We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place & people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Garita Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 67 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Starting/ ending our trip in La Garita was a great option. Besides everything you can read already, some laundry being done, taking us into town (before our rental car arrived) advice what to do & where to go (we wanted to visit a ceramic tile shop, and didn't understand the map :-)). And of course when we left very early, always a nice breakfast to take with you! Intl. airport is just 15 minutes by car. So all in all, great service and nice place to stay in San Jose area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

Very nice and comfortable place to stay. We stayed here the first days after arrival in Costa Rica. Received great advice for our trip before and during the stay. Beautiful place, recent furniture, with great garden, spacious clean rooms, nice pool and marvellous fruit-breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn
Thank FamilieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

La Garita B&B is located in La Garita, Costa Rica, a mere 20 minutes from the airport. Nicolene and Ard recently bought the farmland and constructed new "bugalow" -styled rooms that are cute, environmentally friendly, and clean. Ard whips up fabulous breakfasts (included in the price) : platters of tropical fruit, egss, french toast, fresh juice. There are two restaurants nearby for dinner, and a fridge in the room for snacks. Nicolene and Ard treated us more like family than borders. I cannot speak more highly of them and the experience. This is a true hidden gem!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eppy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed here several times during the month december 2008. We used this hotel as our base to visit other places in Costa Rica and Nicaragua. The location is about 700 meters above sea level, so it never gets very hot and is even cool at night. The rooms, beds, garden, swimmingpool and breakfast are all very good. The owners are very helpfull with all the information you need. We would certainly return here if we come back to Cost Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank snowdrop195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelm v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrancaPokorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
723 reviews
8.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
9.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
920 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garita Bed and Breakfast

Address: Los Llanos de La Garita | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 4030, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $56 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Garita Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, tranquil, privately situated Bed & Breakfast near the airport of San Jose. Its grounds are 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens with many fruit trees in La Garita. A piece of tropical heaven far away from the city noise but only a 12 minutes drive from San Jose International Airport. We offer you beautiful spacious double bed rooms with en-suite bathroom and kitchenette. An excellent breakfast served poolside, where your hosts are there to make your dream holiday a reality. A great start for your holiday or exploring the Central Valley from here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Garita Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing