We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm not a fan of San Jose & staying at a typical airport hotel is just boring! This place was such a treat, a nice little place to stay that is incredibly close to the airport. The place is quiet & very comfortable, you feel as though you truly begin your vacation upon arrival. The staff was so very helpful, we had luggage issues & they went out of there way to help remedy the problem. This is my new place to stay when flying in to SJO.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSAJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great hotel hidden off the Main Drag. Large rooms, friendly staff. Just as we arrived it started raining heavily, with keys in hand, they took us straight to the room, bypassing formal check in. Extra large rooms with french doors to balcony overlooking small pool and garden. Dinner at the hotel was great, good food and service at reasonable rates. The next morning we had an EARLY flight home, but the driver was ready and it was a short trip to the airport. Completely what we needed on our last evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda2013M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Trapp Family Inn was a nice place to lay our heads after landing at San Jose international Airport. They sent a driver to pick us up and greeted us as we exited the airport. It was a short 10 minute drive to the property and we were amazed at the size if the property when we entered the secured gates. There are 2 beautiful buildings. One is the reception area/restaurant, and the other the rooms. Both were surrounding the pool area and lovely gardens. The rooms were not finely appointed, but they were adequate. They did have beautiful Costa Rican Furniture. We arrived around 9pm, and the restaurant was closed, but they offered to make us sandwiches and were very helpful. The morning breakfast was typical Costa Rican and the coffee was delicious. I would definitely stay again for an overnight while traveling to Costa Rica. We also learned that Captain Von Trapp (Sound of Music) was the original owner of this property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonerTravelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Trapp Family Inn Alajuela on our first and last nights in Costa Rica in May, 2013. Although very close to the airport there was no noise from the highway because it is set back and has lush mature vegetation and trees surrounding the hotel. You do hear the airplanes but nothing past midnight.

The staff went WAY out of their way to help us with our plans and were so very friendly. The pool was small but in a very tropical setting, the restaurant was a very attractive covered open air setting, menu limited, did not dine here but did have a very nice bottle of Chilean wine delivered to our room and they even had proper big glasses.

Our room was very spacious, clean, good lighting, comfortable beds and pillows, and had floor to ceiling doors opening to a balcony. No a/c but it was not needed.

A free taxi shuttle is included whether arriving or leaving no matter how early or late your flight. Free WiFi, free use of a computer; if you send a copy of your boarding pass to the receptionist she will print out your pass for you. Grounds are fenced & gated with 24 hour security.

A 10% discount is offered if you pay in cash for your room.

I would highly recommend this lovely old hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 on the main floor & had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool but also the par...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calltheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here end March 13, in one large clean room on our first night in Costa Rica. Transport from the airport late at night was prompt and free. The room was lovely and easily big enough for all of us- 2 adults and 2 large teenage boys. We enjoyed the lush garden and the pool.
Perfect for a stay near the airport. Great friendly service too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooleperson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here really only as a stopover after our flight landed late in the evening in San Jose airport. We arrived around 11pm and the staff were available to let us into the grounds. The bedroom and bathroom was very large and clean. Beds were very comfy. Breakfast was typical Costa Rica (beans, rice, egss, plantain, etc) on a nice deck. We left early but the pool looked a fantastic place to chill if you have an opportunity to stay longer. I think there are cheaper options in the area but if you want to treat yourself to somewhere relaxing then this was great! THere was a little noise from the planes at the airport first thing in the morning but personally it didn't bother me or my wife.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our trip. A hidden gem, nice large rooms, well furnished, on spacious grounds. Had a nice time exloring the gardens. Had a very nice dinner on the patio. The location closeby to the airport was great for getting there in the morning. The only (minor) downside is that we had to leave before 6:30 AM to do all the processing, customs, and such so we missed breakfast. We did have coffee, bananas, and orange juice to send us on our way. This would seem to be great hotel for either a first or last night as it so close to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn

Address: Meters West From the Soccer Field 400 | San Antonio Del Tejar, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $67 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trapp Family Country Inn is located only 1 mile from Juan Santamaria International Airport. We offer comfortable accomodations along with genuine family service in a peaceful atmosphere. This colonial style hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens with centenary fig trees. From the private balcony of your room, in the terraze or by the pool, you will enjoy nature and relax with the musical sound of the birds. A true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trapp Family Country Alajuela
Country Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Country Inn
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing