We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great close to the airport hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mi Tierra
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great close to the airport hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Mi Tierra is a great place to stay when arriving and departing SJO. An inexpensive $7 taxi trip takes you to this very clean and hospitable hotel. Ivanna and Robert are excellent hosts. The hotel has a small cute pool area, a good place to relax after traveling. They serve a very good breakfast. The rooms are fairly quiet for Alajuela and price is very affordable. We would be disappointed if we did not get stay here when traveling into or leaving CR

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    27
    14
    20
See reviews for
20
61
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently traveled to Costa Rica for 10 days over Christmas with my husband and his mother. I booked ALL of our lodging based on Tripadvisor reviews.

This review is just for the rooms with shared bathroom.

Our first and last stop was Mi Tierra. I chose this place due to it's close proximity to the airport, the incredibly cheap nightly rate and the reviews on trip advisor, of course. The inn was perfectly close to the airport and not too difficult to find after picking up our rental car and using the GPS to find it. They allowed us to park our car within the gate on the property the first night on the way in. On the way out we parked our car around the corner in a gated lot which Mi Tierra paid for.

We booked the only two rooms that share a bathroom. The bathroom is in the hallway a few steps from the two rooms. None of us ever used the shower in the bathroom so I cannot comment on it. But the bathroom was fine. The rooms were fine but the curtains were quite ratty. The beds were pretty comfortable. There was bunk beds and one queen bed in each room. The down side was that the rooms were a bit noisy and fairly bright without a way to block the light out even at night. However for the price, $35 (single) $40 (double) everything was perfectly acceptable.

The breakfast was fantastic! We were very impressed with our first breakfast in Costa Rica, we wished we could have enjoyed the breakfast on our way out but our flight was too early. There is wi-fi but it only works in the common room down stairs. There is also a communal computer with internet in the common room which worked just fine. However they did not have a printer and we could not print our boarding passes on our way out which would have been really helpful.

There are two nice city parks, one being central park within short walking distance along with several fast food eateries and a grocery store.

One of the front desk guys was super nice and helpful but the other we experienced was just kind of nice but had no information about anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mi Tierra is an inn located in the heart of Alajuela, CR. It features a peaceful court yard with a pool, dining space, and a welcoming schnauzer named Cleo. It is only a couple of blocks from the center of town (Catheral, Parque Central, market, buses, etc all within five minutes walk), but is none the less a respite from what can be a lively city.

The staff is very friendly, patient with gringos, and makes a wonderful breakfast. They are quick to help you set up adventures for you, or advise you on them, though they tend to encourage the easier more touristy ones, so if you want to do some things outside of the norm, you may need to have a basic plan before arriving.

Rooms were sufficiently equipped, kept very clean, and a good size. The mattresses are not going to win any awards for support, but that is the only real down side of this place. My wife and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This modest hostel is just a ten minute / $3 cab ride from the main San Jose airport, so it’s a great place to stay on the way in or out of the country or when meeting others coming in late. There is always a receptionist on duty, there are several local bus stations nearby if you’re heading to or from San Jose, and there is a small pool in the courtyard, perfect for cooling off at the end of a hot day. Complimentary breakfast is served in the courtyard every morning, complete with tea or coffee, fruit, bread, and eggs freshly prepared any style. The rooms are small but fine for a short stay, and there is a common area with couches and a computer station for guest use. Wireless is available in the common area and courtyard only (I couldn’t connect from my room in the lower wing). The staff is friendly and helpful with directions and advice on nearby restaurants and bars.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a small hotel within easy reach of the airport and in the heart of alajuela. We arrived after a late night flight and were delighted with our quiet room for 4. The hosts are a very special family with many interesting tales of their kayaking adventures and the walls are adorned with their art. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, directing us to a great italian resturant just round the corner and near the main square. Considering how peaceful it was there, you would never have guessed a vibrant town surrounds you. Breakfast was fresh and filling and after sitting by the pool ,listening to the baltimore orioles and admiring the bonsai trees in the beautiful garden, we relcutantly left to head south. A great budget resting place with secure parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Mi Tierra is everything we look for when staying close to an airport. It is convenient, clean, very reasonably priced and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. It's location in Alejueala is walking distance to many good restaurants and stores. Unlike downtown San Jose, you feel safe walking the streets. Roberto also does guided tours in Costa Rica, speaks very good english and is a lot of fun.
We live and work in Costa Rica and have looked for something like this for years. Thank you very much Ivana, Roberto and Warner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I definitely recommend this friendly little hotel. It is a good stopping off point for the airport being about 10 minutes taxi ride. It's excellent value, the breakfast is wonderful and it's very clean. It also has a nice little pool. The staff were so helpful in recommending and booking the best tours in Costa Rica - nothing was too much trouble for them. I can't praise it enough. There's a little kitchen where you can prepare your own food. It's very close to Alajuela centre. If you want good value and a good hotel close to the airport, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#22 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brilla Sol
Hotel Brilla Sol
#14 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Property: Hotel Mi Tierra
Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Tierra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing