We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can you say wonderful?”
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can you say wonderful?”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is just magical. Hard to find, here's a tip: Go to Grecia Center and head to Carbonal and keep asking as you move up the mountain. The views are life changing, the owners Jose Luis and his wife are the absolute nicest people. The place is quiet and you get a complementary cooked breakfast every morning. This place is little heaven. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro_D962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
286
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st-jean
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

A little hard to find thank god for trip adviser and a gps. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are little cottages on top of a valley with great views. The rooms are clean. A place to relax. Near poas volcano and paz water falls and the city of grecia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We traveled here for our honeymoon from Christmas Eve to the new year, not fully knowing what to expect because we had learned a few weeks before that Hotel Mango Valley had new owners. We arrived at night and realized we accidentally booked a room with two twin beds for our first night, but it was still a very nice cabina with a great bathroom. When we woke up and looked out the window, we gasped and wondered if we were somehow in Paradise. For the rest of our trip, we stayed in the Morpho cabin with the AMAZING view of the mountains and cities far from the hotel. On the last two days, we moved next door to the Poas cabina, which had a separate bedroom and kitchen. I can recommend all of those rooms, especially Morpho (for the view and the jacuzzi) and Poas (for the cabin layout).

Mango Valley was the perfect place for rest and relaxation, which we needed a lot of after our humongous wedding (especially since I got sick on the plane and had to recover for a few days!). It was also a great place to use as a base to explore the central valley of Costa Rica. Jose and Maite, the new owners who recently moved to CR from Spain, went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our trip. Seriously, they are two of the kindest people I've ever met! They took us on tours to Catarata del Toro, an amazing 300-foot waterfall in an extinct volcano crater that is one of Costa Rica's hidden secrets, and La Paz Waterfall Gardens. They also made sure we knew where the best spots and restaurants were located in the nearby towns of Grecia and Sarchi, and explained how to navigate the public bus system (it's so cheap!). Try going to the Farmer's Market on Friday afternoon/Saturday morning for a taste of pura vida. I already miss our great conversations with Jose and Maite!

For travelers coming during the holiday season, note that you definitely want to arrange for a car rental before you get here. We thought we would just rent when we arrived but all the cars in nearby Grecia were already rented. Also, many attractions are closed (we weren't able to go to Volcan Poas on our last day because it was closed on New Years day, Catarata del Toro was closed then and on Sundays too, etc).

Nevertheless, the hotel grounds are so beautiful that they'll keep you occupied. If you go down the terraced land platforms alongside the mountain, you'll see a less manicured landscape that leads into a forest. Active, hiking-loving people, make sure you go exploring there to see a lovely creek and mini-waterfalls! Walk around the coffee plantation too.

The breakfasts were a highlight of our trip. Eggs, coffee, hot chocolate, hash browns, toast and jam, fresh local fruit - YUM! Also, the nearby restaurant, Villas Cipreses (only open on weekends and holidays), was delicious. The owners were extremely nice and one of them spoke english too. Try the arroz con pollo and fajitas!

We definitely want to return to Costa Rica one day and will make sure to stop at Hotel Mango Valley again. Love this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suraya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As other writers wrote, it's a really nice quiet, remote place. The owners are warm and inviting. There is a nice kitchen in each cabine. The ground are beautiful and the view of Costa Rica's central valley is exquisite

We were not able to see Poas Volcano due to the weather.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTheTravellerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a very special place for travellers who prefer remote beauty over the touristy crowds. The setting is quiet, lovely and off the beaten path. However, if you need a dose of activity, Jose and Maite will take you to all the popular areas because they offer a variety of tours that include Poas Volcano, canopy ziplining, and the wonderful Catarata del Toro - an amazing waterfall that for some reason most crowds are unaware of.
During my one week visit, I learned quite a bit of Spanish, and our knowledgeable hosts taught me a great deal about the land and beauty of Costa Rica.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently traveled to CR with my brother and had a great stay at Hotel Mango Valley. Matte (sorry I'm sure I misspelled that) and Jose were wonderful hosts. Matte picked me up at the airport and was warm and welcoming even though I was a couple hours later than expected. My brother and I shared a very comfortable cabina with twin beds. One of the best things about Mango Valley is the incredible view of Poas volcano and the valley below. It also has a swimming pool and hot tub and beautiful grounds to stroll around. Being so close to Grecia, it's also a great starting point for a lot of day trips - like Sarchi, Zarcero and a beautiful waterfall and hummingbird garden at Baja del Toros. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We are a young couple, spent one night at Mango Valley. Safe area, beautiful surrounding with great view. Room/apartment with double bed, table, TV and huge cupboard, separate bathroom with nice and big shower and toilett, separate kitchen with fridge and all you need for cooking. Lovely balcony with view over valley. Very nice swimming pool, garden area and jacuzi!!
All in all fine and very good breakfast as common in Costa Rica (Toast - toasted if wanted, butter, marmelade, fruits: watermelon, pineapple, papaya, scrambled eggs).
Moreover very helpfull and extremely friendly young owners!!
Definetly recomendable!!
Insider tip!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
15.1 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing