We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brilla Sol Airport(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
14
9
3
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
9
3
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 34 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We booked our penultimate night in Costa Rica at Arilapa on the basis of the Lonely Planet recommendation and the location - handy for a day trip to Volcan Poas.

Our first mistake was finding the location of the hostel on googleearth, it was wildly inaccurate and after hours of driving around we stopped to ask directions. One helpful Costa Rican called the hostel for us to speak in Spanish and find out the location, but this didn't seem to work. In the end we decided to call the hostel from our UK cell/mobile phone, incurring international call charges. By now it was dark, around 2000hrs. The owner of the hotel answered, gave us very vague directions, and seemed annoyed that we'd phoned. Still, we'd booked online, and although we'd not paid a deposit, felt we should honour our agreement. We drove around and around the new street address we'd been given, but failed to find Arilapa. Still, we phoned again, the owner was rude and unhelpful, treating us an inconvenience. Next we drove to the nearest landmark he had given us, just a few metres away he said. We called again. It was now 2200hrs. He didn't answer. We called again and again, but no answer. This left us with nowhere to stay. We'd driven past countless other places we could have stayed but sought to find Arilapa to honour our agreement. Anyone who has been to Costa Rica will no that after 2100hrs it is very difficult to find anywhere that is open and in the end we stayed in the car just outside Poas National Park.

We're both still angry with the owner for his rudeness, reluctance to help and finally his not answering his phone. So much so that we are writing this review over a month after we got back. Lonely Planet should not recommend this place, or at least add a caveat that should expect nothing from the owner by way of help. We know mixed reviews can be misleading, but we've never reviewed before and only feel moved to do so by our disappointment and the owners rudeness - don't stay here. The backpackers in town is better for the airport and Poas Lodge is much better for the volcano (astonishing views and wonderful service).

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Keith1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We came expecting a cheap place (because relatively it is) that had internet and a bit of a grumpy owner (because in the emails he is short and to the point). This was not the case. The setting for this beautiful hotel is amazing. There is a stream that goes through the property, beautiful tree and birds, friendly dogs, amazing food (for breakfast and if you want to dish out the $15 for dinner even better dinner) and amazing guests and hospitality people. We liked the people who stayed there. We liked the hotel owner (who ended up bring out lights so we could play on the stage they built in their back yard). We liked everything and couldn't have hoped for much more. The only thing that can play a factor is that while it is on the bus line and the owner is happy to help when asked for cabs or what'not (i think naturally he's a bit quiet) the place is a little outside of town so if you want to be able to walk from the hotel to the shopping strip this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Arilapa B and B has beautiful grounds, but that is about it. It is a nature filled spot away from the city with a river on the premises. The owner seemed "high" most of the time and was yelling and ranting around the compound. The breakfasts were marginal as well as the services. A paid shuttle was supposed to be provided from the airport, but was not. We had to get a late night taxi, and when we arrived at Arilapa, we were treated as if we were creating a big burden.I would only go back to enjoy the gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdyIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Arilapa. Dinner at an awesome place was recommended, beautiful view. Taxi's were needed to get around, as they were with any other place except for chain hotels, which this is not. Local decor and art gave you a flavor of Costa Rica, as did the fresh am brew and local cheese on the breakfast plate of french toast. If you are traditional and stuffy, this is not for you, but if you like to be in nature and appreciate beautiful grounds and the charm of a family run bed and breakfast, make your way here. The host and hostesses were kind and generous. This Oregon and NC traveler approved!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoregonNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We came late at night,had to take a taxi although they say they have free pickup.We were put in a sort of flat on top floor of reception.after 26 hours travelling,very tired. No hot water,no towels no soap,just a bed.The sofa was dirty from the dogs and ther seemed to be reperations ongoing. Not a sign of the nice rooms on the website.They might have changed owner,as I can not recognize him from other descriptions. Poor breakfast with beens,rice and bacon and a piece of bread. No fruits or jice as we had in all other places in Costa Rica.The strangest was the leaving: We were promised breakfast at 06 and a taxi 06.30. at 0610,no breakfast but a taxi came.It was agreed to take us to alajuela to catch the bus to Monteverde.The taxidriver and our host said hurry up and throwed our things unlocked in the back.the owner left. the taxidriver said something in Spanish like that the bus would not stop in Alajuela,so he would take us to San josé.We could say nothing. The bus would leave san jose at 06.30 and it was too far to be able to catch it. The taxi dropped us at the wrong place- we left the taxi in a hurry to try to catch the bus,but too late.So,we had to wait 8 hours for the next at 14.30 in the afternoon(only 2 buses/day)The worst thing was that I lost my Iphone in the mess and we had to pay 40 dollars for no use at all and spoiled an expensive trip-day.As it was our first day-it was just the worst start.I was so angry over lost time,money and Iphone and the stupid hotel-owner who should arrange everything in the morning.
I can not understand why it is recommended in the lonely Planet_I would not recommend it to my worst enemy!

Room Tip: we never saw the room from the pictures!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedenpetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews