We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tours Offered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tours Offered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the hotel at the start of our vacation in January. The three brothers who run the Robledal are very friendly and helpful. By chance, we found out the Emanuel is a skilled birdwatcher and he walked us around the property looking for birds of interest. The following day we took an excellent personalized three hour birding outing with him to the local countryside. He proved to be a very good guide with a lot of knowledge of the birds and their habitats. Emanuel also offers an day tour to Poas Volcano.

The hotel features an "executive lunch", for about $8.00. It includes very generous servings of your choice of meat, and well prepared rice, beans, and salad. A tasty fruit drink and dessert are included. It is a favorite lunch stop of the local business community.

This is a nice place to stay when you want to be close to the airport. There is some air traffic noise, but it is quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Comox, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two days upon our arrival in Costa Rica in December 2012 and for one day in January 2013 just before we flew home. It is a very neat and clean family-run establishment close to the airport with a free shuttle both arriving and leaving. The staff are very friendly and answered any questions we had. Breakfast is included in the price and we also had dinner at the hotel which was very good. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool which is well maintained. As we didn't have a car it was a little awkward getting around the area although there is a bus to downtown Alajuela (not much of interest to see or do there though). However, with a car it would be an excellent base from which to explore. The staff could use a little training in making out the bill as we noticed some problems with the arithmetic. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it for staying in the area for a short time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

. We just finished a fantastic breakfast at Hotel Robledal. A beautiful, serene finale to our second vacation in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

The staff is very friendly, provides transportation between the hotel and airport and are very meticulous in caring for guests and the beautiful gardens of this property. Thanks again for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbabinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We started and ended our stay in Costa Rica at Hotel Robledal. It is near the airport and has a free airport shuttle both ways. The people were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and nice-sized. The kids had a good time in the swimming pool and we enjoyed the breakfast that was included. I would highly recommend this as a starting and ending point to a Costa Rica vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyerATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This sounds like the same review of this hotel I did a few years ago. I just love this hotel and I really like it when I am greeted by name as I arrive. This is still my home away from home. A a nice family run establishment and they ACTUALLY care about you. I would love hot water at the vanity sinks but other services and smiles make up for that!! Don't hesitate...just stay there...you will like it.

Room Tip: twin double beds are in the rear building....other rooms are smaller with one double bed. WIFI work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrgould45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The brothers that run this hotel are all very very kind and helpful. The beds may not be the most comfortable plush things on earth but the customer service is amazing. The food is very good and certainly their casados are some of the best I had in Costa Rica. All the ingredients are super fresh and the cook knows what she is doing! They have a shuttle to and from the airport and can drop you other places if you need. This is a good base of operations for your San Jose area needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Run by a lovely family who are highly professional and very friendly. Good size rooms, well appointed, and lovely grounds and swimming pool. A very good full breakfast is included in the rate, as well as shuttle transfers from the airport. Overall hands down the best hotel I have found in the area and far superior to any others in the same, or sometimes even a higher, price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing