We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Laid back Tico/American family owned B&B on fruit orchard and river only 10 mins outside of SJO airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arilapa Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Arilapa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #34 of 57 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laid back Tico/American family owned B&B on fruit orchard and river only 10 mins outside of SJO airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Everytime I fly in or out of SJO I always stay a few days relaxing at Hotel Arilapa. It is my favorite spot to stay around the greater San Jose area. You are close proximity to airport and city but staying at the B&B is a world away. If you like a tranquil small farm environment that is located on a river with beautiful tropical birds, chickens, dogs, and interesting people from all around the world then Arilapa is your spot. The family that owns and runs the hotel is very friendly, open minded, and highly educated. They can help you with any of your needs and give you some great advice on where to go and what to do in Costa Rica.... And even the meaning of life. You can follow a trail from the Hotel up the river to beautiful waterfalls. It is close to volcano Poas and there is an American named Travis running whitewater rafting and kayaking trips out of the hotel. I recommend hotel Arilapa to all my friends and family traveling to Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RustyCorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
a
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The garden is very nice, but the hotel is not
For a simple soda, you have to drive your car, somewhere in the middle of nowhere. In the middle of the night after 15hours flight. Some snacks and a drink would have been nice.
The building of the hotel is old and basic.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renate o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Sunshine Coast, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I, with our daughter, son-in-law and baby grandson spent 4 days there and loved it. Friendly owners, English speaking, big communal patio to meet folks from around the world, wonderful breakfasts. Communal (not well-equipped) kitchen so you can prepare other meals. Take out from town recommended.

Room Tip: Watch out for biting centipedes if you sit outdoors, but don't let that stop you enjoying the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We booked our penultimate night in Costa Rica at Arilapa on the basis of the Lonely Planet recommendation and the location - handy for a day trip to Volcan Poas.

Our first mistake was finding the location of the hostel on googleearth, it was wildly inaccurate and after hours of driving around we stopped to ask directions. One helpful Costa Rican called the hostel for us to speak in Spanish and find out the location, but this didn't seem to work. In the end we decided to call the hostel from our UK cell/mobile phone, incurring international call charges. By now it was dark, around 2000hrs. The owner of the hotel answered, gave us very vague directions, and seemed annoyed that we'd phoned. Still, we'd booked online, and although we'd not paid a deposit, felt we should honour our agreement. We drove around and around the new street address we'd been given, but failed to find Arilapa. Still, we phoned again, the owner was rude and unhelpful, treating us an inconvenience. Next we drove to the nearest landmark he had given us, just a few metres away he said. We called again. It was now 2200hrs. He didn't answer. We called again and again, but no answer. This left us with nowhere to stay. We'd driven past countless other places we could have stayed but sought to find Arilapa to honour our agreement. Anyone who has been to Costa Rica will no that after 2100hrs it is very difficult to find anywhere that is open and in the end we stayed in the car just outside Poas National Park.

We're both still angry with the owner for his rudeness, reluctance to help and finally his not answering his phone. So much so that we are writing this review over a month after we got back. Lonely Planet should not recommend this place, or at least add a caveat that should expect nothing from the owner by way of help. We know mixed reviews can be misleading, but we've never reviewed before and only feel moved to do so by our disappointment and the owners rudeness - don't stay here. The backpackers in town is better for the airport and Poas Lodge is much better for the volcano (astonishing views and wonderful service).

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We came expecting a cheap place (because relatively it is) that had internet and a bit of a grumpy owner (because in the emails he is short and to the point). This was not the case. The setting for this beautiful hotel is amazing. There is a stream that goes through the property, beautiful tree and birds, friendly dogs, amazing food (for breakfast and if you want to dish out the $15 for dinner even better dinner) and amazing guests and hospitality people. We liked the people who stayed there. We liked the hotel owner (who ended up bring out lights so we could play on the stage they built in their back yard). We liked everything and couldn't have hoped for much more. The only thing that can play a factor is that while it is on the bus line and the owner is happy to help when asked for cabs or what'not (i think naturally he's a bit quiet) the place is a little outside of town so if you want to be able to walk from the hotel to the shopping strip this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Arilapa B and B has beautiful grounds, but that is about it. It is a nature filled spot away from the city with a river on the premises. The owner seemed "high" most of the time and was yelling and ranting around the compound. The breakfasts were marginal as well as the services. A paid shuttle was supposed to be provided from the airport, but was not. We had to get a late night taxi, and when we arrived at Arilapa, we were treated as if we were creating a big burden.I would only go back to enjoy the gardens.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdyIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Arilapa. Dinner at an awesome place was recommended, beautiful view. Taxi's were needed to get around, as they were with any other place except for chain hotels, which this is not. Local decor and art gave you a flavor of Costa Rica, as did the fresh am brew and local cheese on the breakfast plate of french toast. If you are traditional and stuffy, this is not for you, but if you like to be in nature and appreciate beautiful grounds and the charm of a family run bed and breakfast, make your way here. The host and hostesses were kind and generous. This Oregon and NC traveler approved!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoregonNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#23 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#31 of 57 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#6 of 57 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vina Romantica
Vina Romantica
#43 of 57 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
0.6 mi away
Condo Portofino
Condo Portofino
#13 of 37 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arilapa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arilapa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Imas 2, Itiquis, Alajuela 50038, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10 minutes away from Juan Santamaria Airport and 25km south of Poas Volcano exists a beautiful Orange grove that borders Itiquis river and is home to over 175 different species of birds and dozens of different species of butterflies, this villa is called Arilapa. Arilapa is a great place to start and end your vacation in Costa Rica, its lush vegetation, the river, and the waterfall are the best ways to be greeted in this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing