We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Maleku Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maleku Hostel
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hostel was clean and Pamela, at the front desk was nice and very helpful. All the amenities you really need are there: fridge, dishes, simple breakfast, computer for internet, a fan in the room. We chose the private room and had a lot of room. The location isn't the greatest in terms of finding things to do - but about 5 minutes away from the airport! And they also offer a free shuttle to the airport (especially when you have a 5am flight when you need to make a special request for a cab).

Room Tip: Private and shared rooms are both available (3 ppl can sleep in a private)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBranch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Upon arrival to Maleku my friend and I had just encountered the taxi ride from hell, so we were very thankful to be welcomed by the owner of the hostel with a warm smile. The hostel was very safe feeling, extremely clean (which I gratefully appreciated after spending the last 21 days in Costa Rica in and out of dozens of different hostels), bedrooms were very spacious and well equipped, and the bathrooms were very clean. The only down fall was the loud traffic from the road but when you were as tired as we were, it didn't really matter. Coffee was kindly ready at 4 AM when we were up and getting ready for our flight the following morning and the very convenient airport shuttle was SO nice. We will definitely be staying here again when we come back to Costa Rica; perfect hostel for either the first or last night of your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been in Costa Rica for 10 years and stay here most of the time on my way to airport or coming back to Costa Rica. Only 3 minutes from the airport and they have free airport taxi. It is in Alajuela which is close to many worthwhile attractions such as volcano Poas a great day trip. The hostel is cozy, confortable and clean. Very friendly knowledgable staff, they have always helped me out with all my needs. I will stay there again and reccomend for sure. Pura vida!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It can be difficult to find a reasonably priced hostel/hotel near the airport that is clean and offers early morning shuttles. I've stayed in 2 other other hostels in Alajuela that were both fairly disappointing. Maleku is a bit more like an inn than hostel and appears to be run by a family. When we arrived the staff member on desk was very friendly and warm, showed us around and didn't seem to mind that we showed up a bit early. I shared a private room for 2 with my sister. The room was very basic with a fan, double bed and bunk twin bed above. The bathroom was right across the hall. I saw it being cleaned 2 or 3 during my stay which was nice. We spent some time in the kitchen/common-in area. It's a bit cramped if you're planning to stay more than a night or two. I like that the hostel encourages guests to stay quiet after 11. Many people have early morning flights and the area near the airport is loud enough. I did think shutting the kitchen down for use at 9:30 was a bit early. 11 would make more sense. Our shuttle was great and super easy! I will most likely stay here the next time I fly out of Alajuela.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryClark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I highly recommend this hostel for anyone flying in/out of the international airport as it's only a $5 cab ride away (but they also offer a free shuttle to the airport). It's the cleanest hostel we stayed in while in CR for 3 weeks. There are private/dorm rooms, the prices are very reasonable, the staff is very helpful and downtown is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here 3 times during my Costa Rica trip. I have only positive things to say about it. It feels like a home, not a hostel. It was the cleanest of the 4 places I stayed in Costa Rica. The staff are extremely helpful and nice. The kitchen is well equipped, showers are warm, and they arrange transportation to the airport. Plus, it is close to the airport, so a taxi to the hostel from the airport is only $5.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I found Maleku Hostel in my Lonely Planet book. I would recommend this Hostel to EVERYONE. I stayed her twice in 2 weeks. Once with a friend before she left for the airport and once solo. I felt very safe here. The price was totally fare and the fact that they had a free shuttle TO the airport sold me - 100%. I hope they always have that for travelers! The staff was friendly and professional. Other travelers there were totally normal and super nice. There is a grocery store just a half a block away. It's like a $4 cab ride FROM the airport (if you tell them it's by the NEW Alajuela hospital. If I ever come back to Costa Rica, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: It is on the corner of a pretty noisy road so hopefully it's cool enough that you can shut your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.9 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
274 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Cala
Hostel Cala
#9 of 46 in Alajuela
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cortez Azul
Hotel Cortez Azul
#4 of 46 in Alajuela
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Trotamundos
Hostel Trotamundos
#8 of 46 in Alajuela
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 65 in Alajuela
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lajuela Hostel
Lajuela Hostel
#3 of 46 in Alajuela
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maleku Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleku Hostel

Address: Mts West Of Nuevo Hospital 50 | 50mts west of Nuevo Hospital, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range: $32 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maleku Hostel is run by a Costa Rican Family. It is located really close to the International Airport Juan Santamaria, San Jose. that actually is in Alajuela Town. Our location is really convenient for all those traveler arriving or Departing Costa Rica. 3-5 minutes Taxi ride from the airport SJO.Next to big Super Market with ATM, walk distance to restaurants, stores, movies & public transportation.Our Facilities:•Free shuttle to the airport (from Hostel TO Airport, starting 5am to 5pm)•Free internet &WiFi•Breakfast 7am to 10am (coffee, tea or orange juice, Cookies and fruit)•Lockers•Towels•Full Kitchen•Hot Shower in Sharing Bathroom, all rooms in our hostel have share bathroom.• Great location •Free travel information •Public transportation and cabs a cross the street•Parking: On the street(Please Note we don't offer Airport pick up)We have:1 Dorm Rooms with 6 beds, 4 Private rooms available All with Share Bath. We offer the best recommendations in Local transportation, tours, rentals, other great hostel around Costa Rica and more.We are open 24 hrs. But our Information staff usually is available to help you with questions from 8am to 8pm. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Maleku Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maleku Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing