole in ten days but if anyone can do these are you!
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is just magical. Hard to find, here's a tip: Go to Grecia Center and head to Carbonal and keep asking as you move up the mountain. The views are life changing, the owners Jose Luis and his wife are the absolute nicest people. The place is quiet and you get a complementary cooked breakfast every morning. This place is little heaven. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro_D962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st-jean
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

A little hard to find thank god for trip adviser and a gps. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are little cottages on top of a valley with great views. The rooms are clean. A place to relax. Near poas volcano and paz water falls and the city of grecia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We traveled here for our honeymoon from Christmas Eve to the new year, not fully knowing what to expect because we had learned a few weeks before that Hotel Mango Valley had new owners. We arrived at night and realized we accidentally booked a room with two twin beds for our first night, but it was still a very nice cabina with a great bathroom. When we woke up and looked out the window, we gasped and wondered if we were somehow in Paradise. For the rest of our trip, we stayed in the Morpho cabin with the AMAZING view of the mountains and cities far from the hotel. On the last two days, we moved next door to the Poas cabina, which had a separate bedroom and kitchen. I can recommend all of those rooms, especially Morpho (for the view and the jacuzzi) and Poas (for the cabin layout).

Mango Valley was the perfect place for rest and relaxation, which we needed a lot of after our humongous wedding (especially since I got sick on the plane and had to recover for a few days!). It was also a great place to use as a base to explore the central valley of Costa Rica. Jose and Maite, the new owners who recently moved to CR from Spain, went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our trip. Seriously, they are two of the kindest people I've ever met! They took us on tours to Catarata del Toro, an amazing 300-foot waterfall in an extinct volcano crater that is one of Costa Rica's hidden secrets, and La Paz Waterfall Gardens. They also made sure we knew where the best spots and restaurants were located in the nearby towns of Grecia and Sarchi, and explained how to navigate the public bus system (it's so cheap!). Try going to the Farmer's Market on Friday afternoon/Saturday morning for a taste of pura vida. I already miss our great conversations with Jose and Maite!

For travelers coming during the holiday season, note that you definitely want to arrange for a car rental before you get here. We thought we would just rent when we arrived but all the cars in nearby Grecia were already rented. Also, many attractions are closed (we weren't able to go to Volcan Poas on our last day because it was closed on New Years day, Catarata del Toro was closed then and on Sundays too, etc).

Nevertheless, the hotel grounds are so beautiful that they'll keep you occupied. If you go down the terraced land platforms alongside the mountain, you'll see a less manicured landscape that leads into a forest. Active, hiking-loving people, make sure you go exploring there to see a lovely creek and mini-waterfalls! Walk around the coffee plantation too.

The breakfasts were a highlight of our trip. Eggs, coffee, hot chocolate, hash browns, toast and jam, fresh local fruit - YUM! Also, the nearby restaurant, Villas Cipreses (only open on weekends and holidays), was delicious. The owners were extremely nice and one of them spoke english too. Try the arroz con pollo and fajitas!

We definitely want to return to Costa Rica one day and will make sure to stop at Hotel Mango Valley again. Love this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suraya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
8.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.7 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing