We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Ranked #10 of 59 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I didn't stay here but dropped in to see if they had any available rooms after coming there in a shuttle. They didn't have any and were helpful in setting up a reservation at another hotel as well as calling a taxi for me.

The grounds looked wonderful and I was surprised to see this 'oasis' in the middle of an industrial looking zone!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    78
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
91
98
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here both arriving and leaving CR. Picked up at the airport by a driver with our name on the sign which is always very nice after a long day of travelling. We were too late for dinner so the front desk phoned the local pizza place for us and ordered a great pizza that was delivered on a scooter. Large clean rooms with a nice balcony. Surrounded by tall trees and a lovely garden which is totally unexpected for the area it is in. Close to the airport but the planes overhead don't bother you. The staff is excellent and very friendly. If you are heading to La Fortuna it is suppose to be the closest hotel on your very twisty drive there. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Found the wifi worked better in room 8 than room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here the first night my mother arrived in San Jose. After a day of traveling it was a good idea to rest before taking off to Poas and Arenal.
This is a beautiful oasis and wonderful welcome to Costa Rica. A little hard to find, GPS is a must and then look for the signs on the main road for Trapp Hotel.
You drive down a dirt road and enter a huge gate. You feel really safe inside the property. The property is a beautiful building with a pretty pool and wonderful tropical plants. The room was well furnished with a Spanish hacienda style, very elegant. The balcony was a nice place to sit and relax. This is a great place for a first or last night near the airport. The only negative was the sound of airplanes overhead, but to be expected right next to the airport and worth the sound for the calmness of the garden. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Eating breakfast the next day on the terrace was a wonderful way to start our adventures in Costa Rica. I highly recommend this place over all over hotel airports, as you still get a beautiful Costa Rica feel and tranquil garden to say hello or goodbye to Costa Rica. Other airport hotels just offer a highway view, this is a nice place to stay if you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferkoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Trapp is an appropriate name for this hotel as you are basically trapped when you stay here. We finally arrived after driving around for 2 hours. (we rented a GPS the next day and it saved our life)
Please note: I couldn't find a location on google maps for this place. On hotels.com they have the WRONG location marked on the map so that's why we got so lost. I informed them about it so hopefully it is corrected soon. But good luck finding this place. My only tip to get here is it's west of the San Antonio Soccer field.

So we checked in about 5:30pm, after driving through a very sketchy neighborhood. I felt safe though, once we got locked in to the hotel grounds. We were starving and tired after a long day of flights so we just decided to eat the $17 dinner offered by the hotel. The guy that helped us was controlling in a very polite way. He said that dinner was served until 8:30 so we called him after looking over the menu and said we'd like to eat at 8:00. Then he said "will 7:00 work?" We were like, "umm, will 7:30 work?" He said sure. Then we went down to the office at 7:00 to relax on the couch and he was like, " you guys just want to eat now?" we're like, " I guuueeesss". Dinner was pretty good, but not $17/each good. It was just weird how controlling they were as to when we could eat. But we didn't feel like we could leave to go eat somewhere else given the surroundings. So then after dinner I had to schedule our breakfast time in the morning which was also strange to me. Whatever, breakfast was really good and included in the price, also, the lady who served us was so nice.
The rooms were nice. They were pretty clean, but not sterile. ( I prefer sterile) I probably wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't really that great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelismyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

In the buzy street next to Route1 that takes to the airport, just minutes away in the heavy traffic, hard to find, is the gate of the alley that brings you away from the truck and car cahos towards the secluded paradise of this beautiful elegant quiet Inn.
The garden with centenary ficuses, passifloras (passion flowers or passion vines) and all sorts of botanical beauties rounds a nice pool. The rooms, spacious and elegant, give to private balconies that overlook pool and garden. The restaurant is a bit expensive but good, the service is general is very good and efficient.
Airport shuttle available, breakfast, sitting area, swimming pool, gardens, parking, internet access.
Outside there is nothing to do except go get your plane or arrive from.
Therefore I recommend only one night incoming or outgoing, but in this oasis, elsewhere, you could spend much more time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diporzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed the night here before our flight home and it was fantastic. Very friendly helpful staff, nice rooms, good food and a pool. Really close to the airport and they even gave us a lift to the airport rather then getting a taxi. Plus free internet.
Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meerkat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at the inn upon arrival and departure to CR though SJO. We had a delightful experience both nights. It is a little oasis in the middle of SJ. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very cozy. The owners take excellent care of the guests - helping with arrangements (e.g. Rental car), providing delicious meals, and delivering you to/from the airport. I will stay here every time I am in SJ.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn

Property: Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Address: Meters West From the Soccer Field 400 | San Antonio Del Tejar, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trapp Family Country Inn is located only 1 mile from Juan Santamaria International Airport. We offer comfortable accomodations along with genuine family service in a peaceful atmosphere. This colonial style hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens with centenary fig trees. From the private balcony of your room, in the terraze or by the pool, you will enjoy nature and relax with the musical sound of the birds. A true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trapp Family Country Alajuela
Country Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Country Inn
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing