We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family hotel with outstanding helpfull staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria Inn
Ranked #8 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in CR for 9 days. Originally we planned on moving around a bit but after staying at Sant Maria Inn we with the assistance of the Inn's staff were able to organize short efficient trips. The staff / owners went out fo thier way to asssit us in all aspects of our vacation by saving us time and $ during our stay. We felt very confortable and safe in this family environment. Close to a small town and great food spots. It all started well with the shuttle ride from the airport to the hotel. The Staff was always aware of what we were doing and they made sure all was going well. I am already planning my next trip to CR and will be back to Santa Maria Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando_CSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariaFrontdesk, Community Manager at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thanks for your review.

It was a pleasure to have you here at Santa María Inn and in Costa Rica.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and we are already looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

I had reservations at Santa Maria Inn for the last night of our trip in order to be close to the airport in a safe hotel which would provide a free shuttle. We ended up unexpectedly staying there for the first night of our trip also! During our flight to Costa Rica from the U.S. bad weather delayed us and we missed our connection. We had planned on arriving early, renting a vehicle and driving to Monteverde the first night. Instead we arrived at the airport at 11:30 at night with no lodging arranged and the car reservation fell through. Fortunately I had the number for Santa Maria Inn-they came and picked me and my daughters up in ten minutes, provided a nice clean room, internet, and home-cooked breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Owners were very accommodating to our large group. Basic rooms, no table lamps just florescent ceiling lights, limited parking space, breakfast included in rate, close to airport. All us us came back to USA with multiple bites (not sure if bed bugs or fleas from hotel dog). Free transportation to airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexi-Can8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariaFrontdesk, Community Manager at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thanks for your review.

After taking your feedback in consideration our hotel has increased the frequency of fumigation from every 6 weeks to every 3 weeks with free-odor products.

About the absence of table lamps and the limited parking, we are working to improve those services soon.

Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for one week, we found the room very clean with clean towels, a quiet place to rest, it was a charming place, the family owners made us feel like home with a good breakfast every morning. If we visit Costa Rica again, we will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymerinob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the last night we were in Costa Rica. All of the staff was very friendly and the shuttle service to the airport was a necessity. Breakfast was good, too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hi, my friends: Thanks for your coments. Santa Maria Inn is your house in Costa Rica. Pura Vida !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Close to the International airport, with shuttle service. The rooms were clean the A/C was cold, it was a treat to stay here after 2 weeks of staying in hostels, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed there just one night because we arrived late with the plane and it's near the airport. comfortable and very kind welcome. Park places inside the property. A bit noisy in the morning but anyway we had to leave early. Gorgeous breakfast :-)

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Caro188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
312 reviews
1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
270 reviews
4.8 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#4 of 63 in Alajuela
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria Inn

Address: NE From the Pacific Gas Station, Rio Segundo de Alajuela, Costa Rica 800 M, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Maria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Maria Inn located just 5 minutes away from the SJO international Airport will bring you a night full of rest and relax after or before taking a long flight. Our staff will bring you a great service with an important free airport shuttle, to and from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Maria Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing