We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Had A Wonderful Time There”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We Had A Wonderful Time There”
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stay al Hotel Robledal 3 nights 7-8-13 May 2008. We liked this Hotel , everything was super clean I saw them mopping three or four times. The owners were very helpfull and nice, the food was so delicious.When we came back the 13 my husband said " Is like coming home" They make us feel welcome

  • Liked — They pick you up from the airport
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    81
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Our famly of 4, kids 11 & 14, stayed here 8 nights as part of a mission trip and also to see some sights. I would highly recommend the hotel. It is very close to the airport for a convenient localtion. It was clean, secure and the grounds are beautiful. It is family run and the sons speak english well and everyone was very helpful. The breakfasts were "mui rica." They helped us get a driver to take 8 of us on a trip to Poas and La Paz which was very reasonable and went off without a hitch.

The only downsides were some airport noise and occasionally blowing the circuit breakers if everyone showered at the same time. Probably not a problem if you don't have 19 hot and sweaty people coming home at the same time every day.

  • Liked — Breakfast, porch, and outdoor eating area
  • Disliked — Some airplane noise
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timoteo_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Our mission group of nineteen people stayed at the Hotel Robledal for a week. The family-owned and operated Robledal is friendly and comfortable, the setting is a beautiful oasis, the prices are very reasonable, and the family and staff are more than accommodating. The breakfasts we were served each morning were delicious, and the special BBQ dinner we arranged was also very good, complete with fireworks afterwards! Our large group had a perfect area we could use for evening meetings. The hotel provided reliable transportation to and from the nearby San Jose airport, and they helped to arrange special trips and tours, as well. Great place! Our church group will choose the Robledal for future trips to Alajuela.

  • Liked — The service was very friendly and accommodating to our large group's needs.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WBC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis area, MN
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Robledal for 7 nights while on a mission trip in the area. They were VERY accomodating to our group of 19, The rooms were simple but very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts prepared for us each morning were always very fresh and more than ample. Very friendly family run business with well-kept grounds. They were in the process of starting a swimming pool when we left. Water pressure left a little to be desired. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Very well kept and comfortable
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Looking4suninMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We recently took over the Hotel Robledal with a group from our church. We filled the rooms they currently have (they were rebuilding a few new rooms). Rooms were very comfortable. The place is family run, mom, dad, and sons. The sons are fluent in English, and were great about helping us arrange some tours. The people they lined us up with were great. They didn't mind helping us line up drivers for our own itineraries rather than tours, so they must not be taking a cut. There is one computer with internet access. The highlight, by far, is breakfast. On a beautiful outdoor deck/patio we enjoyed a wide variety of tropical fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, and sometimes sausage or pancakes. The hotel is beautifully landscaped and it was a delight to sit in the midst of it and enjoy such a great breakfast. One night we had free, they offered to fix us a typical Tico dinner, which was also great. Definitely recommend this place, great for families too. One note, water is hot, but water pressure leaves something to be desired. My only complaint.

  • Liked — breakfast, landscaping, owners and secure feeling
  • Disliked — water pressure
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniewms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We have just returned from an eight night stay at Hotel Robledal, and give it an excellent rating. There were nineteen in our group, and we spent the days serving our sister church in la Guacima, but at night we were able to relax and regroup at the hotel. The gardens, flowers, trees and plants surrounding the property are the perfect place to rest and relax. Because of the size of our group, we were able to receive a special rate for the eight nights, and it was ideal for us to have the entire hotel building to ourselves. The hospitality, helpfulness of the staff, delicious breakfasts, and dinner one night, the open-air meeting deck where we ate our meals and met at night - all of it was perfect for a mission group like ours. The next time we come to Costa Rica, we'll plan to spend at least our first night at this Bed and Breakfast. And the next we come, there will be a swimming pool to enjoy. We are thankful to the owners for all that they contributed to our group in helping to make this the best mission trip I have ever been on.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TalkPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We just ended a wonderful 17 day stay in CostaRica and our last night was spent at this very nice B. and B. location, just what we needed to unwind before the long flight home. Very clean, and family oriented, charming small accomodation owned by very friendly people and able to make one feel right at home. We would recommend this stop to anyone either entering or leaving CostaRica.
Henry and Louise Gobeil, Sask. Canada

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Suntanlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
6.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing