We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great close to the airport hotel”
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mi Tierra
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Mi Tierra is a great place to stay when arriving and departing SJO. An inexpensive $7 taxi trip takes you to this very clean and hospitable hotel. Ivanna and Robert are excellent hosts. The hotel has a small cute pool area, a good place to relax after traveling. They serve a very good breakfast. The rooms are fairly quiet for Alajuela and price is very affordable. We would be disappointed if we did not get stay here when traveling into or leaving CR

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently traveled to Costa Rica for 10 days over Christmas with my husband and his mother. I booked ALL of our lodging based on Tripadvisor reviews.

This review is just for the rooms with shared bathroom.

Our first and last stop was Mi Tierra. I chose this place due to it's close proximity to the airport, the incredibly cheap nightly rate and the reviews on trip advisor, of course. The inn was perfectly close to the airport and not too difficult to find after picking up our rental car and using the GPS to find it. They allowed us to park our car within the gate on the property the first night on the way in. On the way out we parked our car around the corner in a gated lot which Mi Tierra paid for.

We booked the only two rooms that share a bathroom. The bathroom is in the hallway a few steps from the two rooms. None of us ever used the shower in the bathroom so I cannot comment on it. But the bathroom was fine. The rooms were fine but the curtains were quite ratty. The beds were pretty comfortable. There was bunk beds and one queen bed in each room. The down side was that the rooms were a bit noisy and fairly bright without a way to block the light out even at night. However for the price, $35 (single) $40 (double) everything was perfectly acceptable.

The breakfast was fantastic! We were very impressed with our first breakfast in Costa Rica, we wished we could have enjoyed the breakfast on our way out but our flight was too early. There is wi-fi but it only works in the common room down stairs. There is also a communal computer with internet in the common room which worked just fine. However they did not have a printer and we could not print our boarding passes on our way out which would have been really helpful.

There are two nice city parks, one being central park within short walking distance along with several fast food eateries and a grocery store.

One of the front desk guys was super nice and helpful but the other we experienced was just kind of nice but had no information about anything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mi Tierra is an inn located in the heart of Alajuela, CR. It features a peaceful court yard with a pool, dining space, and a welcoming schnauzer named Cleo. It is only a couple of blocks from the center of town (Catheral, Parque Central, market, buses, etc all within five minutes walk), but is none the less a respite from what can be a lively city.

The staff is very friendly, patient with gringos, and makes a wonderful breakfast. They are quick to help you set up adventures for you, or advise you on them, though they tend to encourage the easier more touristy ones, so if you want to do some things outside of the norm, you may need to have a basic plan before arriving.

Rooms were sufficiently equipped, kept very clean, and a good size. The mattresses are not going to win any awards for support, but that is the only real down side of this place. My wife and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This modest hostel is just a ten minute / $3 cab ride from the main San Jose airport, so it’s a great place to stay on the way in or out of the country or when meeting others coming in late. There is always a receptionist on duty, there are several local bus stations nearby if you’re heading to or from San Jose, and there is a small pool in the courtyard, perfect for cooling off at the end of a hot day. Complimentary breakfast is served in the courtyard every morning, complete with tea or coffee, fruit, bread, and eggs freshly prepared any style. The rooms are small but fine for a short stay, and there is a common area with couches and a computer station for guest use. Wireless is available in the common area and courtyard only (I couldn’t connect from my room in the lower wing). The staff is friendly and helpful with directions and advice on nearby restaurants and bars.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a small hotel within easy reach of the airport and in the heart of alajuela. We arrived after a late night flight and were delighted with our quiet room for 4. The hosts are a very special family with many interesting tales of their kayaking adventures and the walls are adorned with their art. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, directing us to a great italian resturant just round the corner and near the main square. Considering how peaceful it was there, you would never have guessed a vibrant town surrounds you. Breakfast was fresh and filling and after sitting by the pool ,listening to the baltimore orioles and admiring the bonsai trees in the beautiful garden, we relcutantly left to head south. A great budget resting place with secure parking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Mi Tierra is everything we look for when staying close to an airport. It is convenient, clean, very reasonably priced and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. It's location in Alejueala is walking distance to many good restaurants and stores. Unlike downtown San Jose, you feel safe walking the streets. Roberto also does guided tours in Costa Rica, speaks very good english and is a lot of fun.
We live and work in Costa Rica and have looked for something like this for years. Thank you very much Ivana, Roberto and Warner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harvey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best! I have stayed several times and they always recommend the best things for the conditions & weather. Great location close to the airport great rates, with a pool. 5 star service with great prices. Gracias Cacho can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. Entre Calles 3 Y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Tierra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing