We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Hospitality!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome Hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hotel Robledal's staff was very accomodating. Everyone was polite, helpful and went an extra mile to make sure our stay was pleasant and relaxing. It's located about 20 mins. from downtown San Jose and shuttle service is available.

This hotel is close to the aipport, offers breakfast, free airport shuttle, swimming pool, free wifi and very clean rooms!!!

We had an early white water rafting trip with a shuttle pick up at 5 a.m. and the staff even prepared us a to go breakfast =) We truly enjoyed our stay in Hotel Robledal!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you! We are glad you had a pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    65
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
91
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We also chose this small hotel from the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we agree with the reviews. Clean and comfortable, with a really tasty breakfast. Best of all, and most important, the people who work there are amazing! They were very helpful with travel tips and advice. But, one story may help to illustrate this better than any other.... As we were getting ready to depart, I was paying our bill, and left my credit card at the desk by accident. I didn't realize my mistake until we had landed in Puerto Jimenez later that day. Fearing the worst, I frantically called VISA from our next stop 24 hours later to put a hold on the card, but found that there were no other charges. In fact, after calling back to Hotel Robledal, they patiently made arrangements for my card to be flown via Sansa the next day to Jimenez, where our hosts found it and delivered it to us! My opinions about the goodness of people in general, and of Ticos in particular, were never higher than during this trip! Thank you, Hotel Robledal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazama, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We choose this hotel because of the great reviews it got in Tripadvisor. They were spot on. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had no itinary for our trip so we ask them and they were very informative. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport and they had their own shuttle which was a very nice feature. No question, we would stay there again if and when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This family owned hotel was such a wonderful surprise for us weary travellers. Our room was beautifully decorated,air conditioned and spotless. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, with a small waterfall and pool. There is also a restaurant (also spotless) where we had dinner. And though breakfast was not included, because we left for an early flight, the hotel had prepared a bag breakfast much to our delight. If you are looking for a place centrally located - where they will provide airport shuttle service (we had a car so didn't need it) we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Let me start by telling you this was our first international trip with my husband's extended family- 9 people in total including a 12 year old and not 1, but 2- 15 month old girls (twins)...we were a bit nervous. This hotel set the tone for our vacation! From the complimentary pick up at the airport, car rental shop and grocery store, to the delicious breakfast, the GORGEOUS grounds; everything was absolutely fabulous about Hotel Robledal. The hotel is family owned this family cares about their business, their country and their guests. The grounds and rooms were immaculate and always being cleaned. Showers had hot water which we learned isn't always available in CR. The staff showed us around back of the hotel which included some plants they are growing to sustain the environment and some super awesome caterpillars! The kids loved it. On top of all of that-- they have a pack-in-play (think portable baby crib)- which they let us use for free! Only warning-- beds are a little hard--but not terrible and the goods definitely outweighed this. We will absolutely be back anytime we fly into SJO, this is a great place to stay the night before you head out to explore the beautiful country of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you Nichole for your nice comments! Hope to see you and your beautiful family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

So glad we selected this place. No issues whatsoever transferring from the airport to the hotel.... Emmanuel was right where he said he would be and brought us back to the hotel. Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the following morning and then Emmanuel gave us a little tour of the garden area and we learned a little about Costa Rican nature/wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clav10c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent from the start. They emailed a follow up to make sure their shuttle had the right flight arrival info and it was great from that point forward. Very pleasant rooms with just the right amenities, outstanding staff...from the shuttle driver to the desk attendent to the wait staff, and an evening meal that rivaled the best European 5 star restaurant. This is definitely the hotel we will use on future visits to Costa Rica. Oh and yes, the price was right!!!

Room Tip: They're all good........I said in the single story section and didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.7 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing