We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mango Valley B&B: A real find among B&B's in Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #2 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Mango Valley B&B in the Carbonal section of Grecia, Costa Rica and were very pleased with our stay. Everything about this place is really nice, the cabinas are practically new; ours had a small kitchen w/fridge, a whirpool tub in bathroom, satellite TV and a great view overlooking the valley. This B&B is located among a grove of coffee trees and is a quiet place.
We didn't rent a car but the B&B is at the last bus stop & we caught the bus into town which costs about 300 Colones each (one-way). A taxi back cost about 5,000 Colones.
Breakfasts were great.... eggs, bacon, yogurt, toast, fruit, coffee. Owners Julia and Vladimir are nice people and helped out with arranging private driver for half-day trips to nearby Poas volcano & Doka Coffee Plantation.
The Mango Valley B&B is a splendid place to stay as the owners have really made this place an excellent B&B. We will certainly consider stay there again if our travels bring us back to Grecia.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mango Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 451 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

We loved our stay at Mango valley. The cabin was very comfortable, brand new construction with Satellite TV, hot showers etc. The view from our cabin was beautiful, mountain ridges and coffee plantations galore. We saw and heard so many different species of birds. The mountain air is cool at night and we slept very well. We will surely return to this little oasis. The owners, a friendly couple with a young baby are very nice, cooked a great breakfast for us and gave us a bunch of plant cuttings to take home. Pura Vida at it`s best!

Louise and Sheel

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou309247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Mango Valley for our first and last nights in Costa Rica. It is close to the airport yet far enough away to enjoy the beauty of the countryside. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip: lots of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast. The cabins are immaculately clean and very comfortable. Vladimir is a very kind and helpful man. He helped us out when we had made a mistake with our booking. Thanks again, Vladimir!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uberfrau31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Hotel Mango Valley – Grecia, Costa Rica
By Charles Akin

On February 3, 2011 my wife and I returned to Costa Rica for our second visit. Three things distinguish this trip from our first one.

1. Our first visit was for a vacation and an exploratory trip. We enjoyed the country through the eyes of a tourist, and as a potential place to retire. We did the tours and taxis bit. On our second visit, we stationed ourselves 8 kilometers from Grecia, in the mountains overlooking the Poas Volcano valley.

2. We relied almost exclusively on the public bus system for travel during our second visit. What a pleasure that turned out to be. The buses were clean and comfortable, not to mention very reliable and affordable. A thirty five dollar taxi ride could be made by bus for about $2.50.

3. We stayed in a beautiful Tico style cottage at the Hotel Mango Valley Hotel. The room may not be have the luxuries of a five star facility, but it is the perfect example of the peaceful serenity that is Costa Rica.

The hotel consists of the owner’s home, a utility building, a small kitchen with dining room, three adobe-style cottages, and three wood cottages. Each has an awesome view of the beautiful Poas Volcano valley. The valley is largely covered with coffee plantations, and serendipity of botanic beauty everywhere.

The cottages come with enough amenities to make your stay very comfortable, although, you will find some things lacking. For example, none of the cottages have telephones, (I consider this a good thing), and not all of the units have broadcast television programs, some only have a television with a DVD player and extensive DVD collections.

The cottages had exactly what we were looking for clean, secure, and a comfortable place to start and end our day. Each unit has a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, 1 counter top gas burner, and coffee maker.

Breakfast is included in the nightly rate. Each breakfast was a tasty delight consisting of fresh fruit, sliced tomatoes, eggs, sausage and bacon, hash browns, toast and coffee/juice. The meals were prepared and served by Nuria, a local single mom who was always friendly, cheerful, and eager to help us to use the little Spanish that we know. She was also our housekeeper, a job that she did thoroughly every single day. This lady is extremely honest. She did not take the tip that we left on our first day because she did not know that it was intended for her.

Anyone who has ever read my articles or reviews knows that I report factually. That said, I want to point out 1 pro and 1 con. First the con! If you plan to walk and use buses like we did, you must be in fair physical condition. The walk from the cottages up to the main road is “uphill” for several hundred meters.

And now the pro! Our host, Julia and Vladimir are some of the best folks I have ever met. This thirty something couple, go out of their way to make sure that each guest has everything they need to make their visit enjoyable. They really take pride in their hotel and their service.

Julia and Vladmir work all of the time, and are raising a new infant son, Daniel, at the same time. You working couples know what a challenge that is! Fortunately, these young intelligent, entrepreneurs do both jobs very well.

I must admit to being somewhat intrigued by this young couple. They were born and raised in Russia, then moved to Canada before eventually settling in Costa Rica. They are well traveled, and speak Russian, English and Spanish with relative ease.

When I write a review, I do not rate with a 5 star system. I realize that how others may rate a place depends on their lifestyles and expectations, and that varies from person to person. But, I can tell you that I certainly recommend Hotel Mango Valley for those who want to experience the true Pura Vida of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Julia picked us up and took us back to the airport for nominal charge.
She gave us great tips about the area and Costa Rica even though we have been to the country many times.
She hooked us up with a local taxi driver who took us round several sights for a reasonable fee and moreover no stress driving.(These roads are not easy to drive to say the least)
Accommodations were very comfortable with a lovely view.
If you want a clean friendly comfortable place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petewilliams415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The B&B is located on a hillside in the middle of a coffee plantation. Incredible views. The cabins are gorgeous. Makes for a very relaxing setting. The owners, Vlad and Julie are very knowledgeable about the local area and attractions. There is a lot to see and do in the area. You are only about 30km from the peak of Poas volcano. The botanic gardens in Sarchi are spetacular, and the coffee tour in Naranjo is very informative and be sure to buy some of the coffee, it is wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsmith1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

the hotel was a little hard to find but worth it... gps thank you......the hosts are very helpful with any question or ideas for food etc... it you are going to Cosat Rico and would like to stay out of San Jose this is the place... about 40 mins north west.... we would stay again ...loved the views of the coffee beans and while there we saw a rainborw from our porch....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
682 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
76 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range: $63 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing