We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and gracious hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Garita Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting and gracious hosts”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Garita in December 2012. It was a wonderful place of beauty and quiet rest very nearby the hectic city of San Juan, less than half an hour from the airport.
La Garita is comfortable and clean,with so many amenities and extras. The hosts, Nicoline and Ard did so much to help us enjoy our stay with them as well as help us plan the rest of our stay in Costa Rica.
We felt very welcome at La Garita and will return to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimehoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

An amazing place to stay!
Pool is great, breakfast with fresh fruits and the owners are very helpfull hosts! Beautiful garden and close to San José and Poas Vulcano! From your own private veranda you can enjoy the stars and sounds of nature. And most of all this place has very comfortable beds!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Being a bit intimidated by San Jose traffic we were seeking a quiet, less conjested area to spend the night before our flight out of the country. La Garita fit the bill. Our room was spacious; we were able to get a good night's sleep without traffic or disco noise. Margarita prepared a bagged breakfast for us the night before (be sure to request it) because we needed to leave very early. We requested and she also called the night before for a cab to take us to the airport. You can walk to restaurants or grocery store for other meals (if you are able bodied and in good health). Our room was spacious, bathroom generously sized.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliseChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Starting/ ending our trip in La Garita was a great option. Besides everything you can read already, some laundry being done, taking us into town (before our rental car arrived) advice what to do & where to go (we wanted to visit a ceramic tile shop, and didn't understand the map :-)). And of course when we left very early, always a nice breakfast to take with you! Intl. airport is just 15 minutes by car. So all in all, great service and nice place to stay in San Jose area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Very nice and comfortable place to stay. We stayed here the first days after arrival in Costa Rica. Received great advice for our trip before and during the stay. Beautiful place, recent furniture, with great garden, spacious clean rooms, nice pool and marvellous fruit-breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
Thank FamilieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

La Garita B&B is located in La Garita, Costa Rica, a mere 20 minutes from the airport. Nicolene and Ard recently bought the farmland and constructed new "bugalow" -styled rooms that are cute, environmentally friendly, and clean. Ard whips up fabulous breakfasts (included in the price) : platters of tropical fruit, egss, french toast, fresh juice. There are two restaurants nearby for dinner, and a fridge in the room for snacks. Nicolene and Ard treated us more like family than borders. I cannot speak more highly of them and the experience. This is a true hidden gem!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eppy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed here several times during the month december 2008. We used this hotel as our base to visit other places in Costa Rica and Nicaragua. The location is about 700 meters above sea level, so it never gets very hot and is even cool at night. The rooms, beds, garden, swimmingpool and breakfast are all very good. The owners are very helpfull with all the information you need. We would certainly return here if we come back to Cost Rica.

  • Liked — The nice and quiet location
  • Disliked — I do not know
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank snowdrop195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
1.7 mi away
Dos Palmas Country Inn La Garita
4.3 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#1 of 2 in La Garita
81 reviews
9.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
8.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garita Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Garita Bed and Breakfast
Address: Los Llanos de La Garita | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 4030, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, tranquil, privately situated Bed & Breakfast near the airport of San Jose. Its grounds are 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens with many fruit trees in La Garita. A piece of tropical heaven far away from the city noise but only a 12 minutes drive from San Jose International Airport. We offer you beautiful spacious double bed rooms with en-suite bathroom and kitchenette. An excellent breakfast served poolside, where your hosts are there to make your dream holiday a reality. A great start for your holiday or exploring the Central Valley from here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Garita Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing