We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, creepy-crawly night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 65 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the B&B in our last night in San Jose. We had a great spacious room - that was nice, but everything else was disastrous. Worst: tiny little ants were all over the bed and we couldn't get rid of them, so slept with/in them. The bathroom did not have tiles but painted chipboards and a continuous-flow water heater. Toilet and sink seemed as they hadn't been cleaned for a while.
The B&B was quite far away from the airport as well and due to the evening-traffic we paid 20 USD for the taxi. The way to the airport was early in the morning so they didn't drop us off as well (although advertised) - though it was cheaper then.
The owners have been friendly and helpful though. But we didn't ask for a new room as is was quite late and as I said the last evening.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coati69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

Gorgeously landscaped grounds, incredibly clean facility, a hilariously funny host with a doll of a wife and children, in authentic costa rica style decorated rooms and bulidings, makes this the most ideal place to stay coming in /out of San Jose, without actually staying in San Jose. An incredible value to boot. Just make sure you get good directions - it's not right in town. Better yet, just follow brown signs to Poas Volcano, and know when to make a right hand turn. We'll be back - next time with our 5 children to rent the whole house to ourselves and let the kids run the grounds. Owner also has his own line of genuine hand made brand of FROGS sandles - pick yourself up a pair. They are very nice. The best part of the grounds is the absolutely beautiful sounds of the roaring river going through the property. Try for a room near it and you'll sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossRoads43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

i stayed at arilapa at the start and end of my 15 day stay and found the owners happy and helpful. i got to arilapa stressed out from some bad experiences i had in Peru 3 days by the river and the beautiful gardens soon had me back on track. would recommend arilapa to everyone for it's laid back relaxing vibe

Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
Thank darwin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we flew in late and had an early flight out. If we knew how great it would be we would have stayed longer! Their website doesn't do them justice...We loved the owners, the dogs (if you like dogs-there are about 7 that sit on the couch with you and run around etc. feels like home!), and Santi, you are the best chef! We arrived late and he still prepared an amazing steak and curry dish for us. His french toast was out of this world! He went to the culinary institute... his practice definitely paid off!! We will go back for sure! Thanks to all of you!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelTimeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

This is my third stay at Arilapa and it just keeps getting better. This place is truly a paradise. Each year there have been upgrades to make the place and even better stay. The rooms are always clean and if a person needs something more they only need to ask. The owners always try to make each person feels as though Arilapa is their home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cribbeanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

The owner seems more interested in cooking dinner than caring for the guests. We had an early morning flight and they were unwilling to provide any kind of breakfast. Their web site promises free airport dropoff and pickup but we had to pay for a taxi both coming and going to the airport. The place had an air of neglect, with missing bulbs in the light fixtures and a poorly-lit hallway that could cause a guest to tumble down the stairs on the way to the bathroom. Setting was nice but web site description is filled with exageration.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lepista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I went to Arilapa straight from the airport when I arrived. It is a wonderful, tranquil, and beautiful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and if you are lucky the owner's brother, who is an amazing chef, will be there to cook a gourmet meal for you. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megancita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
907 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arilapa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arilapa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Imas 2, Itiquis, Alajuela 50038, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10 minutes away from Juan Santamaria Airport and 25km south of Poas Volcano exists a beautiful Orange grove that borders Itiquis river and is home to over 175 different species of birds and dozens of different species of butterflies, this villa is called Arilapa. Arilapa is a great place to start and end your vacation in Costa Rica, its lush vegetation, the river, and the waterfall are the best ways to be greeted in this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing